History and Practice of Directing

Research Guide

Instructor: Alice Reagan

Personal Librarian: Megan Wacha

Check out my profile for my other guides

Make an appointment for a Research Consultation with me!

 

Reference Sources

Gale Biography in Context is a comprehensive database of biographical information on over 320,000 people from throughout history, around the world, and across all disciplines and subject areas. It combines 780 volumes of Gale Group, including the International Dictionary of Theatre and Contemporary Theatre, Film, and Television

Oxford Encyclopedia of Theatre and Performance provides information about theater and performance from ancient Greece to the present.

Recommended Databases for Journal Articles and Reviews

Research Technique: Locate the review of a production and then click/flip through the pages of the publication to identify relevant historical and cultural events.

International Bibliography of Theatre and Dance contains all of the content available in International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance as well as full text for 100 titles.

International Index to the Performing Arts is a multidisciplinary index to the performing arts. Includes full-text.

Humanities Full Text brings full text (starting 1995) plus abstracts and bibliographic indexes (starting 1984) of noted scholarly sources in the humanities, as well as lesser known specialized magazines.

Project Muse includes full-text articles from more than 200 scholarly journals in history and the humanities, the social sciences, and the sciences.

ProQuest Direct contains citations and fulltext articles from several thousand magazines, journals, newspapers, etc. covering many subjects in academic & professional disciplines.

Or search multiple databases simultaneously:

Find Articles

 

Visual and Auditory Research

Search CLIO and Browse the Stacks

CLIO (Columbia Libraries Information Online) is the online catalog of the Columbia University Libraries, including Barnard Library, but excluding Teachers College and the Law Library.

CLIO Search Tips:
  • Use catalog records to identify useful subject headings such as Illustrated books or Pictures
  • Conduct an advanced search and limit the format to Music Sound Recordings.
  • Remember you can limit search results to items physically held at Barnard
  • Use keyword searches to locate items, and then go to the stacks and browse those items as well as the ones nearby

Browse the stacks using the call number ranges:
GT Manners and customs (including Costume, Dress, and Fashion)
N   Fine Arts
NA Architecture
NB Sculpture
NC Drawing, design, and illustration
ND Painting
NE Print Media
NK Decorative Arts
NX Arts in general
TR Photography
TT Handicrafts, arts and crafts

Recommended Libraries

In addition to books and periodicals, the Barnard College Library has a large collection of audiovisual materials in the Media Collection. Document scanners are available on the first and second floors of the library and an image scanner is available on the third floor. There is no charge for scanning.

Avery Architectural & Fine Arts Library collects books and periodicals in architecture, historic preservation, art history, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, city planning, real estate, and archaeology. Scanners are available.

Gabe M. Wiener Music & Arts Library has an extensive collection of materials related to western and non-western music, including 20,000 sound and video recordings in multiple formats.

Online Resources for Images

AccuNet/AP Photo Archive
Associated Press archive of photographs from 1844 to the present, audio files of radio broadcasts, text of wire stories, and info-graphics.

ARTstor
Documents the fields of architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, design, anthropology, ethnographic and women's studies, as well as many other forms of visual culture.

Catalog of Art Museum Images Online (CAMIO)
A growing online collection documenting works of art from around the world, representing the collections of prominent museums.

Flickr
Online photo management and sharing, including select collections from libraries and museums. Search Tip: Conduct an Advanced Search to limit to Creative Commons licensed material.

Getty Images
24.7 million creative stock and editorial images.

Google advancedLife
Millions of photographs from the LIFE photo archive, stretching from the 1750s to today, most never before published.

Library of Congress, Prints and Photographs Online Catalog
Photographs, fine and popular prints and drawings, posters, and architectural and engineering drawings. While international in scope, the collections are particularly rich in materials produced in, or documenting the history of, the United States and the lives, interests and achievements of the American people.

New York Public Library Digital Gallery
Provides access to over 700,000 images digitized from the The New York Public Library's vast collections.

The Collection of the Museum of Modern Art
The Collection contains 36,920 works by 6,729 artists.

Online Resources for Music

Music Online
A cross-searchable database of audio, video, scores, and full-text reference materials from American Song, Classical Music Library, Classical Scores Library, Contemporary World Music, Jazz Music Library

Naxos Music Library
Contains classical music, historical recordings, jazz, world and folk music, along with textual notes on the works being played and biographical information on composers or artists.

Subject Code: 
THTR
Course Code: 
THTRV3200001