Guide to Finding
- Catalysts & Catalysed Reactions
A Royal Society of Chemistry database that provides images and abstracts from key chemical journals, in all areas of catalysis research, including homogeneous, heterogeneous and biocatalysis with emphasis on current growth areas. To find reactions, click on "Search the Database" on the left.
A chemical and biological drawing suite containing advanced prediction tools and full Web integration.
A collection of reference works in chemistry.
- CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics online
A popular ready reference source for chemical and physical data.
- The Dictionary of Commonly Cited Compounds
Contains data on 25,000 compounds most commonly used by chemists, including organic compounds, inorganic compounds, drugs, natural products, materials, alloys, and the elements and their isotopes.
- Encyclopedia of Analytical Chemistry
Covers all fields of chemical research - analytical, organic, physical, polymer, inorganic biomedical, environmental, pharmaceutical, industrial, petroleum, forensics, and food science.
- Encyclopedia of Inorganic and Bioinorganic Chemistry
Reviews the latest thinking and developments in inorganic and bioinorganic chemistry and provides in-depth coverage of core concepts in the field.
- Organic Reactions
Information about the most important and useful synthetic reactions, organized primarily by reaction type. Each major component contains a critical discussion of the featured type of reaction as well as a step-by-step guide to performing it.
Find substances, reactions, citations, patents, and more from the Beilstein Database, the Gmelin Database, and the Patent Chemistry Database.
- Sax's Dangerous Properties of Industrial Materials
The primary source for those who need to evaluate the hazardous potential of substances used in commerce. To find substances, click on "Search in this Book" on the right.
- TOXNET: Toxicology Data Network
The National Library of Medicine portal to databases on toxicology, hazardous chemicals, environmental health, and toxic releases.
The online portal to the Cambridge Structural Database, the world's repository for small-molecule organic and metal-organic crystal structures.
Finding Scientific Literature, including Articles, Conference Papers, and Preprints
- Google Scholar
Only finds scholarly materials - articles, books and citations - but searches full text, and will often find too many irrelevant articles. Go to Settings and enable "Library Links" for Columbia University - this will make the Columbia e-Link show up in the results list so that you can easily go to the full text.
- JoVE, the Journal of Visualized Experiments
The world's first peer reviewed scientific video journal.
Provides access to over 16 million citations from MEDLINE and other life science journals for biomedical articles back to the 1950s.
- SciFinder (to register, use this link: http://www.columbia.edu/cgi-bin/cul/resolve?clio6702921.999)
Provides access to the Chemical Abstract Service (CAS) databases of chemical literature and U.S. and foreign chemical-related patents, to CASREACT, to the Registry database from CAS, and to Medline.
Excellent source for citation searching or finding original articles in chemistry.
- Web of Science
Scholarly articles in all disciplines, including chemistry. This database can also be used to identify articles that cite an author or article that you specify, and for various kinds of citation analysis.
Use the Catalog search to find books, journal titles (but not articles in journals), online resources like databases, archives, and other materials held by the Columbia Libraries system, including the Health Sciences Library.
- Barnard Library Books
Most Barnard Library books are currently in off-site storage and unavailable, due to the building of the new library, but some of them are housed on the 4th floor of Butler Library, and newly-purchased books are still available at Barnard Library; check CLIO for details.
Searches libraries worldwide
Citing Your Sources
- Citation Management
Barnard Library Guides to citation styles, citation management software and avoiding plagiarism
- Guide to the ACS Style
From the American Chemical Society.
- Documenting Sources
The Bedford/St. Martin's Student Site for the Everyday Writer, with guides to APA, MLA, CSE and Chicago styles.
- The Manual of Scientific Style
A guide for authors, editors, and researchers