Inequalities: Race, Class, Gender, and Sexuality in U.S. Law and Society

This page highlights key resources for conducting effective research for Inequalities: Race, Class, Gender, and Sexuality in U.S. Law and Society.

If you need assistance identifying additional resources, search terms or strategies, please schedule a research consultation.

Professor 
J.C. Salyer

Personal Librarian 
Jennie Correia
Social Sciences Librarian
103 LeFrak Center, Barnard Hall
212.854.9096
jcorreia@barnard.edu


Finding Sources - Background Information
Finding Sources - Books/Catalogs
Finding Sources - Journal Articles/Databases & Peer Review
Using Sources - Writing & Citing

___________________________________________________________________________________________

Finding Sources - Background Information

Consult scholarly reference sources and annual reviews to get an overview of a topic, an introduction to a theory, definitions to discipline-specific terms, and more.

___________________________________________________________________________________________

Finding Sources - Books/Catalogs

CLIO is the online catalog of the Columbia University Libraries, including Barnard Library, but excluding Teachers College and some information from the Law Library. Search the Catalog for book and media materials.

Catalog search tips:

If you know exactly what book (journal, video, etc.) you are looking for, you can search by Title, Author, ISBN, etc.

To find items about a specific topic, first try a keyword search in All Fields.

  • Use "quotation marks" to search for an exact phrase: "black lives matter".

  • Use * for truncation (to find variant spellings and endings of a word): wom*n will find woman, women, womyn; ethnicit* will find ethnicity, ethnicities, etc.

  • For more complex search, use AND and OR:

    • AND finds records which have all the search terms you entered.

    • OR finds records which have one of the search terms you entered, as well as records which have more than one of the terms. OR finds MORE.

    • For more help with using AND and OR, check our guide to advanced/Boolean keyword searching.

  • Use parentheses to group terms:  (wom*n OR gender) AND (#blacklivesmatter OR "black lives matter") 

Subject headings: If you find a relevant book, look at its subject headings in CLIO and click through to find more related works.

Find books and other materials in other libraries:

___________________________________________________________________________________________

Finding  Sources - Journal Articles/Databases & Peer Review

There are hundreds of databases available through CLIO. You can use the Articles section in CLIO to search multiple databases simultaneously, including many listed below.

For off-campus access to library online resources, remember to follow the links from CLIO or this research guide. You can also use the proxy bookmarklet.

Database search tips:

  • The general search tips for CLIO also apply to the article databases.
     
  • If you find an article or a book that is relevant, the bibliography/works cited page can be a useful road map to other relevant literature that was previously published.  
     
  • If you find an article or a book that is relevant, you can use Google Scholar and some other databases to find out whether other scholars cited it after it was published. Search for the title of an article/monograph and search and click on "Cited by" to generate a list of publications that have referenced that source.
     
  • In most databases, you can narrow your results to scholarly publications only. Look for "limit to ... scholarly publications/peer-reviewed/refereed publications only" or similar language. This will help you find articles from journals that have gone through a rigorous peer review process.  

    Peer Review in Three Minutes from NSCU Libraries.

Recommended Scholarly Databases:

  • Anthropology Plus is the most comprehensive index to articles and books in the field. You'll find references to scholarly articles, reports, commentary, and edited collections of essays in all areas of anthropology, from the 19th century to the present.
  • AnthroSource has archived issues of the American Anthropological Association’s journals, newsletters, and bulletins.
  • Annual Reviews are great for getting comprehensive summaries of research on specific topics in the field. Look at the bibliographies to lead you to the original works cited. You can search all Annual Review at once or focus on specific disciplines such as Anthropology and Sociology.
  • Gender Studies Database features research in women's studies, men's studies, gender studies, and sexuality studies.  Source documents include professional journals, conference papers, books, book chapters, government reports, discussion and working papers, and theses & dissertations.
  • GenderWatch includes full text from contemporary scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books, booklets and pamphlets, conference proceedings, and government, NGO and special reports.
  • Google Scholar is very useful for seeing if other scholars have cited a book, article, etc. Search on the title, and then follow the "Cited by ..." link. 
  • International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS) contains core social sciences and related materials from over 100 countries in more than 90 languages (including over 2600 journals and books, book reviews, and book chapters).
  • JSTOR provides the full text of back issues from core scholarly journals in sociology and other fields in the humanities and social sciences from the earliest issues to within a few years of current publication. Please note that, generally, this database does not include issues published in the last few years. You can search just the journals from anthropology, sociology, or other related fields in JSTOR by using the Advanced Search "NARROW BY DISCIPLINE AND/OR JOURNAL" feature.
  • Race Relations Abstracts includes bibliographic records from academic journals and popular magazines related to race relations, including ethnic studies, discrimination, immigration studies, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline. 
  • Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI) is a multidisciplinary database with searchable author abstracts, covering the journal literature of the social sciences. It links publications based on citations allowing you to search the "web" of communication surrounding a topic. You also can search Science Citation Index and Arts & Humanities Index simultaneously with the Social Science Citation Index - click on "MORE SETTINGS" to select the databases you want to search.
  • SocINDEX with Full Text provides solid coverage of scholarly research in sociology and closely related areas of study, including references to scholarly journals, books, monographs, conference papers, and other content sources.
  • Sociological Abstracts is the best bet when starting a search for scholarly sociological research. This core database covers sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences, including research focused in social work, human services, and related areas. The database provides citations from 1963 to the present and include references to journal articles, book reviews, book abstracts, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers.

___________________________________________________________________________________________

Using Sources - Writing & Citing

Last updated January 31, 2018