This page highlights key resources for conducting effective research for Law and Violence.
If you need assistance identifying additional resources, search terms or strategies, please schedule a research consultation.
If you need assistance organizing, analyzing, or visualizing data sets, please visit the Empirical Research Center (ERC).
For an expanded list of recommended resources for political science, including reference tools, article databases, books, data sets, and more, please see the politics & government research guide.
Consult scholarly reference sources to get an overview of a topic, an introduction to a theory, definitions to discipline-specific terms, and more.
- Concise Oxford Dictionary of Politics
- Encyclopedia of Law & Society: American and Global Perspectives
- Encyclopedia of Political Science
- International Encyclopedia of Political Science
- International Encyclopedia of the Social & Behavioral Sciences
- Merriam-Webster's Dictionary of Law
- The New Oxford Companion to Law
- Oxford Bibliographies
- Oxford Dictionary of Law
CLIO is the online catalog of the Columbia University Libraries, including Barnard Library, but excluding Teachers College and some information from the Law Library. Search the Catalog for book and media materials.
If you know exactly what book (journal, video, etc.) you are looking for, you can search by Title, Author, ISBN, etc.
To find items about a specific topic, first try a keyword search in All Fields.
Use "quotation marks" to search for an exact phrase: "mass incarceration".
Use * for truncation (to find variant spellings and endings of a word): wom*n will find woman, women, womyn; feminis* will find feminism, feminist, feminists, etc.
For more complex search, use AND and OR:
AND finds records which have all the search terms you entered.
OR finds records which have one of the search terms you entered, as well as records which have more than one of the terms. OR finds MORE.
For more help with using AND and OR, check our guide to advanced/Boolean keyword searching.
Use parentheses to group terms: homeless* AND (law OR laws OR legal)
Subject headings: If you find a book that's relevant, look at its subject headings in CLIO and click through to find more related works (e.g., "Homeless persons").
Find books and other materials in other libraries:
Pegasus: This is the catalog of the Columbia Law Library - try searching here if your research involves legal texts.
WorldCat: Search for items in libraries worldwide.
Request items from other libraries through Borrow Direct or interlibrary loan (ILL).
For off-campus access to library online resources, remember to follow the links from CLIO or this research guide. You can also use the proxy bookmarklet.
Database search tips:
- The general search tips for CLIO also apply to the article databases.
- If you find an article or a book that is relevant, the bibliography/works cited page can be a useful road map to other relevant literature that was previously published.
- If you find an article or a book that is relevant, you can use Google Scholar and some other databases to find out whether it was cited by other scholars after it was published. Search for the title of an article/monograph and search and click on "Cited by" to generate a list of publications that have referenced that source.
- In most databases, you can narrow your results to scholarly publications only. Look for "limit to ... scholarly publications/peer-reviewed/refereed publications only" or similar language. This will help you find articles from journals that have gone through a rigorous peer review process.
Recommended Scholarly Databases:
- Annual Reviews - in particular Annual Review of Law and Social Science and Annual Review of Political Science - are great for getting comprehensive summaries of research on specific topics in various field. Look at the bibliographies to lead you to the original works cited.
- CIAO (Columbia International Affairs Online) provides working papers, research reports, policy briefs and more from university research institutes, non-governmental organizations (NGOs), and foundations. This is a good place to look for analysis of recent events and current situations.
- Contemporary Women's Issues provides full text access to information about women in over 190 countries, including journal and magazine articles, research reports, and fact sheets.
- Gender Studies Database features research in women's studies, men's studies, gender studies, and sexuality studies. Source documents include professional journals, conference papers, books, book chapters, government reports, discussion and working papers, and theses & dissertations.
- Google Scholar is very useful for seeing if a book, article, etc. has been cited by other scholars. Search on the title, and then follow the "Cited >by ..." link.
- HeinOnline provides full text online access to 2,300 scholarly and legal journals.
- Index to Legal Periodicals and Books provides access to scholarly articles, symposia, jurisdictional surveys, court decisions, books, book reviews and more. It includes legal journals, law reviews, yearbooks, institutes, statutes, bar association publications and university publications from the U.S., Canada, Great Britain, Ireland, Australia and New Zealand.
