Transnational Feminism

International Women's Day in Egypt, 2011. Image via Wikimedia Commons

Research Guide

Welcome! This page highlights key resources for conducting effective research for Premilla Nadasen's seminar Transnational Feminism

If you need assistance identifying additional resources, search terms or strategies, please schedule a research consultation.

Personal Librarian

Shannon O'Neill
History Librarian and Archivist
212-854-4079
19 Lehman
soneill@barnard.edu

Finding Print and Media Materials

CLIO provides access to the vast resources of the Columbia University Libraries, including Barnard Library, but excluding Teachers College and the Law Library. Search the Catalog for book and media materials. To search within CLIO, select "Catalog" from the left-hand menu.

The NYPL catalog searches the circulating and non-circulating research collections at the New York Public Library. The nearest NYPL branch is located at Boradway and West 113th Street.

Worldcat searches libraries worldwide. If a title isn't available via Columbia University Libraries, you may request it via BorrowDirect or Interlibrary Loan. BorrowDirect allows you to borrow books directly from the libraries of Brown, Cornell, Dartmouth, the University of Pennsylvania, Princeton, and Yale, in addition to select libraries of Harvard and MIT. Items requested via BorrowDirect typically delivery in 3 to 4 business days, with a 6-week loan period, and one 6-week renewal.

*Pro-tip! When searching for primary resources in CLIO, you can limit the publication date to your era of study on the left hand side of the menu, select "Archive" from the left-hand menu, or - when you're within the "Catalog" function of CLIO try adding terms like:

  • correspondence
  • diaries
  • interviews
  • sources
  • archives
  • narratives
  • memoirs

Recommended Databases

EbscoHost Gender Studies Database combines databases in women's studies, men's studies, and child development & adolescent studies, along with selected material on sexuality studies. Sources covered include journal articles, books, conference papers, reports, dissertations, web sites, and more.

GenderWatch offers access to a full-text collection of international journals, magazines, newsletters, regional publications, special reports and conference proceedings devoted to women's and gender issues.

Women and Social Movements International collects published and manuscript sources documenting women's activism around the world, from the nineteenth century onward. Sources include letters, memoirs, conference proceedings, pamphlets, books, and journal articles, among others. Women and Social Movements in the United States focuses on the records of U.S. based movements.

Contemporary Women's Issues full-text resource for information about women in over 190 countries. Particularly useful for material relating to current topics in the social sciences, such as political science, psychology, and reproductive rights, as well as contemporary cultural studies. Includes book reviews, research reports, and fact sheets, in addition to journals and magazines.

PAIS International indexes articles, books, conference proceedings, government documents, book chapters, and statistical directories in the area of public affairs.

Black Studies Center describes itself as a “fully cross-searchable gateway to Black Studies.” The database combines Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience, The HistoryMakers Videos and full transcripts for interviews with 100 contemporary African Americans, International Index to Black Periodicals (coverage up to 2006), historical black newspapers, Black Abolitionist Papers, and the Black Literature Index.

ProQuest Newspapers is a database of articles from US national newspapers, international English-language newspapers, and/or selected regional/state newspapers.

HathiTrust is a searchable and browseable collection of millions of digitized books, journals, and other sources from libraries around the world. Many of these materials are in the public domain. 

Gender Equality Data and Statistics from the World Bank is a portal that provides data about gender from a variety of sources, including gender datasets from the UN compiled by its Regional Commissions and Sectoral SAgencies, as well as World Bank conducted or funded surveys and reports.

ProQuest Statistical Insight (formerly LexisNexis Statistical) allows you to search for international statistical publications from a variety of sources, including international, federal, and research organizations. 

UNData provides access to a variety of statistics for UN countries, with a focus on those reflecting the Millennium Development Goals.

United Nations Statistics Division compiles statistics from many international sources and produces global updates, including the Statistical Yearbook, World Statistics Pocketbook and yearbooks in specialized fields.

Open Access Journals

Atlantis: Critical Studies in Gender, Culture & Social Justice is an open access publication of Mount Saint Vincent University in Canada that focuses on the dissemination of knowledge on the numerous and varied inter-disciplinary topics related to Women's Studies.

S&F Online is tri-annual, multimedia, open-access journal produced by the Barnard Center for Research on Women. It focuses on feminist theories and women's movements.
 

Additional Resources for Finding Primary Resources and Archival Collections

ArchiveGrid connects you with over 1.7 million descriptions of archival collections from around the world. In the beta mode, you can browse collections by topic, or even search for archival collections near you.

Barnard Center for Research on Women maintains an amazing archival collection of pamphlets, flyers, newsletters, reports, and various other publications from women's movements internationally.

Barnard Zine Library is a collection of over 3,500 self-published

Digital collections such as the Digital Public Library of America; the Library of Congress American Memory Project; Gallica (French primary source materials curated by the Bibliothèque Nationale de France); and EuroDocs (a list of European open access, historical sources maintained by Bringham Young University).

Writing and Citation

The Craft of Research (electronic book) offers advice on all stages of the research and writing process. 

OWL: Purdue University Online Writing Lab provides general and subject specific writing tips and techniques, along with research advice and detailed citation and formatting standards for the APA, MLA, and Chicago styles.

Zotero is a free cloud-based tool that allows users to quickly and easily collect, organize, format, and share bibliographic citations.

Last updated September 2016