Welcome! This page highlights tips and key resources for doing research in Reinventing Literary History: Legacy of the Mediterranean.
If you'd like to meet in person for additional help with your research, please use the link above to schedule a research consultation, or get in touch with your personal librarian directly. Barnard librarians are here for you!
Photograph of Virginia Woolf with hand on face wearing a fur stole (1927). Photographer Unknown. From Harvard Theater Collection, Houghton Library, Harvard University, via Wikimedia Commons. Public Domain.
- Think of a topic that you're curious about, and write down keywords that come to mind. You can use these to search. Be open to the possibility of new keywords, and try out different combinations!
- Explore backgrounds and contexts. Reference sources can help you with concepts and terms, and they can also lead you to other relevant sources: check out the Legacy Spring Reference Sources Guide for some examples.
- Search for books and articles on your topic. Carefully skim each source---including the synopsis, abstract, table of contents, and/or index--- to assess how relevant and useful it will be to you.
- Document the sources you find and want to use as soon as you can.
Finding Books and Other Materials at the Columbia Libraries
CLIO provides access to the vast resources of the Columbia University Libraries, including Barnard Library, but excluding Teachers College and the Law Library. Search the Catalog for book and media materials.
Finding Scholarly Articles
If you aren't sure where to start, try Find Articles, which searches multiple databases at the same time.
- Gender Studies Database brings together scholarly sources, including articles and book chapters, in the studies of women, gender, and sexuality.
- Historical Abstracts covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, and history of education.
- Humanities Full Text brings full text (starting 1995) plus abstracts and bibliographic indexes (starting 1984) of noted scholarly sources in the humanities, as well as lesser known specialized magazines.
- JSTOR provides access to core journals in many scholarly fields, including History, Literature, Sociology, and Women's Studies, from the earliest issues to within a few years of current publication.
- MLA Bibliography indexes critical materials on literature, languages, linguistics, and folklore. Proved access to citations from worldwide publications, but not the full text article. If an e-link does not work, consider ordering the article via ILL or contact your personal librarian.
- Proquest Direct is a multidisciplinary database of magazines, newspapers, scholarly journals and dissertations, including the full text of the New York Times from 1851 to the present.
Citing Your Sources
- Citation management software allows you to manage your citations and save a lot of time! Most tools allow you to grab citations directly from CLIO, databases, and Google Scholar. Tip: While these tools can quickly generate bibliographies for you, double-check to make sure they're formatted the right way.
- Cite Source from Trinity College Libraries shows you how to cite books, articles, tweets, podcasts, art works, blog posts, and more in th efollowing styles: ACS, APA, APSA, ASA, Chicago, and MLA.
- Purdue University Online Writing Lab offers formatting and style guides for APA and MLA.
- The Craft of Research is an online book with advice on all stages of the research process.
- Evaluating Web Resources guide from Columbia University