Comparative Literature & Language Studies


Marbled endpapers from French edition of Horace's poems, 1735. Via Wikimedia Commons

Research Guide

Welcome! This page highlights key resources for conducting effective  research in Comparative Literature and Language Studies.

If you need assistance identifying additional resources, search terms or strategies, please schedule a research consultation.


Personal Librarian:
Vani Natarajan
212-854-8595
208C Lehman
vnataraj@barnard.edu

 

Articles

If you are looking for secondary sources, check out these databases.

Humanities Full Text covers scholarly sources in the humanities alongside specialized magazines, from 1995 to the present.Contents include feature articles, interviews, obituaries, bibliographies, original works of fiction, drama, and poetry, book reviews, and reviews of ballets, dance programs, motion pictures, musicals, operas, plays, radio and television programs.

IBZ, the International Bibliography of Periodical Literature, covers scholarly journals in all fields, with a strong emphasis in the humanities and social sciences. It is international in scope, and indexes a significant proportion the the periodicals published on the European continent.

JSTOR includes page images of key scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences, including many literary studies sources. Coverage spans the late 19th century to the present.

MLA International Bibliography features scholarly articles on literature, language, linguistics, and folklore from around the world. Sources include periodicals, books, essay collections, working papers, proceedings, dissertations and bibliographies. Coverage spans 1923 to the present.

 

Literary Sources in Full Text

Access digitized full text of novels, short stories, poems, plays, and essays.

Alexander Street Literature features cross-searchable collections of poetry, prose, and drama in full text. It covers "literatures of place, race, and gender,” including Southeast Asian Literature, Black Women Writers, and Irish Women Poets of the Romantic Period.

Granger’s World of Poetry indexes poems from around the world, including 13,000 poems in full text. This online version includes the contents of the following works: Columbia Granger's index to poetry in anthologies (eds. 8-11), Columbia Granger's index to poetry in collected and selected works, Columbia Granger's guide to poetry anthologies (2nd ed.), Columbia Granger's dictionary of poetry quotations, and Classic hundred poems.

 

Reference

Brush up on literary concepts, vocabulary, and etymology.

Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory and Criticism features articles on critics, theorists, schools and movements from Plato to contemporary times.

Oxford Language Dictionaries Online offers fully searchable, completely comprehensive bilingual dictionaries, and unique study materials for English, French, German, Italian, Spanish, Chinese, and Russian.

 

Search across all the Columbia University Libraries databases:

Find Articles

 

 

Finding Books

Browse the stacks using the call numbers for Language and Literature:

  • P: General Linguistics and Philology
  • PA: Classical Languages and Literatures
  • PB: Modern European Languages, Celtic Languages and Literatures
  • PC: Romance Languages
  • PD: Germanic and Scandinavian Languages
  • PE: English Language
  • PF: West Germanic Languages
  • PG: Slavic and Baltic Languages
  • PH: Uralic Languages
  • PJ: Semitic Languages and Literatures
  • PK: Indo-Iranian Languages and Literatures
  • PL: Eastern Asian, African, and Oceanic Languages and Literatures
  • PM: Indigenous American Languages
  • PN: Literature (General): History and Collections
  • PQ: Romance Literatures
  • PR: English Literature
  • PS: American Literature
  • PT: Germanic and Scandinavian Literatures
  • PZ: Children's Literature

CLIO : Online catalog of the Columbia University Libraries, including Barnard Library, but excluding Teachers College and the Law Library.

To find primary sources in CLIO, use the keywords:

  • archives
  • correspondence
  • diaries
  • interviews
  • narratives
  • memoirs
  • sources

WorldCat
Searches libraries worldwide.

 

 

 

 

Subject Code: 
CPLT