Classics & Ancient Studies

Giuseppe Ceracchi "Minerva as the Patroness of American Liberty," 1791 Copyprint of patinated terra cotta bust Library Company of Philadelphia.

  

 

Guide to Finding Resources

If you need assistance identifying additional resources, search terms or strategies, schedule a research consultation.

 

Personal Librarian: Jenna Freedman



jfreedman@barnard.edu | 212.854.4615 | Office: 208B Lehman

Sources for Articles in Classical & Ancient Studies

Academic Search Complete: A comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary, database with full-text content going back as far as 1887.

Anthropology Plus: Index of materials in the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological, and linguistic anthropology.  Also ethnology, archaeology, folklore, and material culture, and interdisciplinary studies.

Art Full Text: Citations and full text from international periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins.

Art Index Retrospective: Index of materials published from 1929 through 1984 on archaeology, architecture and architectural history, art history, painting, sculpture, and more.

Arts and Humanities Citation Index: Citations to articles in the world's leading arts and humanities journals.

ATLA Religion: American Theological Library Association database of citations and articles in all fields of religion.

British Humanities Index: Index to internationally respected humanities journals and weekly magazines published in the UK and other English speaking countries.

Essay and General Literature Index: Citations for single- and multi-author collections, plus selected annuals and serials, published between 1900 and1984.

Humanities Full Text: Covers noted scholarly sources in the humanities, as well as lesser known specialized magazines.

JSTOR: Provides page images of back issues of the core scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences from the earliest issues to within a few years of current publication. Users may browse by journal title or discipline, or may search the full-text or titles of articles. (DFR search for faceted seareching - go to Help, then “Detailed Searching” then click on "Data for Research" link)

L'Année Philologique: citations for publications related to Greco-Roman antiquity (searchable in English, but returns results in multiple languages)

MLA Bibliography: Indexes critical materials on literature, languages, linguistics, and folklore, with citations from worldwide publications, including periodicals, books, essay collections, working papers, proceedings, dissertations and bibliographies.

Nestor: bibliography of Aegean prehistory and related areas:

New Testament Abstracts: Indexing and abstracts for journal articles, monographs, multi-authored books, book reviews, and software related to New Testament studies.

Old Testament Abstracts: Indexing and abstracts for journal articles, monographs, multi-author works, book reviews, and software related to Hebrew Bible studies.

Philosopher's Index: Citations and abstracts of books and journal articles in philosophy and related fields.

Project Muse: Full-text articles from more than 200 scholarly journals in history and the humanities, the social sciences, and the sciences. Disciplines covered include literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others.

ProQuest: Broad, deep interdisciplinary database with multiple formats that also includes publications from points of view alternative to the main stream with regards to politics, gender and race.

Also:

    Electronic Resources for Classicists & Historians of Antiquity: A list of electronic sources compiled by the Ancient and Medieval Studies department at Columbia University Libraries.


    Or search multiple databases simultaneously:

    Find Articles

     

     

    Finding Books

    CLIO - The online catalog of the Columbia University Libraries, including Barnard Library, but excluding Teachers College and the Law Library.

    Classics call number range: PA
    Ancient History call number range: D51 - D95

     

    Subject Code: 
    CLCV