|
Databases for Finding Articles
Find Articles
Search across all the Columbia University Libraries databases (full text search only):
Reference Sources
For background information on your topic, start with reference works, like encyclopedias. The Barnard First-Year Foundations website, Reinventing Literary History, lists many useful resources.
Online
|
In Print
|
|
|
- Civilization of the Ancient Mediterranean: Greece and Rome DE59 .C55 1988
- Dictionary of Literary Themes and Motifs PN43 .D48 1988
- Encyclopedia of Feminist Literary Theory PN98 .W64 E53 1997
- Encyclopedia of Literary Modernism PN56 .M54 E53 2003
- Encyclopedia of the Harlem Renaissance PS153 .N5 A24 2003
- Encyclopedia of the North American Colonies E45 .E53 1993
- Encyclopedia of the Victorian World DA550 .E53 2004
- Macmillan Encyclopedia of World Slavery HT861 .M24 1998
- Medieval England: an Encyclopedia DA129 .M43 1998
- Medieval France: an Encyclopedia DC33.2 .M44 1995
- Medieval Italy: an Encyclopedia DG443 .M43 2004
- Oxford Companion to Fairy Tales PN3437 .O94 2000
- Women and Gender in Medieval Europe: an Encyclopedia HQ1147 .E85 W66 2006
|
Finding Books
Start here: CLIO
The online catalog of the Columbia University Libraries, including Barnard Library, but excluding Teachers College and the Law Library
CLIO Search Tips:
- Use Boolean logic (operators like and, or, not) to combine terms in a search
- Use quotes to search multiple words as a phrase (example: "pathetic fallacy," "suspension of disbelief")
- Use the question mark to truncate your search terms, searching for variants on a word stem (example: feminis? searches feminist, feminism, feminists)
New York Public Library Catalog
for the research libraries as well as the local branches of NYPL:
The Schwarzman Building (Main Branch): 5th Ave. and 42nd St., 212-930-0830
The Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture: Malcolm X Blvd. and 135th St, 212-491-2200
Library for the Performing Arts: 40 Lincoln Center Plaza, 212-870-1630
Morningside Heights Branch Library: Broadway and 113th Street, 212-864-2530
Mid-Manhattan Library: 5th Ave. and 40th St, 212-340-0833
WorldCat: Searches libraries worldwide
- Bibliographic software allows you to store your references conveniently, and cite them in papers and bibliographies using any citation style you choose.
- For help, see the Barnard Library RefWorks Guide.
More Help...
Resources for individual classes
Professor Auran: feedback form
Professor Richard: Presentation
Professor Rosenthal: Presentation
Professor Lynn: slides
Professor Mehta: Slides (Spring 2012), Handout
Professor Schor-Haim: Handout, RefWorks Presentation, RefWorks Handout
Professor Traps, 1:10 class: feedback form
Professor Fleischer: slides
|