This page highlights key resources for conducting effective research for Immigration and Inequality.
If you need assistance identifying additional resources, search terms or strategies, please schedule a research consultation.
Writing & Citing
Student Publishing Opportunities
Consult scholarly reference sources and annual reviews to get an overview of a topic, an introduction to a theory, definitions to discipline-specific terms, and more.
- American Immigration: An Encyclopedia of Political, Social, and Cultural Change
- Encyclopedia of Diasporas: Immigrant and Refugee Cultures Around the World
- Encyclopedia of Social Theory
- Encyclopedia of Statistical Sciences
- International Encyclopedia of the Social & Behavioral Sciences
- SAGE Research Methods
- World of Sociology
CLIO is the online catalog of the Columbia University Libraries, including Barnard Library, but excluding Teachers College and some information from the Law Library. Search the Catalog for book and media materials.
If you know exactly what book (journal, video, etc.) you are looking for, you can search by Title, Author, ISBN, etc.
To find items about a specific topic, first try a keyword search in All Fields.
Use "quotation marks" to search for an exact phrase: "social capital".
Use * for truncation (to find variant spellings and endings of a word): wom*n will find woman, women, womyn; immigra* will find immigration, immigrant, immigrants, etc.
For more complex search, use AND and OR:
AND finds records which have all the search terms you entered.
OR finds records which have one of the search terms you entered, as well as records which have more than one of the terms. OR finds MORE.
For more help with using AND and OR, check our guide to advanced/Boolean keyword searching.
Use parentheses to group terms: immigra* AND (labor OR work)
Subject headings: If you find a relevant book, look at its subject headings in CLIO and click through to find more related works.
Find books and other materials in other libraries:
WorldCat lets you search for items in libraries worldwide.
Request items from other libraries through Borrow Direct or interlibrary loan (ILL).
For off-campus access to library online resources, remember to follow the links from CLIO or this research guide. You can also use the proxy bookmarklet.
Database search tips:
- The general search tips for CLIO also apply to the article databases.
- If you find an article or a book that is relevant, the bibliography/works cited page can be a useful road map to other relevant literature that was previously published.
- If you find an article or a book that is relevant, you can use Google Scholar and some other databases to find out whether other scholars cited it after it was published. Search for the title of an article/monograph and search and click on "Cited by" to generate a list of publications that have referenced that source.
- In most databases, you can narrow your results to scholarly publications only. Look for "limit to ... scholarly publications/peer-reviewed/refereed publications only" or similar language. This will help you find articles from journals that have gone through a rigorous peer review process.
Related Scholarly Journals:
- American Journal of Sociology
- American Sociological Review
- Annual Review of Sociology is great for getting comprehensive summaries of research on specific topics in the field. Look at the bibliographies to lead you to the original works cited.
- Ethnic and Racial Studies
- Journal of Immigrant and Refugee Studies
- The International Migration Review
- Social Forces
- Social Problems
Recommended Scholarly Databases:
- Gender Studies Database features research in women's studies, men's studies, gender studies, and sexuality studies. Source documents include professional journals, conference papers, books, book chapters, government reports, discussion and working papers, and theses & dissertations.
- GenderWatch includes full text from contemporary scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books, booklets and pamphlets, conference proceedings, and government, NGO and special reports.
- Google Scholar is very useful for seeing if other scholars have cited a book, article, etc. Search on the title, and then follow the "Cited by ..." link.
- International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS) contains core social sciences and related materials from over 100 countries in more than 90 languages (including over 2600 journals and books, book reviews, and book chapters).
- JSTOR provides the full text of back issues from core scholarly journals in sociology and other fields in the humanities and social sciences from the earliest issues to within a few years of current publication. Please note that, generally, this database does not include issues published in the last few years. You can search just the sociology journals in JSTOR by using the Advanced Search "NARROW BY DISCIPLINE AND/OR JOURNAL" feature.
- Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI) is a multidisciplinary database with searchable author abstracts, covering the journal literature of the social sciences. It links publications based on citations allowing you to search the "web" of communication surrounding a topic. You also can search Science Citation Index and Arts & Humanities Index simultaneously with the Social Science Citation Index - click on "MORE SETTINGS" to select the databases you want to search.
