PHED 1100: Wellness

Lois Coleman

   Instructor: George Padilla

Personal Librarian: Lois Coleman
lcoleman@barnard.edu

Make an appointment for a Research Consultation

Databases for Scholarly Research

The following are all on the Databases list accessible from the Barnard Library homepage or the Columbia Libraries page. There are other databases that might also be useful. For further help, ask at the Research Desk on the first floor of the library.

  • BioMed Central: Provides access to the full text of biomedical research publications. These publications include biology and medicine journal articles, current reports, and meeting abstracts.
  • General Science Full Text: Covers leading journals and magazines, conferences, review articles in science publications.
  • Medline (Ovid): Index of the biomedical literature.
  • ProQuest: An interdisciplinary database with full-text articles and abstracts from scholarly journals, newspapers (including the NY Times back to 1851), and dissertations.
  • PsycARTICLES: Full-text articles from journals published by the American Psychological Association.
  • PsycINFO (Ovid): Citations and abstracts for publications about psychology and related disciplines, 1806 to present.
  • PubMed: Citations, abstracts and links to some full text articles. Indexed by the National Library of Medicine. Also links to other specialized databases.
  • Science Citation Index: ISI Web of Science/Web of Knowledge. Cited references and bibliographic information for the social sciences, with links to full-text articles.  Useful for tracing who cited a given article or book, or for finding out which authors and journals are the most influential in a field.
  • Scopus: Journals in many fields of all the sciences, social sciences, business and medicine.

Find Articles

Search across all the Columbia University Libraries databases (full text search only):

 

 

Scholarly Journals vs. Popular Magazines

Scholarly journals are periodicals for specialized readership.  The articles:

  • are written by scholars or experts in a field of study, describing “cutting edge” research;
  • are “peer reviewed” or “refereed” by other experts, as a kind of quality control mechanism;
  • have references and footnotes (or endnotes) - in the sciences and the social sciences each article also has an abstract (but not in the humanities);
  • give the affiliation of the authors (e.g., university, research institute).

Popular magazines are written for a general audience, and the vocabulary is less specialized. They do not have footnotes or references, and are not peer reviewed. The author’s affiliation is usually not given.

 

Google Scholar

  • scholar.google.com retrieves only scholarly material, with links to full text and citations.
  • To set up your preferences, click on Scholar Preferences, or Settings, and set up a Library Link to Columbia University.  For Bibliography Manager, you can choose to import references to RefWorks, or another reference management tool.

 

Reference Resources

 

Selected Websites

 

RefWorks

  • Bibliographic software allows you to store your references conveniently, and cite them in papers and bibliographies using any citation style you choose. 
  • For help, see the Barnard Library RefWorks Guide.

 

 

Subject Code: 
PHED
Course Code: 
PHED 1100-001