Guide to Finding
Online encyclopedia of science & technology
- CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics online
- Digital Encyclopedia of Applied Physics
Online, full-text handbooks with coverage including astronomy and astrophysics, atomic and molecular physics, biophysics, chemical physics, geophysics, lasers, optics and optoelectronics, mathematical and computational physics, nuclear and high energy physics, plasma physics, and quantum physics.
Finding Scientific Literature, including Articles, Conference Papers, and Preprints
Provides open access to preprints and eprints in physics, mathematics, computer science, quantitative biology, quantitative finance and statistics.
- Astrophysics Data System (ADS)
Data for physics and astrophysics, as well as articles, papers, and preprints, operated by the Smithsonian Astrophysical Observatory.
- Google Scholar
Only finds scholarly materials - articles, books and citations - but searches full text, and will often find too many irrelevant articles. Go to Settings and enable "Library Links" for Columbia University - this will make the Columbia e-Link show up in the results list so that you can easily go to the full text.
- IEEE Xplore
From the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers, contains the full text of all IEEE, IEE, and IET journal articles, conference papers, and standards.
- INSPEC / Compendex / Engineering Village
Searches scholarly journal articles and conference proceedings in physics, astronomy, electrical & electronics engineering, computer sciences.
- JoVE, the Journal of Visualized Experiments
The world's first peer reviewed scientific video journal.
A full-text scientific database with journal articles and book chapters from thousands of journals and books.
Excellent source for citation searching or finding original articles in physics.
- SpringerMaterials: the Landolt-Börnstein Database
Fully evaluated data collection in all areas of physical sciences and engineering. It encompasses all volumes of Landolt-Börnstein New Series, the largest and most respected compilation of data in physics and chemistry founded in 1883, along with a number of unique and specialized databases.
- Web of Science
Scholarly articles in all disciplines, including astronomy/astrophysics. This database can also be used to identify articles that cite an author or article that you specify
Use the Catalog search to find books, journals (but not articles in journals), and other materials in the Barnard and Columbia libraries, including the Health Sciences Library.
Searches libraries worldwide
Citing Your Sources
- AIP Style Manual
From the American Institute of Physics
- Citation Management
Barnard Library Guides to citation styles, citation management software and avoiding plagiarism
- CSE Style: Biology and Other Sciences
From Research and Documentation Online
- The Manual of Scientific Style
A guide for authors, editors, and researchers