Drama, Theatre, and Art

Visual Research Guide

Personal Librarian:

TBD.  If you need assistance identifying additional resources, search terms or strategies, please schedule a research consultation.

Welcome! This page identifies key resources for locating visual resources within and outside of the Columbia University Library System. Please see the research guides in theatre, art history, and music for additional resources and search strategies. 

 

Images | Moving Images | Citing Images

Images

ARTstor covers many time periods and cultures, and documents the fields of architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, design, anthropology, ethnographic and women's studies, as well as many other forms of visual culture. Users can search, view, download and organize images.

Europeana is a single access point to millions of books, paintings, films, museum objects and archival records that have been digitised throughout Europe. It is an authoritative source of information coming from European cultural and scientific institutions.

International Index to the Performing Arts is a multidisciplinary index to the performing arts. Limit your search to Document Features: Illustrations or Photographs in order to locate images.

Metropolitan Museum of Art provides online access to a portion of the collections of the Metropolitan Museum of Art. Try the Google Art Project to browse the space of the museum itself.

MOMA, Exhibitions & the Collection provides online access to a portion of the collections of the Museum of Modern Art. 

Library of Congress, Prints and Photographs Online Catalog includes photographs, fine and popular prints and drawings, posters, and architectural and engineering drawings. While international in scope, the collections are particularly rich in materials produced in, or documenting the history of, the United States and the lives, interests and achievements of the American people.

ProQuest Historical Newspapers provides access to full-text and full-image articles from major American newspapers, including the Chicago Tribune, Christian Science Monitor, and New York Times.

Search CLIO and Browse the Stacks

CLIO (Columbia Libraries Information Online) is the online catalog of the Columbia University Libraries, including Barnard Library, but excluding Teachers College and the Law Library. 

CLIO Search Tips:

  • Use catalog records to identify useful subject headings such as Illustrated books or Pictures
  • Substitute different century numbers, country names, or art movement as needed
  • Remember you can limit search results to items physically held at Barnard
  • Use keyword searches to locate items, and then go to the stacks and browse those items as well as the ones nearby

Browse the stacks using the call number ranges:
GT Manners and customs (including Costume, Dress, and Fashion)
N   Fine Arts
NA Architecture
NB Sculpture
NC Drawing, design, and illustration
ND Painting
NE Print Media
NK Decorative Arts
NX Arts in general
TR Photography
TT Handicrafts, arts and crafts

Moving Images

Moving images are available from the media collection on the 1st floor of the Barnard Library, as well as through Butler Media Center. These titles -- as well as streaming videos available through databases like Theatre in Video -- are catalogued in CLIO. Once you've identified a clip you wish to use, please contact IMATS to digitize that clip for your in-class presentation.

CLIO Search Tips:

  • If you know the name of the item, enter the full title or the first word(s) in the title. If you are unsure about the title, try a keyword search.
  • Limit the results to Format: Video

Citing Images

MLA

Painting, Sculpture, or Photograph

Rodin, Auguste. Orpheus and Eurydice. 1893. Metropolitan Museum of Art, New York.
[Artist's Name]. Title of Work. Date. Institution, Location of Institution.

Reproduction of a Painting, Sculpture, or Photograph (i.e. in a book, online)

Degas, Edward. A Woman Ironing. 1873. Metropolitan Museum of Art, New York. Origins of Impressionism. By Henri Loyrette. New York : Metropolitan Museum of Art. 322. Print
[Artist's Name]. Title of Work. Date. Institution, Location of Institution. Title of Book. Author. Location of Publisher: Publisher. Page or reference number. Print.

Degas, Edward. A Woman Ironing. 1873. Metropolitan Museum of Art, New York. The Metropolitan Museum of Art. The Metropolitan Museum of Art. Web. 11 September 2012.
[Artist's Name]. Title of Work. Date. Institution, Location of Institution. Editor, author, or compiler name (if available). Name of Site. Name of Institution associated with site, date of resource creation (if available). Medium. Date of access.

Moving Images

Orphée. Dir. Jean Cocteau. Perf. Jean Marais, Maria Casarès, Marie Déa, and François Périer. Criterion, 2000. DVD.
Title of Work. Name of Director. If relevant, performer's names. Film Studio or distributor, Year. Medium.

Subject Code: 
FYSB
Course Code: 
FYSBX1709001