Contemporary Media Theory


[Secret Sanrio Sugar Society] by Bianca, 1995

Professor Jonathan Beller

Guide to Finding the Best Research Resources

Welcome! On this page, you will find a selective guide to tools for research in Contemporary Media Theory at Barnard College / Columbia University.

If you need assistance identifying additional resources, search terms or strategies, please email me to schedule a research consultation.

Personal Librarian: Jenna Freedman

jfreedma@barnard.edu
208 B Lehman Hall
@barnlib


Articles | Data/Primary Sources | Barnard/Columbia/NYC | Bibliography Resources | Political Library

Articles

Media, WGSS, or Library Specific/Related General & Interdisciplinary

Find Articles (searches multiple databases at once)

 

Data/Primary Sources

The Barnard Archives is a great source for materials relating to women's history and American Studies. They have items related to more topics than you would think!

Barnard Zine Library materials can be used as primary and secondary sources, depending on the topic.

The Empirical Reasoning Center - provides help formulating empirical questions, finding appropriate data sets, and  guidance and training with analysis software.
 

Primary Source Databases Data Sources & Tools


 

Barnard/Columbia/NYC

Searching CLIO
CLIO (Columbia Libraries Information Online) is the on-line catalog for materials added to the Columbia University Libraries since 1981.  

  • Click Catalog to search only materials (print, AV, digital) held in the Columbia libraries (including Barnard the medical and law schools, but not TC)
  • Use the facets on the left to narrow your search results

Browse the HM (Sociology) & HQ (The Family, Marriage, Women) and P (Philology, Linguistics) sections in the stacks--Butler's and Lehman's
HM1176-1281  Social influence. Social pressure
HQ1190  Feminist theory.
P87-96  Communication. Mass media
 

Local Resources

Barnard & Columbia New York City


Other Libraries
Those with Columbia ID have access to the libraries of the Columbia Law School, the Jewish Theological Seminary, and Teachers’College, but their holdings are in their own catalogs, not in CLIO. CUID also provides access to the libraries of New York University. Anyone who lives, works, or goes to school in New York is entitled to a New York Public Library card.

Borrowing privileges with Columbia ID

  • EDUCAT for Teachers’ College Library
  • Pegasus for Columbia Law Library

Access with CUID

  • ALEPH for the Jewish Theological Seminary
  • BobCat for NYU libraries

Require separate ID

Catalogs: for a larger list of library catalogs in New York City and elsewhere, including the paid version of WorldCat, a catalog of catalogs that has holdings information from libraries all over the world and CRL, a catalog of rare and specialized materials, all available via Interlibrary Loan.

Bibliography Resources

Zotero allows you to

  • search for citations in library catalogs and databases from the software or export results into it from remote catalogs and databases
  • store the citations
  • search through the citations you have stored using keyword searches
  • cite them in papers and bibliographies using any citation format you choose

Cite Source  from Trinity College Library documentation on ACS, APA, APSA, ASA, Chicago, and MLA styles.

Library as Political Medium

Subject Code: 
ENGL
Course Code: 
ENGLX3252001