This page highlights key resources for conducting effective research for Advanced Topics in Race and Ethnicity.
If you need assistance identifying additional resources, search terms or strategies, please schedule a research consultation.
Consult scholarly reference sources and annual reviews to get an overview of a topic, an introduction to a theory, definitions to discipline-specific terms, and more.
- Annual Review of Sociology is great for getting comprehensive summaries of research on specific topics in the field. Look at the bibliographies to lead you to the original works cited.
- Dictionary of Race and Ethnic Relations
- Dictionary of Race, Ethnicity and Culture
- Encyclopedia of Race and Ethnic Studies
- Encyclopedia of Race, Ethnicity, and Society
- Encyclopedia of Race and Racism
- Encyclopedia of Social Theory
- Gale Encyclopedia of Multicultural America: This can be helpful for locating media outlets, organizations/associations, cultural/research centers, and suggested readings for specific ethnic groups in the U.S. Some of the information on culture seems overly broad.
- International Encyclopedia of the Social & Behavioral Sciences
- Multicultural America: A Multimedia Encyclopedia
- Race and Racism in the United States: An Encyclopedia of the American Mosaic
- World of Sociology
CLIO is the online catalog of the Columbia University Libraries, including Barnard Library, but excluding Teachers College and some information from the Law Library. Search the Catalog for book and media materials.
If you know exactly what book (journal, video, etc.) you are looking for, you can search by Title, Author, ISBN, etc.
To find items about a specific topic, first try a keyword search in All Fields.
Use "quotation marks" to search for an exact phrase: "black lives matter".
Use * for truncation (to find variant spellings and endings of a word): wom*n will find woman, women, womyn; ethnicit* will find ethnicity, ethnicities, etc.
For more complex search, use AND and OR:
AND finds records which have all the search terms you entered.
OR finds records which have one of the search terms you entered, as well as records which have more than one of the terms. OR finds MORE.
For more help with using AND and OR, check our guide to advanced/Boolean keyword searching.
Use parentheses to group terms: (wom*n OR gender) AND (#blacklivesmatter OR "black lives matter")
Subject headings: If you find a relevant book, look at its subject headings in CLIO and click through to find more related works.
Browse the stacks: The call numbers for sociology books usually start with "H" - check out the full range of call numbers in the social sciences, and browse those areas in the Barnard, Butler, and Lehman libraries.
Find books and other materials in other libraries:
WorldCat lets you search for items in libraries worldwide.
Request items from other libraries through Borrow Direct or interlibrary loan (ILL).
For off-campus access to library online resources, remember to follow the links from CLIO or this research guide. You can also use the proxy bookmarklet.
Database search tips:
- The general search tips for CLIO also apply to the article databases.
- If you find an article or a book that is relevant, the bibliography/works cited page can be a useful road map to other relevant literature that was previously published.
- If you find an article or a book that is relevant, you can use Google Scholar and some other databases to find out whether other scholars cited it after it was published. Search for the title of an article/monograph and search and click on "Cited by" to generate a list of publications that have referenced that source.
- In most databases, you can narrow your results to scholarly publications only. Look for "limit to ... scholarly publications/peer-reviewed/refereed publications only" or similar language. This will help you find articles from journals that have gone through a rigorous peer review process.
- You can also check Ulrich's Periodicals Directory to see if a journal is peer-reviewed.
Recommended Scholarly Databases:
- Gender Studies Database features research in women's studies, men's studies, gender studies, and sexuality studies. Source documents include professional journals, conference papers, books, book chapters, government reports, discussion and working papers, and theses & dissertations.
- GenderWatch includes full text from contemporary scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books, booklets and pamphlets, conference proceedings, and government, NGO and special reports.
- Google Scholar is very useful for seeing if other scholars have cited a book, article, etc. Search on the title, and then follow the "Cited by ..." link.
- HAPI (Hispanic American Periodicals Index) includes citations to articles and book reviews in scholarly journals published in Latin America and the Caribbean, or those dealing with topics relating to Latin America, the Caribbean and Hispanic Americans.
- International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS) contains core social sciences and related materials from over 100 countries in more than 90 languages (including over 2600 journals and books, book reviews, and book chapters).
