Anthropology


Justice for the Landless, from Jan Satyagraha, India (2012). via Wikimedia Commons

Research Guide

Welcome! This page highlights key resources for conducting effective research in Anthropology.

If you need assistance identifying additional resources, search terms or strategies, please schedule a research consultation.

Personal Librarian:
Jennie Correia
103 LeFrak Center, Barnard Hall
212.854.9096
jcorreia@barnard.edu

Reference Sources - Books & Media
Journal Articles - Ethnography
Archaeology - Writing & Citing

Finding Background Information - Using Reference Sources

Consult scholarly reference sources to get an overview of a topic, an introduction to a theory, definitions to discipline-specific terms, and more.

Companion Encyclopedia of Anthropology features essay-style articles on anthropology divided into three sections: Humanity, Culture, and Social Life.

Oxford Dictionary of the Social Sciences contains concise definitions of key concepts and movements in the social sciences.

Routledge Encyclopedia of Social and Cultural Anthropology (through CREDO) comprises entries on anthropological theory and ethnography, biographies of key figures in the discipline, and bibliographies for further research.

Finding Books and Media Materials

CLIO provides access to the vast resources of the Columbia University Libraries, including Barnard Library, but excluding Teachers College and the Law Library. Search the Catalog for book and media materials.

The New York Public Library (NYPL) catalog searches the circulating and non-circulating research collections at the NYPL.

WorldCat searches libraries worldwide. If a title isn't available via Columbia University Libraries, you may request it via Borrow Direct or Interlibrary Loan.

Finding Journal Articles and Other Anthropological Literature

Anthropology Plus: Articles, reports, commentary, and edited works in social, cultural, physical, biological, and linguistic anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, material culture, and interdisciplinary studies from 19th century to the present. EBSCO search. 

AnthroSource: Archived issues of the American Anthropological Association’s journals, newsletters, and bulletins, from the 20th century-present.

EBSCO: Features several databases with content from anthropological journals, including many with full text coverage. Search all EBSCO databases at once for comprehensive coverage, or combine selected ones:

JSTOR: Provides full text of back issues from core scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences from the earliest issues to within a few years of current publication. Users may search the full-text or citations/abstracts, or may browse by journal title or discipline. Limit search to anthropology titles using the Advanced Search menu. New issues of existing titles and new titles are added on an ongoing basis.

ProQuest: Features several databases with content from anthropological journals, including many with full text coverage. Search all ProQuest databases at once for comprehensive coverage, or combine selected ones:

Ethnography Collections

eHRAF World Cultures: Features full text ethnographies organized into cultures and ethnic groups, and subject indexed at the paragraph level.  

Ethnographic Video Online and Anthropology Online: Offers access to classic and contemporary ethnographic documentaries in streaming video. Thematic areas include language and culture, food and foraging, economic systems, social stratification and status, caste systems and slavery, male and female roles, kinship and families, political organization, conflict and conflict resolution, religion and magic, music and the arts, culture and personality, and sex, gender, and family roles.

Archaeology Resources

eHRAF Archaeology: Features subject-indexed full text journal articles, books, and dissertations on archaeology from around the world.

Fasti Online: Searchable database of archaeological sites since 2000.

Fieldwork, Writing and Citing Resources

American Anthropological Association (AAA) Style: AAA no longer produces a style guide. AAA style now adheres fully to the current edition of the Chicago Manual of Style (Author-Date).

Barnard guides to citation management: Learn about different options for citation management software such as Zotero, EndNote, and Mendeley.

Conducting Primary Research: From Purdue Online Writing Lab (OWL).

Purdue Online Writing Lab (OWL): General and subject specific writing tips and techniques, along with research advice and detailed citation and formatting standards for the APA, MLA, and Chicago styles.

Research Methods in Anthropology: Qualitative and Quantitative Approaches: Covers concepts and practices in Anthropology and related social sciences. 

A Student's Guide to Reading and Writing in Social Anthropology: From the Department of Anthropology, Harvard University

Last updated January 28, 2016

Subject Code: 
ANTH