Guide to Finding
- Credo Reference: Science
- AccessScience from McGraw-Hill
- Merck Manual of Medical Information
- Oxford Reference Online
Finding Scientific Literature, including Scholarly Articles, Conference Papers, and Preprints
- Animal Behavior Abstracts
Provides access to the literature on animal behavior, with subjects ranging from neurophysiology to behavioral ecology, from genetics to applied ethology.
- Biological Abstracts
Provides access to the literature in biology and the life sciences.
- Biological and Agricultural Index
Index for articles from periodicals in the life sciences and agriculture, including topics such as animal husbandry, botany, cytology, ecology, entomology, environmental science, fishery sciences, food science, forestry, genetics, horticulture, microbiology, plant pathology, soil science, veterinary medicine, and zoology.
Full text articles from research journals focused on the biological, biomedical, ecological, and environmental sciences.
- Current Protocols in Molecular Biology
A compilation of protocols for molecular biology experimental procedures.
- Environment Abstracts
Full-text news, journals, and reference materials, as well as federal and state codes and federal agency regulations.
- Environment Complete
Includes journals, conference papers and special reports from international agencies, non-governmental organizations, universities, associations and private corporations.
- Google Scholar
Only finds scholarly materials - articles, books and citations - but searches full text, and will often find too many irrelevant articles. Go to Settings and enable "Library Links" for Columbia University - this will make the Columbia e-Link show up in the results list so that you can easily go to the full text.
Covers all aspects of human impact on the envirnment.
- JoVE, the Journal of Visualized Experiments
The world's first peer reviewed scientific video journal.
Database from the National Library of Medicine containing citations to articles in Medline (see What's the Difference Between Medline and PubMed?), additional life science journals, and the integrated molecular biology databases included in the National Center for Biotechnology Information retrieval system (including DNA and protein sequences, 3-D protein structure data, and assemblies of complete genomes)
Abstracts and full text of articles in the sciences, technology, medicine and social sciences.
- SciFinder (to register, use this link: http://www.columbia.edu/cgi-bin/cul/resolve?clio6702921.999)
Provides access to the Chemical Abstract Service (CAS) databases of chemical literature and U.S. and foreign chemical-related patents, to CASREACT, to the Registry database from CAS, and to Medline.
Indexing, abstracting and citation linking for journals in biology, physics, chemistry, geosciences, agriculture, medicine, business, social work, and the social sciences
Full-text access to journals and books published by Springer. Subjects include life sciences, chemical sciences, environmental sciences, geosciences, computer science, mathematics, medicine, physics and astronomy, engineering and economics.
- Water Resources Abstracts
Abstracts from journals, conference proceedings and technical reports on water-related topics covering the characteristics, conservation, control, pollution, treatment, use and management of water resources.
- Web of Science
Scholarly articles in all disciplines, useful for finding the most highly-cited articles, for examining the references in an article, or for determining if any articles have cited a specific article or book.
- Zoological Record
Index to articles in international journals, review annuals, monographs, meeting proceedings, books and reports, representing research in all major areas of zoology, including: behavior, ecology, evolution, genetics, habitat, nutrition, parasitology, reproduction, taxonomy and zoogeography.
- CLIO: Online catalog of the Columbia University Libraries, including Barnard Library, but excluding Teachers College and the Law Library.
- WorldCat: Searches libraries worldwide.
Citing Your Sources
- Citation Management
Barnard Library Guides to citation styles, citation management software and avoiding plagiarism
- CSE Documentation Systems
System of documentation specified by the Council of Science Editors.
- The Manual of Scientific Style
A guide for authors, editors, and researchers