- JSTOR provides the full text of back issues from core scholarly journals in sociology and other fields in the humanities and social sciences from the earliest issues to within a few years of current publication. Please note that, generally, this database does not include issues published in the last few years. You can search just the sociology journals in JSTOR by using the Advanced Search "NARROW BY DISCIPLINE AND/OR JOURNAL" feature.
- Race Relations Abstracts includes bibliographic records from academic journals and popular magazines related to race relations, including ethnic studies, discrimination, immigration studies, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline.
- Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI) is a multidisciplinary database with searchable author abstracts, covering the journal literature of the social sciences. It links publications based on citations allowing you to search the "web" of communication surrounding a topic. You also can search Science Citation Index and Arts & Humanities Index simultaneously with the Social Science Citation Index - click on "MORE SETTINGS" to select the databases you want to search.
- SocINDEX with Full Text provides solid coverage of scholarly research in sociology and closely related areas of study, including references to scholarly journals, books, monographs, conference papers, and other content sources.
- Sociological Abstracts is the best bet when starting a search for scholarly sociological research. This core database covers sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences, including research focused in social work, human services, and related areas. The database provides citations from 1963 to the present and include references to journal articles, book reviews, book abstracts, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers.
Related Scholarly Journals:
- African and Black Diaspora: An International Journal
- American Indian Culture and Research Journal
- American Indian Quarterly
- American Journal of Sociology
- American Sociological Review
- Annual Review of Sociology
- Arizona Journal of Hispanic Studies
- Aztlán: A Journal of Chicano Studies
- Ethnic and Racial Studies
- Ethnic Studies Review
- Journal of African American Studies
- Journal of Asian American Studies
- Journal of Black Studies
- Journal of Ethnic and Migration Studies
- Latino Studies
- Multicultural Perspectives
- Social Forces
- Social Problems
- Western Journal of Black Studies
- AllAfrica.com posts over 700 stories daily in English and French and offers a diversity of multi-lingual streaming programming as well as a 400,000-article searchable archive (which includes the archive of Africa News Service dating from 1997). Fully accessible ONLY on campus.
- Alternative Press Index indexes over 300 alternative, radical and left periodicals, newspapers and magazines.
- Alt-Press Watch provides full text articles from over 210 alternative and press publications, including newspapers, magazines and journals.
- Ethnic newsWatch provides full text articles from newspapers and periodicals published by the ethnic, minority and native press in the U.S. back to 1960.
- Factiva contains thousands of national and foreign newspapers sources. It can be a little tricky to use - check out the Factiva Learning YouTube Tutorials, especially Factiva Search Builder and Viewing Your Factiva Results.
- Latin American Newsstand provides full-text information in Spanish and Portuguese from 37 newspapers from Puerto Rico and 11 Latin American countries, including Mexico, Argentina, and Brazil.
- LexisNexis Academic contains access to hundreds of information sources including the full text of newspapers, magazines, wire services, newsletters, journals, and broadcast transcripts from around the world.
- Mideastwire.com offers a daily email newsletter of concise, translated briefs covering some of the key political, cultural, economic and opinion pieces appearing via the print, radio and television media of the 22 Arab countries, Iran and the Arab Diaspora.
- ProQuest Newspapers has articles from U.S. national newspapers, international English-language newspapers, and selected regional/state newspapers. Chronological coverage of individual newspapers varies.
- Barnard Library guides to citation management provides information about citation practices, style guides, and software programs you can use that help you keep track of your sources and create bibliographies.
- Chicago Manual of Style has full details on citing primary & archival material in Chicago style. You can find full-text of the style guide in print or online.
- Cite Source presents visual information about how to cite various sources in a visual way, and they offer guidance on citing tricky sources. Check out the source help for APA, Chicago, and MLA styles.
- The Craft of Research is an online book that can help guide you through the full research process.
- Purdue Online Writing Lab (OWL) has lots of general and subject specific writing tips and techniques, along with research advice and detailed citation and formatting standards for the APA, Chicago, and MLA styles.
- Research log: Try using a research log to keep track of what you've searched and what you want to try next. You can copy this to your Google Drive and adjust it to suit your needs.
- SAGE Research Methods provides a comprehensive picture of research methods (quantitative, qualitative and mixed methods) across the social and behavioural sciences. It includes more than 100,000 pages of SAGE book and reference material on research methods as well as selected material from SAGE journals.
Last updated February 9, 2018