Guide to Finding
- The Corsini Encyclopedia of Psychology
- Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders: DSM-5
- Encyclopedia of Adolescence
- Encyclopedia of Human Development
- Encyclopedia of Multicultural Psychology
- Encyclopedia of Psychology
- Encyclopedia of Social Psychology
- Encyclopedia of Statistics in Behavioral Science
- International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences
- Learning and Memory: a Comprehensive Reference
- Oxford Reference Online
Finding Articles, Conference Papers, Statistics, etc.
- Google Scholar
Only finds scholarly materials - articles, books and citations - but searches full text, and will often find too many irrelevant articles. Go to Settings and enable "Library Links" for Columbia University - this will make the Columbia e-Link show up in the results list so that you can easily go to the full text.
- Health and Psychosocial Instruments
Provides access to information on psychological measures, e.g., questionnaires, index measures, coding schemes/manuals, rating scales, projective techniques and tests.
- Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective: 1907-1984
Offers a broad range of subject coverage in humanities and social science journals dating back to 1907.
- International Bibliography of the Social Sciences
Core social sciences and related materials from over 100 countries in more than 90 languages.
- Medline (EBSCO) | Medline (Ovid) | Medline (Web of Science)
Database from the National Library of Medicine. Areas covered include microbiology, delivery of health care, nutrition, pharmacology, environmental health, diseases, chemicals and drugs, psychiatry and psychology, biological sciences, social sciences and education, industry, humanities, information science and communications, and health care.
- Mental Measurements Yearbook
A comprehensive guide to testing instruments in such areas as psychology, education and business.
- PEP Web
Psychoanalytic Electronic Publishing. A psycholanalytic library at your fingertips.
An interdisciplinary database with full-text articles and abstracts from scholarly journals, newspapers (NY Times back to 1851) and dissertations.
Provides citations and abstracts for journal articles and books in the professional and academic literature in psychology and related disciplines, including medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, and linguistics. An Ovid database in which you enter search terms one at a time and combine them later using Boolean commands (AND, OR, NOT) - see Boolean Searching Guide.
Provides access to psychological tests, measures, scales and other assessments.
- Social Sciences Full Text
Covers concepts, trends, opinions, theories, and methods from both applied and theoretical aspects of the social sciences.
- Sociological Abstracts
Indexes the international literature in sociology, and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.
- Web of Science
Scholarly articles in all disciplines, including psychology. This database can also be used to identify articles that cite an author or article that you specify
Online catalog of the Columbia University Libraries, including Barnard Library, but excluding Teachers College Library. Boolean Searching help page.
- NYS Psychiatric Institute Library
One of the largest psychiatric libraries in the nation.
Searches libraries worldwide
Citing Your Sources
- American Psychological Association: APA Style
- American Psychological Association: tutorial on The Basics of APA Style
- Citation Management
Barnard Library Guides to citation styles, citation management software and avoiding plagiarism.
- DOI Lookup
Enter the citation and find the DOI for the article.
- Purdue (OWL) Online Writing Lab: APA Style
Don't let data get the best of you!
Check out the Empirical Reasoning Center (ERC) for all of your data-related needs!