Guide to Finding
104 LeFrak, Barnard Hall
- The Blackwell Companion to Catholicism
- Encyclopedia Judaica
- Encyclopedia of Global Religion
- Encyclopaedia of Islam
- Encyclopedia of Psychology and Religion
- Encyclopedia of Religion in America
- The Macmillan Dictionary of the Bible
Finding Articles, Conference Papers, Statistics, etc.
- American Religion Data Archive (ARDA)
Provides data on religious groups and affiliations in the United States.
- L'année philologique: Indexes periodical articles as well as articles in collections and conference papers in classics and classical studies; useful for researching early Christianity.
- Arts & Humanities Citation Index
Multidisciplinary database covering the journal literature of the arts and humanities.
- ATLA Religion Database
Abstracts for articles in periodicals and collections of essays in religion and theology; book reviews are also included.
- Catholic Periodical and Literature Index
Indexes articles published in Roman Catholic periodicals, Papal documents, church promulgations, and books about the Catholic faith that are authored by Catholics or produced by Catholic publishers.
- The Coptic Gnostic Library
A complete edition of the Nag Hammadi codices
- Feminae: Medieval Women and Gender Index
Indexes journal articles, book reviews, and essays about women, sexuality and gender in Europe, North Africa and the Middle East, from 450 C.E. to 1500 C.E.
- Google Scholar
Only finds scholarly materials - articles, books and citations - but searches full text, and will often find too many irrelevant articles. Go to Settings and enable "Library Links" for Columbia University - this will make the Columbia e-Link show up in the results list so that you can easily go to the full text.
- Humanities Full Text
Covers scholarly sources in the humanities as well as specialized magazines, from 1995 to the present. Contents include feature articles, interviews, obituaries, bibliographies, book reviews, and original works of fiction, drama and poetry.
- Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective: 1907-1984
Offers a broad range of subject coverage in humanities and social science journals dating back to 1907.
- Historical Abstracts
Provides citations to journal articles on all aspects of world history from 1450 to the present. Journals included date back to 1955. Selected books are also available in full text.
- Index Islamicus
Index of journals, conference proceedings, books, multi-author works, book reviews, websites, and other materials in European languages as well as Turkish, Malay, and Indonesian, on all aspects of Islamic history, culture, law, art, and philosophy.
- Index Religiosus
International bibliography of theology, church history and religious studies.
- Index to Jewish Periodicals
Indexes English-language articles and book reviews in periodicals devoted to Jewish affairs.
Includes page images of key scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences, including many articles from Middle East Studies journals. Coverage spans the late 19th century to the present.
- New Testament Abstracts
Abstracts for articles in journals and books relating to the Gospels and related literature.
- Old Testament Abstracts
Abstracts for articles in journals and books relating to the Hebrew Bible.
- Oxford Biblical Studies Online
In addition to the Bible texts, Oxford Biblical Studies Online offers access to entries from the Encyclopedia of the Dead Sea Scrolls, Oxford Companion to the Bible, and other Oxford references.
An interdisciplinary database with full-text articles and abstracts from scholarly journals, newspapers (NY Times back to 1851) and dissertations.
- Religious and Theological Abstracts
Abstracts for articles, many of them interdisciplinary, in scholarly journals of religion and theology.
- Social Sciences Full Text
Provides access to a wide assortment of the most important English-language journals in the social sciences.
- Sociological Abstracts
Abstracts for articles in sociology journals that concern the sociology of religion, religion and society, etc.
Online catalog of the Columbia University Libraries, including the Burke Library at Union Theological Seminary and Barnard Library, but excluding Teachers College and the Law Library.
Religion call number range: BL
For primary sources use the keywords
The online catalog of the Jewish Theological Seminary Library.
Searches libraries worldwide