Guide to Finding
Consult scholarly reference sources to get an overview of a topic, an introduction to a theory, definitions to discipline-specific terms, and more.
- A Dictionary of Education
- Encyclopedia of Bilingual Education
- Encyclopedia of Child Behavior and Development
- Encyclopedia of Diversity in Education
- Encyclopedia of Education Law
- Encyclopedia of Special Education
- Gender and Education: An Encyclopedia
- Oxford Reference Online
Online catalog of the Columbia University Libraries, including Barnard Library, but excluding Teachers College and the Law Library.
- Teachers College Library
Great collections of materials of education. Search the catalog, Educat - Teachers College materials are not reflected in CLIO. Teachers College is on West 120th Street between Broadway and Amsterdam Avenue.
- New York Public Library (NYPL) catalog
Search the circulating and non-circulating research collections at the NYPL.
Search libraries worldwide. If a title isn't available via Columbia University Libraries, you may request it via Borrow Direct or Interlibrary Loan.
- Education Full Text
Citations, abstracts and full-text of articles in education periodicals and other publications.
- Education Index Retrospective, 1929-1983
Index to articles in education journals from the years 1929 to 1983.
- Education Research Complete
Citations, abstracts and full text for education journals and books.
The Education Resources Information Center is an online library of education research and information sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences (IES) of the U.S. Department of Education, and contains citations, abstracts, and full-text for articles in education periodicals and other publications.
- Google Scholar
Only finds scholarly materials - articles, books and citations - but searches full text, and will often find too many irrelevant articles. Go to Settings and enable "Library Links" for Columbia University - this will make the Columbia e-Link show up in the results list so that you can easily go to the full text.
An interdisciplinary database with full-text articles and abstracts from scholarly journals, newspapers (including New York Times back to 1851) and dissertations.
- National Center for Education Statistics: NCES
The National Center for Education Statistics is the primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data related to education, and includes many resources, including the Digest of Education Statistics and State Education Data Profiles.
- APA Style
Get the basics from the American Psychological Association (APA).
- Barnard guides to citation management
Learn about citation styles, avoiding plagiarism, and different options for citation management software such as Zotero, EndNote, and Mendeley
- Purdue Online Writing Lab (OWL)
- General and subject specific writing tips and techniques, along with research advice and detailed citation and formatting standards for the APA, MLA, and Chicago styles.
Last updated January 29, 2016