- International Political Science Abstracts (IPSA) provides citations and abstracts for political science journal articles and yearbooks, including literature in the field of international affairs.
- JSTOR provides the full text of back issues from core scholarly journals in political science and other fields in the humanities and social sciences from the earliest issues to within a few years of current publication. Please note that, generally, this database does not include issues published in the last few years. You can search just the law or political science journals in JSTOR by using the Advanced Search "NARROW BY DISCIPLINE AND/OR JOURNAL" feature.
- PAIS Index features public affairs research, including references to journal articles, books, government documents, statistical sources, research reports, conference proceedings, and publications of international agencies.
- Race Relations Abstracts covers scholarly and popular articles related to race and ethnic studies, immigration, civil rights, and more.
- Social Sciences Citation Index is a multidisciplinary database with searchable author abstracts, covering the journal literature of the social sciences. It links publications based on citations allowing you to search the "web" of communication surrounding a topic. You also can search Science Citation Index and Arts & Humanities Index simultaneously with the Social Science Citation Index - click on "MORE SETTINGS" to select the databases you want to search.
- Worldwide Political Science Abstracts contains abstracts of books, scholarly journal articles, and major news magazine articles covering North American and international politics.
- Violence & Abuse Abstracts includes bibliographic records related to violence and abuse, including family violence, sexual assault, emotional abuse, and other related areas.
- Archives of Human Sexuality and Identity: LGBTQ History and Culture since 1940 illuminates the experiences not just of the LGBTQ community as a whole, but of individuals of different races, ethnicities, ages, religions, political orientations, and geographical locations that constitute this community. Historical records of political and social organizations founded by LGBTQ individuals are featured, as well as publications by and for lesbians and gays, and extensive coverage of governmental responses to the AIDS crisis. The archive also contains personal correspondence and interviews with numerous LGBTQ individuals, among others. The archive includes gay and lesbian newspapers from more than 35 countries, reports, policy statements, and other documents related to gay rights and health, including the worldwide impact of AIDS, materials tracing LGBTQ activism in Britain from 1950 through 1980, and more. In addition, the archive encompasses extensive material related to feminism, women's rights, and women's concerns. Documents span from 1940 to 2014, with the bulk from 1950 to 1990.
- Contemporary Women's Issues provides full text access to primary sources like community magazines in addition to more scholarly content.
- GenderWatch provides full text access to primary sources like community magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, booklets and pamphlets, conference proceedings, and government, NGO and special reports, in addition to more scholarly content.
- HeinOnline provides a wide variety of official U.S. and foreign government publications, including constitutions, treaties, and international agreements. Special collections include Slavery in America and the World: History, Culture & Law; Women and the Law.
- LGBT Thought and Culture is an online resource hosting books, periodicals, and archival materials documenting LGBT political, social and cultural movements throughout the twentieth century and into the present day. The collection includes documents ranging from letters, speeches, interviews, and ephemera covering the political evolution of gay rights as well as memoirs, biographies, poetry, letters and works of fiction that illuminate the lives of lesbians, gays, transgendered, and bisexual individuals and the community.
- ProQuest Congressional tracks information and publications produced by the United States Congress from 1789 to the present, including legislative histories and testimony from congressional hearings.
- Slavery and the Law (ProQuest History Vault) contains digitized archival records (including letters, financial records, diaries, legal records, photographs, and more).
- Barnard guides to citation management provides information about citation practices, style guides, and software programs you can use that help you keep track of your sources and create bibliographies.
- Cite Source presents information about how to cite various sources in a visual way, and they offer guidance on citing tricky source like government agency reports, House and Senate committee debates and hearings, and other. Check out the source help for APA, APSA, Chicago, and MLA styles.
The Craft of Research is an online book that can help guide you through the full research process.
- Purdue Online Writing Lab (OWL) has lots of general and subject-specific writing tips and techniques, along with research advice and detailed citation and formatting standards for the APA, Chicago, and MLA styles.
Last updated April 7, 2016