Dance

 

Dance Uptown, Series 10. 1972. Courtesy of the Barnard College Archives

 

Research Guide

Welcome! This page highlights key resources for conducting effective research in dance.

If you need assistance identifying additional resources, search terms or strategies, please schedule a research consultation.

 

Personal Librarian:
Joshua Peach
212.854.7652
208D Lehman Hall
jpeach@barnard.edu

 

Reference Sources

International Encyclopedia of Dance includes articles on all aspects of dance, including theatrical, ritual, dance-drama, folk, traditional, ethnic, and social dance.

Oxford Encyclopedia of Theatre and Performance provides information about theater and performance from ancient Greece to the present.

George Balanchine Catalogue is a complete and fully searchable list of Balanchine’s choreographic works compiled by Nancy Reynolds and available on the site of the George Balanchine Foundation.

Lincoln Kirstein: The Published Writings is a complete and searchable list of Kirstein’s writings compiled by the Eakins Press Foundation & Ballet Society.

Jerome Robbins Foundation and Trust: Catalogue of Work is a complete list of Robbins’ choreography searchable by title, genre, or year.

A Steady Pulse: Restaging Lucinda Childs, 1963-78 is a web-based publication that excavates and reexamines Lucinda Childs’ “dances in silence”—those through which she found her compositional voice as a dance artist. It includes video of eight early works, as well as animation, essays, and an archive of photographs, scores, flyers, and programs.

Recommended Databases for Journal Articles and Reviews

International Bibliography of Theatre and Dance contains all of the content available in International Bibliography of Theatre and Dance as well as full text for 100 titles.

International Index to the Performing Arts  is a multidisciplinary index to the performing arts. Includes full-text.

JSTOR includes full-text articles from more than 1200 scholarly journals.

Project Muse includes full-text articles from more than 200 scholarly journals in history and the humanities, the social sciences, and the sciences.

ProQuest Historical Newspapers offers full-text and full-image articles from major American newspapers, including the New York Times and Wall Street Journal.

ProQuest Newspapers is a database of articles from US national newspapers, international English-language newspapers, and/or selected regional/state newspapers. Chronological coverage of individual newspapers varies. Most articles are full text and are searchable by word, topic or newspaper title.

Finding Books and Media

The NYPL Catalog searches the circulating and non-circulating research collections at the New York Public Library, including those at the Jerome Robbins Dance Division.

Browse the stacks at Barnard and Columbia Libraries using the dance call number range: GV1580-GV1799.4

CLIO - Online catalog of the Columbia University Libraries, including Barnard Library, but excluding Teachers College and the Law Library. Search the Catalog for book and media materials available on campus.

Media materials (DVDs, CDs) are available from the Media Collection on the 1st floor of Wollman Library.  Butler Media Center also has a number of dance related materials, including the Eye on Dance video series. To locate these materials, conduct an advanced search in the Catalog and limit results to Format: Video.

Borrow Direct enables current faculty, students, and staff from Columbia, Barnard, and Union Theological Seminary to request material from Brown, Cornell, Dartmouth, Harvard, Johns Hopkins University, Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT), Princeton, University of Chicago, University of Pennsylvania, and Yale.

Additional Resources for Moving Images

Dance in Video contains streaming video files of dance productions and documentaries by influential performers and companies. Users may create their own playlists and custom video clips.

Jacob's Pillow Dance Interactive is an online exhibit with brief performance excerpts spanning from 1930s dance pioneers to today's most exciting artists. All recorded at Jacob's Pillow.

medici.tv provides access to concerts, operas, and ballets, as well as over 300 documentaries investigating the performing arts.

Naxos Video Library is a performing arts video collection with operas, ballets, documentaries, live concerts, and musical tours of historic places. Users may create their own playlists and custom video clips.

Ontheboards.TV provides access to films of full-length performances by artists working in dance, theater, music and other forms that defy categorization.

Routledge Performance Archive is a developing resource produced in partnership with Digital Theatre. The video material spans more than fifty years of documented work direct from renowned practitioners and specialists, and ranges across the entire spectrum of theatre topics.

UbuWeb is a completely independent resource dedicated to all strains of the avant-garde, ethnopoetics, and outsider arts.

Additional Resources

This guide serves as a starting point for beginning research in dance, and does not cover the great diversity of resources available to support the study and practice of the discipline. For additional resources, please consult one of the following course specific guides or make an appointment for a research consultation.

Course Specific Guides

 

Subject Code: 
DNCE