© Lawrie Cate - Wikimedia
Welcome! This page highlights key resources that may be helpful for conducting research on the Hebrew Bible
If you need assistance identifying additional resources, search terms or strategies, please schedule a research consultation.
- Jewish Studies Research Guide from Columbia University Librarian for Jewish Studies, Michelle Chesner
- Religious Studies Research Guide from the Burke Library at Union Theological Seminary
Editions and Translations of the Hebrew Bible
- Biblia Hebraica Stuttgartensia (BHS)
Scholarly edition of the Codex Leningradensis, published as a complete work in 1977.
- The Complete Tanach with Rashi's Commentary
- The Jewish Study Bible
A modern translation by a committee of highly-respected biblical scholars and rabbis from the Orthodox, Conservative, and Reform Judaism movements.
- Mechon Mamre
The Mamre Institute makes available and searchable online a variety of classic Jewish texts in Hebrew, Aramaic, and in translation. Among these texts are the Hebrew Bible, Maimonides' Mishne torah, the Mishnah and the Talmud.
- Online Text Library
Compiled by Alex Janssen, Professor of Hebrew and Judaic Studies at NYU.
- The Responsa Project
Includes the Bible and its principal commentaries, the Talmud Bavli and Talmud Yerushalmi with commentaries, Midrash, Zohar, Halachic Law (Rambam, Shulchan Aruch with commentaries), and other key Jewish texts in Hebrew. Users may search the database with an English, French or Hebrew interface.
- Sefaria: a living library of Jewish texts
A large open source archive of public domain Hebrew texts and translations uploaded by volunteers (non-scholarly, and should not be assumed to be authoritative).
- The Tanach
At the Internet Sacred Text Archive, derived from the Westminster Leningrad Codex (WLC) of the Westminster Hebrew Institute.
- Tools for Studying the Hebrew Bible
Includes links to editions of the Hebrew Bible, lexica, grammars, and concordances.
- The Cambridge Companion to the Hebrew Bible/Old Testament
Essays on various aspects of current scholarship, including the historical and religious contexts for the contents of the biblical canon, and critical approaches and methods, as well as newer topics such as the Hebrew Bible in Islam, Western art and literature, and contemporary politics.
- Cambridge History of Judaism
This four-volume work includes essays describing four periods in ancient Judaism: 1) The Persian Period 2) The Hellenistic Age 3) The Early Roman Period 4) The Late Roman-Rabbinic Period
- Encyclopaedia Judaica
Presents the contents of the print Encyclodaedia Judaica (call number S102.8 .E496) in e-book format. Entries are displayed in alphabetical order, and they cover diverse aspects of Jewish religious, social, and cultural history.
- EBR: Encyclopedia of the Bible and its Reception
Offers a comprehensive and in-depth rendering of the current state of knowledge on the origins and development of the Bible according to its different canonic forms in Judaism and Christianity, and documents the history of the Bible's reception in Judaism and Christianity as evident in exegetical literature, theological and philosophical writings of various genres, literature, liturgy, music, the visual arts, dance, and film.
- Arts & Humanities Citation Index
Multidisciplinary database covering the journal literature of the arts and humanities.
- ATLA Religion Database
Abstracts for articles in periodicals and collections of essays in religion and theology; book reviews are also included.
- Google Scholar
Only finds scholarly materials - articles, books and citations - but searches full text, and will often find too many irrelevant articles. Go to Settings and enable "Library Links" for Columbia University - this will make the Columbia e-Link show up in the results list so that you can easily go to the full text.
- Index to Jewish Periodicals
Provides citations to English-language articles and book reviews in journals devoted to Jewish Studies and Jewish affairs, with coverage back to 1988.
- Maftea' le-ma'amarim be-'Ivrit - The Index to Hebrew Periodicals
Database in Hebrew with citations to articles from periodicals and monographs dealing with Israel.
- Old Testament Abstracts
Presents citations and abstracts for journal articles and books related to the Hebrew Bible. All abstracts are in English, regardless of the language of the original work.
An interdisciplinary database with full-text articles and abstracts from scholarly journals, newspapers and dissertations.
- RAMBI: The Index of Articles on Jewish Studies (Reshimat ma'amarim be-mada'e ha-Yahadut)
From the Jewish National and University Library, provides citations to scholarly articles in Jewish Studies and the study of Israel.
Online catalog of the Columbia University Libraries, including the Burke Library at Union Theological Seminary and Barnard Library, but excluding Teachers College and the Law Library.
Useful call numbers:
- B - Philosophy
- B154 - B158 - Ancient Jewish Philosophy
- BM - Judaism
- BS - Bible / Biblical Studies
- BS1-1830: The Bible (Old Testament)
- DS101 - DS151 - History of Israel and the Jewish People
- PJ4501 - PJ4937 - Hebrew Language
- PJ5001 - PJ5060 - Hebrew Literature
A collection of e-books in Hebrew from Israeli publishers.
- Otzar HaHochma
A large collection of e-books on all aspects of Judaism
The online catalog of the Jewish Theological Seminary Library.
Searches libraries worldwide.