Italian

Sommer, Giorgio (ca. 1880s). Napoli - Via Roma (Monumento a Carlo Poerio), via Wikimedia Commons.

Research Guide

Welcome! This page highlights key resources for conducting effective  research in Italian.

If you need assistance identifying additional resources, search terms or strategies, please schedule a research consultation.


 

Personal Librarian:
Vani Natarajan
212-854-8595
208C Lehman
vnataraj@barnard.edu

Articles

If you are looking for secondary sources, check out these databases.

AIDA, short for Articoli Italiani di Periodici Accademici, or Bibliography of Italian Periodical Literature, includes articles from Italian academic journals covering the humanities and social sciences, with coverage from 1997 to the present. Users may opt for an English or German search interface.

MLA International Bibliography features scholarly articles on literature, language, linguistics, and folklore from around the world. Sources include periodicals, books, essay collections, working papers, proceedings, dissertations and bibliographies. Coverage spans 1923 to the present.

Torrossa provides full text access to Italian and Spanish books, conference proceedings, and journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, by major Italian publishers. Torrossa includes material previously available through Editoria Italiana online. The database has an English search interface, with contents chiefly in Italian and Spanish.

 

Primary Sources

Consult this list for digitized text and image primary sources.

Accademia Della Crusca is the official website and digital library for a Florence based society for Italian linguists, philologists, and other scholars. Contents include a corpus of digitized texts in Italian from the 16th to the 19th centuries, and a dictionary of the contemporary Florentine language. Users may opt for an English or Italian search interface.

Biblioteca Della Letteratura Italiana offer access to the full text of selected literary works in Italian. Search interface in Italian.

Digital Dante , a project of Columbia University, offers a wealth of Dante-related resources, including full versions of the Divine Comedy in Italian and English, a Dante chronology, maps, and images.  Search interface in English.

Italian Women Writers, a project of the University of Chicago, provides bio-bibliographical information and a growing selection of full-text titles from Italian women writers born before 1945.The English-language interface allows for detailed searches in a range of categories. 

 

Reference

Brush up on your knowledge of Italian vocabulary and etymology, or do some background research.

Italianistica Online, an Italian-language site, functions as a portal to web resources in the humanities, with strengths in Italian literature, language, and cultures.

Italica functions as a reference portal to Italian culture, with biographical entries, language learning resources, and general entries on all facets of Italian history and culture. The interface may be searched in English, Italian, or Spanish.

Oxford Language Dictionaries: Italian provides a fully searchable bilingual Italian-English and English-Italian dictionary online, with supplementary resources in Italian language history, culture, and colloquialisms.

TLIO (Tessoro Della Lingua Italiana Delle Origini) is the digital version of a renowned historical dictionary of the Italian language.  

 

Finding Books and Media

CLIO provides access to the vast resources of the Columbia University Libraries, including Barnard Library, but excluding Teachers College and the Law Library. Search the Catalog for book and media materials.

Browse the stacks using the call numbers for French Language and French and Francophone Literatures.

The NYPL catalog searches the circulating and non-circulating research collections at the New York Public Library.

Worldcat searches libraries worldwide. If a title isn't available via Columbia University Libraries, you may request it via Borrow Direct or Interlibrary Loan.

 

 

 

 

 

Subject Code: 
ITAL