Translating Hispaniola


 

French Map of Hispaniola (1723),
by Nicolas de Fer (1646-1720) via Wikimedia
 

Research Guide

Welcome! This page highlights key resources for conducting effective research for the Translating Hispaniola Seminar.

If you need assistance identifying additional resources, search terms or strategies, please schedule a research consultation.

 Personal Librarians

Miriam Neptune
212-854-8171
306B Lehman
mneptune@barnard.edu

Vani Natarajan
212-854-8595
208C Lehman
vnataraj@barnard.edu

 


 

 

Haitian-Dominican border crises 1937 and 2013

       Screen Shot 2015-02-11 at 11.38.56 PM.png     

 

Digital Library of the Caribbean (dLoc) holds documents, photographs, maps, and many other resources from several partnering archives. Browse by country, search by keyword, or pin a location on a map. There are several documents marking negotiations over the Haitian/Dominican border, and this summary of the meeting brokered by the Pan American Union, between representatives of Trujillo and Haitian President Stenio Vincent, after the 1937 massacre.

 

 

           

 

Dominican@s por Derecho is a blog which curates and archives articles related to the September 13, 2013 Tribunal Court ruling in the Dominican Republic. The site, maintained by OBMICA, a think tank on the impact of migration in the Dominican Republic, chronicles the response by activists and human rights groups. 
 

Colonial Hispaniola

           

New York Public Library Digital Collections includes many digitized selections from the vast collections of the libraries, among them: Samuel Thornton's Chart of the Iland of Hispaniola with the windward passage from Jamaica betwene ye East end of Cuba and the west end of Hispaniola from the Lionel Pincus and Princess Firyal Map Division.

 

A Colony in Crisis: the Saint-Domingue Grain Shortage of 1789 provides online access to both the French originals and the English translations into English of key primary sources dealing with the grain shortage faced by the colony of Saint-Domingue in 1789, with texts largely drawn from the University of Maryland's Special Collections. Pictured, a column from a table charting the movement of ships between France and Saint-Domingue, from the French Governor of Saint-Domingue's 1789 Ordinance Concerning the Introduction of Foreign Grain In the Warehouse Ports of the French Section of the Island of Saint-Domingue. (note: The French text of this Ordinance has also been transcribed and is available through the French Revolution Digital Archive.)

 

 

Haitian Revolution and The “Reunification” of Hispaniola

The Louverture Project collects and makes accessible sources, both primary and secondary, relating to the Haitian Revolution. Following the example of Wikipedia, it makes many sources available as open content (including, for example, images in the public domain). Pictured at the left, an undated book illustration of Jean-Jacques Dessalines.

See also:

Nationalisms and Other Founding Fictions

The John Carter Brown Library Haiti Collection offers access to digitized materials (books, manuscripts, maps, and more) from Brown University's John Carter Brown Library, relating to histories of Haiti from colonial to post-revolution times. Shown here: Henri-Christophe's Royaume d'Hayti: Déclaration du Roi (1816 imprint).

 

US Imperial Interventions and Their Gendered Implications

The Caribbean Sea Migration Collection includes digitized materials related to Cuban, Dominican and Haitian maritime migration from 1965-1996, including camps at the U.S. Naval Station, Guantánamo Bay, Cuba, 1991-1996. Materials collected include photographs such as this one from 1981: 56 Haitians, returned to Port-au-Prince, wait to have their names called by representatives of the Haitian Red Cross (from the US Coast Guard Photos of Haitians collection).
A rich array of photographs and other digital materials documenting US Marine Corps presence in several countries, including multiple interventions in Dominican Republic and Haiti, are available on the United States Marine Corps History Division website.

 

Dictatorships: Race-based State Formations

The Internet Archive's Moving Image Archive shares a vast array of digital films uploaded by archive users. Collections inlude FedFlix, a selection of US government films. Shown here, a thumbnail from a 1961 film of a CIA Interview with General Rafael Trujillo (National Archives), in which Trujillo answers questions on topics ranging from the Organization of American States to Dominican intelligence services to US economic sanctions.

 

Dictatorships: State Feminisms?

The Ministerio de la Mujer's Portal de Transparencia includes statistics, publications, legal documents, and other sources from the Dominican government's Ministerio de la Mujer, established in 2010 with the arrival of a new national constitution. Pictured at the left, a graphic from the site featuring the Mirabal sisters and a background of butterflies.

See also:

Women’s Voices

Black Looks: The Haiti Feminist Series via Public Archive gathers human rights activist/researcher Sokari Ekine's interviews with grassroots Haitian feminists. Pictured, a photograph of Madame Evonne Auguste of Famm Voudou pou Ayiti (interview transcript here).

 

Haitians Writing in The Diaspora

NYU’s Hemispheric Institute of Performance and Politics is a network of institutions, scholars, artists and activists across the Americas---their website includes a digital library of performance videos, a journal of writing and art (E-Misferica) and other documents of political and creative practice. Among the works published on the site, a video of Haitian American poet and performance artist Lenelle Moise’s Ache What Make. (Photograph of Lenelle Moise pictured at right, by photographer Laura Bluher).

See also:

 

Dominicans Writing in The Diaspora

CUNY’s Dominican Studies Institute  seeks to produce and disseminate research and scholarship about Dominicans in the US and elsewhere. Research monographs about Dominican transnationalism and identity are among those available for download on the website.

Image: Bookcover of Abreu, Deogenes. Sin haitianidad no hay dominicanidad: cartografía de una identidad que se bifurca. Santo Domingo, República Dominicana: Editora Nacional, 2014

 

Queer Voices

Kouraj is an LGBT rights-focused human rights group working in Haiti. Their website includes the Kouraj founding document: The Masisi Manifesto.

 

  Theorizing Homophobias in the Caribbean is a “digital multimedia collection of activist reports, creative writing, critical essays, film, interviews, music, and visual and performance art reflecting the complexities of homophobias in the Caribbean, while also expanding understanding of Caribbean sexual minority experiences and activism in the region and its diaspora.” Among the sources included: a transcript of an interview between Steve Laguerre and Angelique Nixon: “LGBT Activism in Haiti through SEROvie.”

 

Recommended Databases

 

Recommended Journals