Education Research Guide

 


Student teacher in China by Rex Pe, Wikimedia Commons

Welcome! This page highlights key resources for conducting effective information research in education.

If you need assistance identifying additional resources, search terms or strategies, please schedule a research consultation.

""
Personal Librarian: 
Jennie Correia
103 LeFrak Center, Barnard Hall
212.854.9096
jcorreia@barnard.edu

Reference Sources
Books & Media
Articles & Reports
Data & Stats 
Writing & Citing


Finding Background Information - Using Reference Sources

Consult scholarly reference sources to get an overview of a topic, an introduction to a theory, definitions to discipline-specific terms, and more.


Finding Books and Media Materials


Finding Articles, Reports, Conference Papers, Working Papers, etc. 

  • Education Full Text provides citations, abstracts and full-text of articles in scholarly education periodicals and other publications.
     
  • Education Research Complete also provides citations, abstracts and full text for scholarly education journals and books.
     
  • ERIC (Education Resources Information Center) is an online library of education research and information sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences (IES) of the U.S. Department of Education, and contains citations, abstracts, and full-text for articles in education periodicals and other publications. ERIC is available through a variety of platforms:
     
  • GenderWatch includes full text from contemporary scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books, booklets and pamphlets, conference proceedings, and government, NGO and special reports.
     
  • Google Scholar is very useful for seeing if a book, article, etc. has been cited by other scholars. Search on the title, and then follow the "Cited by ..." link. 
     
  • Social Sciences Citation Index is a multidisciplinary database with searchable author abstracts, covering the journal literature of the social sciences. It links publications based on citations allowing you to search the "web" of communication surrounding a topic. You also can search Science Citation Index and Arts & Humanities Index simultaneously with the Social Science Citation Index - click on "MORE SETTINGS" to select the databases you want to search.
     
  • What Works Clearinghouse (WWC) from the Institute of Education Sciences (IES) within the U.S. Department of Education reviews the existing research on different programs, products, practices, and policies in education. The goal is to provide educators with the information they need to make evidence-based decisions. They focus on the results from high-quality research to answer the question “What works in education?”
     
  • For tips & tricks in searching catalogs & databases, check our guide to advanced/Boolean keyword searching.

Finding Data and Statistics

For help finding and analyzing data, check out the Empirical Reasoning Center (ERC). The ERC's calendar lists when staff is available to answer your questions. No appointment necessary!

Need even more data sources? Check out Social Science Data & Statistics Sources.


Writing and Citing

  • APA Style - get the basics from the American Psychological Association (APA).
     
  • Barnard Library guides to citation management provides information about citation practices, style guides, and software programs you can use that help you keep track of your sources and create bibliographies.
     
  • Cite Source presents visual information about how to cite various sources in a visual way, and they offer guidance on citing tricky sources. Check out the source help for APA, Chicago, and MLA styles.​
     
  • The Craft of Research is an online book that can help guide you through the full research process.
     
  • Peer Review in 3 Minutes is a short video that explains the peer review process in academic journals.

  • Purdue Online Writing Lab (OWL) has lots of general and subject-specific writing tips and techniques, along with research advice and detailed citation and formatting standards for the APA, Chicago, and MLA styles.
     
  • Quick Guide to Data Citation (PDF file) is a handy resource from the International Association for Social Science Information Services Technology (IASSIST).

Last updated February 26, 2018

Subject Code: 
EDUC