Global Literature: New World Utopians and Rebels

Portrait of Sor Juana Ines de la Cruz, 17th Century. Via Wikimedia Commons

Research Guide

Welcome! On this page, you will find a list of research resources for the First Year Seminar, Global Literature: New World Utopians and Rebels.

Please feel free to contact me for additional research support!

If you need assistance identifying additional resources, search terms or strategies, please schedule a research consultation.

Personal Librarian:
Vani Natarajan
208C Lehman

Instructor: Ronald Briggs

Finding Books and Media

CLIO includes the online catalog of Columbia University Libraries, Barnard Library, and Union theological Seminary. Law Library and Teachers College Library have separate catalogs.  CLIO includes records of CUL materials held offsite, which can be requested through the catalog.

CLIO search tips:

  • Use the truncation symbol * to search for variants of a word stem  (example: colonial* searches for colonial, colonialism, colonialist, etc)
  • Limit your search to Barnard College Library, if you wish.

Worldcat is a union catalog that brings together the collections of over 72,000 libraries around the world. Search here for items held in other libraries.

BorrowDirect allows you to borrow books directly from the libraries of Brown, Cornell, Dartmouth, the University of Pennsylvania, Princeton, and Yale, in addition to select libraries of Harvard and MIT. Items requested through BorrowDirect typically deliver in 3 to 4 business days, with a 6-week loan period + one 6-week renewal.

Interlibrary Loan lets you borrow books, music scores, and selected audiovisual items (i.e. maps or films) that are not currently available at Columbia University Libraries. You can use ILL to request PDF scans of journal articles, as well. ILL has a larger scope of participating institutions than Borrow Direct.


Scholarly Articles

These databases specialize in articles from scholarly journals, as well as articles featured in books.

America, History and Life with Full Text indexes journal articles covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistoric times to the present, while Historical Abstracts covers world history (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present. Both of these can be searched simultaneously on the EBSCOHost Platform.

Arts and Humanities Full Text includes articles, in full text, from over 500 journals across a range of disciplines: modern languages and literatures, history, cultural studies, philosophy, art, classics, geography, and anthropology, among others.

HLAS Online: Handbook of Latin American Studies features annotated citations for scholarly works on Latin America, dating back to 1935. Since it inception, HLAS has been edited by librarians from the Library of Congress Hispanic Division.

Proquest combines a variety of databases, indexing over a thousand journals and other periodicals, in one interface. You can search all databases at once, or a combination of individual ones.


Digital Archives: Documents, Images, and Ephemera

The collections listed below give access to digitally scanned primary source materials. In some cases, you can the contents of featured documents in full text.

American Memory presents a curated digital archive of images and full text documents relating to U.S. history and culture, from the collections of the Library of Congress.

Arte Publico Hispanic Historical Collection, Series 1 is a growing digital collection of content pertaining to U.S. Hispanic history, literature, and culture, from colonial times until 1960. Documents include books, pamphlets, newspapers, photographs, illustrations, and advertisements.

Historic Map Works includes over 1 million digitized historic maps in full color, representing the United States as well as regions around the world and dating back as far as 1482.

Women and Social Movements International collects published and manuscript sources documenting women's activism around the world, from the nineteenth century onward. Sources include letters, memoirs, conference proceedings, pamphlets, books, and journal articles, among others. Women and Social Movements in the Unites States focuses on records of U.S. based movements.


Historic Newspaper Collections

This list includes search tools for digitized, print, and microform newspapers. You may also wish to search for newspaper holdings using the CLIO catalog.

American Newspapers in the Columbia University Libraries presents a comprehensive list of all American newspapers held at Columbia University libraries, with detailed information on holdings and locations. The list comprises titles in print and microform format; sources date as far back as 1704.

Gale Newsvault allows you to cross-search or browse among several digitized historical newspaper collections. Examples: 17th and 18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers; 19th Century UK Periodicals, Series II: Empire; 19th Century U.S. Newspapers; and Times Literary Supplement Historical Archive 1902-2005.

Proquest Historical Newspapers brings together digitized collections of major United States newspapers from the 19th century to the present, among them 9 major African American newspapers. You can search the contents in full text. In addition, the database searches the contents of the Times of India, the Guardian (UK), and the Scotsman.

World Newspaper Archive offers a searchable digitized collection of 19th and 20th century historical newspapers from around the world, with specific collections of African, Asian, Latin American, and United States based newspapers. Created in partnership with the Center for Research Libraries.


Reference Sources

Consult these sources to familiarize yourself with concepts, terms, and historical overviews.

Cambridge Histories Online gives full text access to over 300 volumes of subject-specific scholarly histories, among them the Cambridge History of the Native Peoples of the Americas. Articles feature extensive bibliographies of sources cited, as well as recommended readings.

Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory and Criticism includes almost 300 entries and subentries on critics and theorists, critical schools and movements, and literary criticism and theory in specific regions of the world across history.

Oxford Bibliographies offers thoroughly researched annotated bibliographies of scholarly sources on a wide range of topics across disciplines. You may wish to try searches for theoretical frames, historical periods, or broad concepts.


Writing and Citing

OWL: Purdue University Online Writing Lab provides general and subject specific writing tips and techniques, along with research advice and detailed citation and formatting standards for the APA, MLA, and Chicago styles.

Research and Documentation Online serves as the online version of Diana Hacker's guide Research and Documentation in the Electronic Age. It provides detailed citation and formatting standards for the APA, MLA, Chicago, and CSE styles, along with tips for research in subjects within the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Other features include a glossary of research terms, a list of additional style manuals organized by subject, and tips for evaluating sources.

Zotero is a free, open source program that allows you to quickly save, organize, format, and share your bibliographic citations.

Library instruction feedback form



Subject Code: 
Course Code: