Scene Design

Visual Research Guide

Instructor: Sandra Goldmark

Personal Librarian: Megan Wacha

Check out my profile for my other guides!

Make an appointment for a Research Consultation with me!

 

Search CLIO and Browse the Stacks

CLIO (Columbia Libraries Information Online) is the online catalog of the Columbia University Libraries, including Barnard Library, but excluding Teachers College and the Law Library. 

CLIO Search Tips:

  • Use catalog records to identify useful subject headings such as Illustrated books or Pictures
  • Substitute different century numbers, country names, or art movement as needed
  • Remember you can limit search results to items physically held at Barnard
  • Use keyword searches to locate items, and then go to the stacks and browse those items as well as the ones nearby

Browse the stacks using the call number ranges:
GT Manners and customs (including Costume, Dress, and Fashion)
N   Fine Arts
NA Architecture
NB Sculpture
NC Drawing, design, and illustration
ND Painting
NE Print Media
NK Decorative Arts
NX Arts in general
TR Photography
TT Handicrafts, arts and crafts

Scanners are available in Barnard and Avery.
There are color printers in Avery Library and the Business and Economics Library, as well as in the CUIT computer lab and the Digital Social Science Center in Lehman Library. (Note: Lehman Library is in the International Affairs building, not Lehman Hall at Barnard.)

Online Resources for Images

AccuNet/AP Photo Archive
Associated Press archive of photographs from 1844 to the present, audio files of radio broadcasts, text of wire stories, and info-graphics.

ARTstor
Documents the fields of architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, design, anthropology, ethnographic and women's studies, as well as many other forms of visual culture.

Beazley Archive
Provides access to photographs, notes, drawings, an illustrated dictionary and bibliographies relating to ancient Greek and Roman art.

Berg Fashion Library
Provides integrated text and image content on world dress and fashion throughout history.

Catalog of Art Museum Images Online (CAMIO)
A growing online collection documenting works of art from around the world, representing the collections of prominent museums.

Flickr
Online photo management and sharing, including select collections from libraries and museums. Search Tip: Conduct an Advanced Search to limit to Creative Commons licensed material.

Getty Images
24.7 million creative stock and editorial images.

Google advancedLife
Millions of photographs from the LIFE photo archive, stretching from the 1750s to today, most never before published.

Library of Congress, Prints and Photographs Online Catalog
Photographs, fine and popular prints and drawings, posters, and architectural and engineering drawings. While international in scope, the collections are particularly rich in materials produced in, or documenting the history of, the United States and the lives, interests and achievements of the American people.

New York Public Library Picture Collection Online
select group of images from The New York Public Library, Mid-Manhattan Library, Picture Collection, which dates back to 1915.

Wikimedia Commons

Periodicals and Reference Works available at Barnard

GT510.R3313 1988 The historical encyclopedia of costumes
GT615 .Lxx Reference book of men's/women's/children's vintage clothing (multiple volumes)
HD8066.D47 2000g Working Americans, 1880-1999
N31.E4833 Encyclopedia of world art
NB236 .O64 1984 Dictionary of American sculptors : "18th century to the present," illustrated with over 200 photographs
NK805.E6 2004 Encyclopedia of American folk art also online
QL45.2.A56 2001 Animal: Definitive visual guide to the world's wildlife
TR9.P4813 2004 The Abrams encyclopedia of photography
TT957.S46 2006 Encyclopedia of hair : a cultural history


Periodicals     Artforum, v.6 (1968)-v.20:no.8 (1982:Apr.), also online
Periodicals     Art in America, v.48 (1960:Spr.)-v.61 (1973:June), v.62 (1974)-v. 96 ( 2008:Dec.), v.97 (2009: Aug.-Dec.), also online
Periodicals     ARTnews, v.48 (1949:Mar.)-v.96 (1997:June), v.97 (1998)-v.106 (2007)
Periodicals     History Today, v.2 (1952)-v.54 (2004), v.56 (2006)-v.59 (2009), also online
Periodicals     Ladies Home Journal, Vol. 57-79, (1940-1962)
Periodicals     Mademoiselle, 1937:Sept.-1938:Apr., 1940:Nov.-1957:June, 1958-1962
Periodicals     Magazine of Art, v.22 (1931:Jan.-Jun.)-v.46 (1953)

Subject Code: 
THTR
Course Code: 
THTRV3135001