- SocINDEX with Full Text provides solid coverage of scholarly research in sociology and closely related areas of study, including references to scholarly journals, books, monographs, conference papers, and other content sources.
- Sociological Abstracts is the best bet when starting a search for scholarly sociological research. This core database covers sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences, including research focused in social work, human services, and related areas. The database provides citations from 1963 to the present and include references to journal articles, book reviews, book abstracts, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers.
- AllAfrica.com posts over 700 stories daily in English and French and offers a diversity of multi-lingual streaming programming as well as a 400,000-article searchable archive (which includes the archive of Africa News Service dating from 1997). Fully accessible ONLY on campus.
- Alt-Press Watch provides full text articles from over 210 alternative and press publications, including newspapers, magazines and journals.
- Ethnic newsWatch provides full text articles from newspapers and periodicals published by the ethnic, minority and native press in the U.S. back to 1960.
- LexisNexis Academic contains access to hundreds of information sources including the full text of newspapers, magazines, wire services, newsletters, journals, and broadcast transcripts from around the world.
- ProQuest Newspapers has articles from U.S. national newspapers, international English-language newspapers, and selected regional/state newspapers. Chronological coverage of individual newspapers varies.
- Barnard Library guides to citation management provides information about citation practices, style guides, and software programs you can use that help you keep track of your sources and create bibliographies.
- Cite Source presents visual information about how to cite various sources in a visual way, and they offer guidance on citing tricky sources. Check out the source help for APA, Chicago, and MLA styles.
- The Craft of Research is an online book that can help guide you through the full research process.
- Purdue Online Writing Lab (OWL) has lots of general and subject specific writing tips and techniques, along with research advice and detailed citation and formatting standards for the APA, Chicago, and MLA styles.
- Chicago Journal of Sociology (University of Chicago)
The Chicago Journal of Sociology is a student publication supported by the University of Chicago Department of Sociology. Their mission is to showcase excellent undergraduate work in the social sciences, while giving student editors experience turning coursework into publishable academic articles.
- Columbia University Journal of Politics and Society (Columbia University)
The Helvidius Group is a student organization at Columbia University, established in 1989 by Peter Tomassi, CC ’91, to provide a forum for undergraduate discourse on issues concerning law and public policy. The Journal of Politics & Society is the realization of that mission. Originally an annual magazine distributed to Ivy League universities and to members of Congress, it has adopted a more scholarly focus and has grown to encompass all of the social sciences. The Journal is not affiliated with or sponsored by any political organization, and it remains staunchly nonpartisan.
- Critical Theory and Social Justice Journal of Undergraduate Research (Occidental College)
CTSJ is dedicated to providing a forum for undergraduate students to develop and share critical research and writing on the intersections of "race", "sexuality", and "nationality" as they relate to problems of social justice. The journal seeks to foster exchange of ideas across disciplines and deepen understandings of systems of injustice, and in this way advances the mission of Occidental College: to develop critical, thoughtful, and active participation in an increasingly pluralistic and conflict ridden global culture.
- Eleven (University of California, Berkeley)
The Undergraduate Journal of Sociology publishes excellent sociological papers written by current and recent UC Berkeley undergraduates, as well as undergraduates from across the nation and countries such as Canada and Norway. A student-run publication, the journal provides an academic forum that highlights outstanding scholarship in the social sciences. In the spirit of Marx’s Eleventh Thesis on Feuerbach that mandates one to engender constructive change, the journal offers opportunities for an intellectual space that encourages critical engagement with the world.
- HABITUS (Yale University)
HABITUS seeks to provide a forum for examining the social world. We envision a unique outlet for the publication of undergraduate work in the social sciences, with a central focus on sociology. We hope to create a document, in print and online, that combines the intellectual rigor of an academic journal with the dynamic format of an undergraduate magazine. Issues will center around changing themes to integrate a variety of interdisciplinary perspectives, and in addition to showcasing high-quality academic papers at the core of every issue, HABITUS may feature thought-provoking work in other formats - for example: photographic work, columns, and book or film reviews.
- International Journal of Undergraduate Research and Creative Activities (Pacific University and Central Washington University)
International Journal of Undergraduate Research and Creative Activities is a peer-reviewed, open access journal dedicated to the publication of outstanding scholarship by undergraduates and their mentors from academic institutions of higher learning. The Journal accepts submissions of research articles, fiction, poetry, photography, videos, and other creative works from undergraduate students in all academic disciplines. Submissions are accepted on a rolling basis and will be published on the Journal website after successful review.
