Modes of Inquiry Research Guide


Encuentro zine by Slim Lopez, 2012. Cover from Slim's website.

Professor
Sayantani DasGupta

Welcome! On this page, you will find a selective guide to tools for research in race and ethnicity at Barnard College / Columbia University.

If you need assistance identifying additional resources, search terms or strategies, please schedule a research consultation with Jenna.

Personal Librarian: Jenna Freedman

jfreedma@barnard.edu
111 LeFrak Center
@barnlib


Zotero | CLIO/Barnard/Columbia | Articles | Data/Primary Sources
 

Criteria: Question Authorship

Who is responsible for the work?
Who is it for? Who isn't it for?
Who funded it?
How did the creator or funder get their position?
Who isn't positioned to create or fund this type of work? 
How is the work described? Who describes it?
Using what/whose language?
Who made this very guide?
How is it arranged?
What does it privilege?

Zotero allows you to

  • search for citations in library catalogs and databases from the software or export results into it from remote catalogs and databases
  • store the citations
  • search through the citations you have stored using keyword searches
  • cite them in papers and bibliographies using any citation format you choose

Library guide to using Zotero.

Barnard/Columbia/NYC

Searching CLIO
CLIO (Columbia Libraries Information Online) is the online catalog for materials added to the Columbia University Libraries since 1981.  

  • Facet search results on the left. 


Other Libraries

Borrowing with CUID

Access with CUID

Require separate ID

EDUCAT for Teachers’ College Library
Pegasus for Columbia Law Library

ALEPH for the Jewish Theological Seminary
BobCat for NYU libraries

New York Public Library catalog.
NYPL Databases require library card number for access.

Catalogs: for a larger list of library catalogs in New York City and elsewhere, including the paid version of WorldCat, a catalog of catalogs that has holdings information from libraries all over the world and CRL, a catalog of rare and specialized materials, all available via Interlibrary Loan.
 

Articles

Ethnicity and Race Specific/Related General & Interdisciplinary
  • Alt-PressWatch
  • Alternative Press Index and API Archive -- feminist and other alternative press publications from 1969-present (e.g. Bust, Lilith, On Our Backs, Women and Criminal Justice)
  • Black thought and culture : African Americans from Colonial times to the present -- Non-fiction works by African-American leaders and others who have dealt substantially with issues of race in America
  • Chicano database -- extensive coverage from the 1960s to the present, with selective coverage dating back to the early 1900s. Records added since 1992 have expanded this database's scope to include the broader Latino experience, including Puerto Ricans, Cuban Americans, and Central American immigrants. The Chicano Database also includes the Spanish Speaking Mental Health Database, covering psychological, sociological, and educational literature.
  • Ethnic NewsWatch
  • HAPI online -- Hispanic American periodicals index
  • Indigenous peoples--North America -- monograph, manuscript, newspaper, periodical and photograph collections
  • Informe -- Spanish language Latin American academic journals in social sciences, humanities, science and medicine (currently generates an error message: reported 9/12/17)
  • Left index -- scholarship both inside and outside academia
  • ProQuest history vault. Slavery and the law -- Includes race, slavery, and free blacks petitions to southern legislatures and southern county courts as well as State slavery statutes.
  • Race relations abstracts  -- ethnic studies, discrimination, immigration studies, and other areas


Directory of Open Access Journals

Find Articles (searches multiple Columbia databases at once)

For a more complete list of electronic databases for race and ethnicity studies, check Columbia's Databases: Social Sciences list.
 

Data/Primary Sources

The Barnard College Archives, Columbia University Archives, and Columbia Rare Book & Manuscript Library. They have items related to more topics than you would think!

The Empirical Reasoning Center - provides help formulating empirical questions, finding appropriate data sets, and  guidance and training with analysis software.

Primary Source Databases Data Sources

 

 

Feedback form. Please help me do better!