Slavic Studies

Personal Librarian: Vani Natarajan

Check out my profile for my other guides!

Make an appointment for a Research Consultation with me!

Welcome! On this page, you will find tools for research in Slavic Studies. This interdisciplinary field includes the study of Slavic languages (including Russian and Ukrainian) along with the literatures, cultures, and histories of Eastern Europe and parts of Central Asia.

 

Articles

If you are looking for secondary sources, check out these databases.

ABSEES, or the American Bibliography of Slavic and East European Studies, covers North American scholarship on East-Central Europe, Russia, and the former Soviet Union. Bibliographic records feature citations with some full text links to journal articles, books and book chapters, book reviews, dissertations, online resources, and selected government publications.

CEEOL, or Central and Eastern European Online Library, archives full text PDF articles from humanities and social science journals, electronic books and re-digitized documents pertaining to Central, Eastern and South-Eastern European topics. Content is available in English and a range of Slavic languages. CEEOL is a project of the Frankfurt-based Palais Jalta.

Eastview Universal Databases combines the resources of several subject-specific databases on Russia and the former Soviet Union. Users may access full-text content in English and/or Russian from newspapers, newswires, popular and scholarly periodicals, and government documents, in addition to the Russian National Bibliography, which contains citations to Russian printed works.

JSTOR includes page images of key scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences, including the contents of 18 different Slavic Studies journal titles. Coverage spans the early twentieth century to the present.

 

Primary Sources

Consult this list for digitized text and image primary sources.

Bakhemeteff Arhcive of Russian and East European Culture at the Columbia University Rare Book and Manuscript Library, features manuscripts and visual materials documenting the history of Russian émigrés,  Americans in Russia, and US-Russia relations.  It is the second largest depository of Russian émigré materials outside Russia.

Feb Web, or the Fundamental Digital Library of Russian Literature and Folklore, provides full text access to the canon of Russian literature, with full-text key secondary sources as well. Contents highlight literature from the 18th century onward. Users may opt for a Russian or English search interface, with access to contents in Russian.

Pravda Digital Archive features scanned page images of Pravda, the leading Russian newspaper, from 1912 onwards. Contents are in Russian, with an English search interface, and text and images cover Russian and Soviet history and politics.

REESWeb, the World Wide Web Virtual Library for Russian and East European Studies, serves as a portal to web content that focuses on the geographical area stretching from Bohemia to Central Asia. Many resources featured in REESWeb contain digitized archival content. Contents are free-text searchable and browseable by geography, culture, subject area, and historical period.

 

Reference

Consult these sources for background information in your research, or to brush up on vocabulary and etymology.

Dictionary of Literary Biography Complete provides biographical and critical essays on the lives, works, and careers of the world's most influential literary figures from all eras and genres.

East View UDB Statistics covers Russian and English language publications, reports and data sets from State Committee of the Russian Federation on Statistics and the Interstate Statistical Committee of the Commonwealth of Independent States.

Oxford Language Dictionaries Online: Russian provides a fully searchable bilingual Russian-English and English-Russian dictionary online, with supplementary resources in Russian language history, culture, and colloquialisms.

 

Search across all Columbia University Library's databases:

Find Articles

 

 

Finding Books

Browse the stacks using the call numbers for Slavic Studies:

DJK: General Eastern European History

DK: History of Russia, the former Soviet Republics, and Poland

PG: Slavic Languages and Literatures

PG2900-3698: Russian Literature

 

CLIO : Online catalog of the Columbia University Libraries, including Barnard Library, but excluding Teachers College and the Law Library.

To find primary sources in CLIO, use the keywords:

  • archives
  • correspondence
  • diaries
  • interviews
  • narratives
  • memoirs
  • sources

WorldCat
Searches libraries worldwide.

 

 

Subject Code: 
RUSS