Modern American Drama and Performance

Research Guide

Personal Librarian:

TBD.  If you need assistance identifying additional resources, search terms or strategies, please schedule a research consultation.

Welcome! This page highlights key electronic resources for conducting effective research for coursework in Modern American Drama and Performance. If you need assistance identifying additional resources, search terms or strategies, please use the link above to schedule a research consultation with me.

Reference | Journal Articles and Reviews | Books and Moving Images | Production Photos | Citating Images

Reference Sources

Doollee a freely accessible, extensive database of modern playwrights and theatre plays written in or translated into English since the production of Look Back in Anger in 1956.

Gale Biography in Context provides full-text biographies of persons living and deceased from all over the world.

Oxford Encyclopedia of Theatre and Performance provides information about theater and performance from ancient Greece to the present.

Recommended Databases for Journal Articles and Reviews

Search Tips: Locate a review of a performacen and click/flip through the pages to place it within historical and cultural context.

International Bibliography of Theatre and Dance contains all of the content available in International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance as well as full text for 100 titles.

International Index to the Performing Arts is a multidisciplinary index to the performing arts. Includes full-text.

Humanities Full Text brings full text (starting 1995) plus abstracts and bibliographic indexes (starting 1984) of noted scholarly sources in the humanities, as well as lesser known specialized magazines.

JSTOR provides page images of back issues of the core scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences from the earliest issues to within a few years of current publication.

ProQuest Historical Newspapers offers full-text and full-image articles from major American newspapers, including the New York Times and Wall Street Journal.

Or search multiple databases simultaneously:

Find Articles

 

Search CLIO and Browse the Stacks

Books

CLIO - Online catalog of the Columbia University Libraries, including Barnard Library, but excluding Teachers College and the Law Library.

The NYPL Catalog searches the circulating and non-circulating research collections at the New York Public Library, including those at the Billy Rose Theatre Division and the Theatre on Film and Tape Archive.

Search Tip: When searching subject headings, use the spelling THEATER not THEATRE.

Moving Images
Media materials are available from the Media Collection on the 1st floor of Wollman Library and from Butler Media Center. Columbia Univeristy Library System also subscribes to databases, such as Theatre in Video, that stream films of theatrical productions. To locate physical and electronic materials, conduct an advanced search in CLIO and limit results to format: Visual Materials (videos, dvds, etc.) or use the keyword videorecording.

Once you've identified the clip you wish to use, you may contact Alexis Seeley in IMATS to digitize that clip for your presentation.

Production Photos

Search Tip: conduct a search in one of the journal databases above, and limit your results to articles with photographs, images, or illustrations.

Flickr
Online photo management and sharing, including select collections from libraries and museums. Search Tip: Conduct an Advanced Search to limit to Creative Commons licensed material.

Google advancedLife
Millions of photographs from the LIFE photo archive, stretching from the 1750s to today, most never before published. Once you've located an image, consult the issue to place it within context.

New York Public Library Digital Gallery
Provides access to over 700,000 images digitized from the The New York Public Library's vast collections.

Citing Images

MLA

Painting, Sculpture, or Photograph

[Artist's Name]. Title of Work. Date. Institution, Location of Institution.

Reproduction of a Painting, Sculpture, or Photograph (i.e. in a book, online)

[Artist's Name]. Title of Work. Date. Institution, Location of Institution. Title of Book. Author. Location of Publisher: Publisher. Page or reference number. Print.

[Artist's Name]. Title of Work. Date. Institution, Location of Institution. Editor, author, or compiler name (if available). Name of Site. Name of Institution associated with site, date of resource creation (if available). Medium. Date of access.

Moving Images

Title of Work. Name of Director. If relevant, performer's names. Film Studio or distributor, Year. Medium.

Subject Code: 
ENTH
Course Code: 
ENGLX3139001