Book of Hours, Cat beating cymbal, from a marginal cycle of images of the funeral of Renard the Fox, Walters Manuscript W.102, fol. 78v detail
Guide to Finding Resources
If you need assistance identifying additional resources, search terms or strategies, schedule a research consultation.
firstname.lastname@example.org | 212.851.9692| Office: 108 LeFrak Center, Barnard Hall
Sources for Articles
- MLA Bibliography: Indexes critical materials on literature, languages, linguistics, and folklore. Proved access to citations from worldwide publications, including periodicals, books, essay collections, working papers, proceedings, dissertations and bibliographies.
- Feminae: Medieval Women and Gender Index: Indexes journal articles, book reviews, and essays about women, sexuality and gender in Europe, North Africa and the Middle East, from 450 C.E. to 1500 C.E., with citations for Russia extended to 1613.
- Iter--Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance: Contains electronic resources for researchers in the study and teaching of the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700). Enables users to access citations in journal, book, and reviews databases; provides online access to Paul Oskar Krisetller's Iter Italicum (a finding list of Renaissance humanistic manuscripts)
- Project Muse: Full-text articles from more than 200 scholarly journals in history and the humanities, the social sciences, and the sciences. Disciplines covered include literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others.
- International Medieval Bibliography Online: Indexes articles, notes, and similar literature on medieval subjects in journals, Festschriften, conference proceedings, and collected essays. Covers all aspects of medieval studies within the date range of 400 to 1500 for the entire continent of Europe, the Middle East and North Africa for the period before the Muslim conquest and parts of those areas subsequently controlled by Christian powers.
- Medieval and Early Modern Sources Online (MEMSO): A collection of digitized editions of texts concerning economic, political, legal, and ecclesiastical history, such as treasury accounts, chronicles, papal registers, etc. Most are from England, Ireland, and Scotland, although some are from Milan and the New World.
- Academic Search Complete : A comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary, full-text database featuring PDF content going back as far as 1887.
- Electronic Resources for Medievalists: A resource guide from the Ancient and Medieval Studies department at Columbia University.
- A Basic Bibliography in Medieval History: Part of the resource list compiled by Columbia University, this bibliography is a great way to find introductory reference materials and primary sources in the area of Medieval Studies.
CLIO - The online catalog of the Columbia University Libraries, including Barnard Library, but excluding Teachers College and the Law Library.
Medieval Civilization call number range: CB 351-355
Medieval history call number range: D101-203
For primary sources use keywords:
Other Online Resources
-Digital Scriptorium The product of fruitful cross institutional partnerships this large medieval and Renaissance manuscript image database is a wonderful scholarly resource. The Digital Scriptorium website currently has over 5,000 manuscripts and 24,300 images online.
-Digital Medieval Manuscripts at Houghton Library One of Harvard's libraries, the Houghton Library has a renowned collection of manuscripts from the Middle Ages.
-Bodleian Library Digital Collections The Bodleian is one of the world's most famous libraries. This website has links to over 1000 images of manuscripts from the Bodleian collection.
-CORSAIR (The Online Research Resource of the Pierpont Morgan Library) The Morgan Library is known around the world for its collection in medieval and Renaissance manuscripts. Thousands of pages have been digitized and are now availiable through the CORSAIR website.