- Inquiries (Jamaica Plain, MA)
Inquiries Journal, formerly Student Pulse, is an open-access academic journal that highlights the work of students at the undergraduate level and above. The journal publishes work across a range of academic disciplines with a particular focus on the social sciences, arts, and humanities.
- Journal of Integrated Social Sciences (California Lutheran University)
Journal of Integrated Social Sciences is a web-based, peer-reviewed journal committed to the scholarly investigation of social phenomena. We especially encourage students and their faculty advisors to submit the results of their investigations.
- Journal of Student Research (Houston, TX)
Journal of Student Research is based in Houston, TX. It is an electronic, peer-reviewed, multidisciplinary journal devoted to the rapid dissemination of current research. Our aim is to familiarize student authors with the process of manuscript publication. Researchers strive to be successful at publications; and with JOFSR, students aspiring to publish will receive scholarly feedback once their submission is reviewed. These feedbacks will not only help authors identify areas of improvement to their submission, but help them better understand the process in order to be successful at publication. Once published, it will provide a global platform for them to showcase their work.
- Journal of Undergraduate Research and Scholarly Excellence (Colorado State University)
JUR publishes extraordinary undergraduate work in an easily accessible and professional peer-reviewed journal. Our mission is to print outstanding undergraduate research, scholarly articles, and creative works in order to make them available to the public and connect the worldwide community of college undergraduates.
- On Our Terms (Barnard College)
On Our Terms is an online, peer-reviewed, academic journal of women and leadership. Produced under the auspices of the Athena Center for Leadership Studies at Barnard College, this publication features scholarship by undergraduates from across the globe seeking to enhance our generation’s discourse on the theme. We are a journal created for students, by students, and our goal is to provide a platform for student thought, debate, and voice through the publication of original academic articles and multimedia pieces.
- Pittsburgh Undergraduate Review (University of Pittsburgh)
The purpose of the Pittsburgh Undergraduate Review is to advance independent undergraduate scholarship. The PUR aims to bring research to the forefront of undergraduate awareness. By presenting provocative ideas, the PUR catalyzes further intellectual innovations and pursuits, thereby energizing the academic community.
- Sociological Insight (UT Austin)
The Sociology Department launched Sociological Insight in the fall of 2008. It is a peer-reviewed sociology journal promoting undergraduate scholarship in the social sciences. Sociological Insight seeks to provide an opportunity for undergraduates in the United States and abroad to publish their very best academic papers and reap the benefits of subjecting their research to a rigorous peer-review process.
- Spaces Between: an Undergraduate Feminist Journal (U. Alberta)
Spaces Between is a student-run, student-written, peer reviewed undergraduate journal. This publication is a forum for undergraduate students to publish their work in Women’s and Gender Studies as well as feminist research and writing within other disciplines. Spaces Between is wide in scope: we welcome research and writing that critically engages with gender, sexuality, race, class, (dis)ability, nation, imperialism, (de)colonization, and globalization.
- Stanford Undergraduate Research Journal (Stanford University)
The Stanford Undergraduate Research Journal (SURJ) is an annual peer-reviewed publication of research articles written primarily by Stanford undergraduates, but also by well-qualified students at other institutions, from all academic fields.
- Undergraduate Research Journal for the Human Sciences (Kappa Omicron Nu Leadership Academy, MI)
The URC Undergraduate Research Journal is an annual online national, reviewed journal dedicated to the publication of undergraduate student research. The twofold purpose of the journal is to foster and reward the scholarly efforts of undergraduate human sciences students as well as to provide a valuable learning experience. The articles represent primarily the work of the undergraduate student(s). Faculty members, who deserve recognition, are identified by an asterisk next to their names.
- Voices & Visions (Smith College)
Voices & Visions is an online journal of creative work by students from women’s colleges and universities around the globe. The journal is produced by students, faculty and staff at Smith College. It is centered at the Kahn Liberal Arts Institute, which supports collaborative research among faculty, students and visiting scholars without regard to the traditional boundaries of departments, programs and academic divisions.
For more undergraduate publishing options, check out these lists:
Last updated April 7, 2017