Rock Music and Literature in the Southern Cone

 

Prensa TV Pública. Viuda e Hijas de Roque Enroll (2014). photograph via Wikimedia Commons

Research Guide

Welcome! This page highlights key resources for conducting research for Rock Music and Literature in the Southern Cone.

If you need assistance identifying additional resources, search terms or strategies, please schedule a research consultation.


Personal Librarian:
Vani Natarajan
212-854-8595
208C Lehman
vnataraj@barnard.edu

Finding Books, Musical Recordings, and Other Materials

CLIO provides access to the holdings of the Columbia University Libraries, including Barnard Library, but excluding Teachers College and the Law Library. Search the Catalog for book and media materials. Use the Refine box at the left to limit by language, to materials in Spanish, if you wish.

Some subject headings that may be useful for your searches:

  • Music---Social aspects---Latin America
  • Rock music---Argentina
  • Rock music---Latin America
  • Rock music---Uruguay

The NYPL catalog searches the circulating and non-circulating research collections at the New York Public Library. These collections include a pretty vast selection of circulating musical recordings. 

Worldcat searches libraries worldwide. If a title isn't available via Columbia University Libraries, you may request it via Borrow Direct or Interlibrary Loan.

 

Reference

Oxford Reference Online offers full text of 100 searchable reference tools, including subject-specific dictionaries and encyclopedias. 

Real Academia Española provides a strong collection of online Spanish language resources covering Spain and Latin America, including historic and regionally specific dictionaries and corpuses, among them:

Journal Articles

Search these databases for citations, abstracts, and selected full text of journal and magazine articles.

DialNet features scholarly journal articles from Spain and Latin America, in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. It also includes full-text doctoral dissertations from Spanish universities.

EBSCOHost serves as a platform to several databases in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Examples:

HAPI , also known as Hispanic American Periodicals Index, features citations to articles and book reviews in scholarly journals published in Latin America and the Caribbean, along with those dealing with topics relating to Latin America, the Caribbean and Latino/a Americans. Links to full-text are available for selected journals.

HLAS Online , also known as Handbook of Latin American Studies Online, is a project of the United States Library of Congress. It provides extensively annotated citations on Latin American studies research in all disciplines. You can search for content dating as far back as 1935.

Informe provides searchable full text access to the contents of Latin American journals alongside popular Latin American and Hispanic magazines and trade publications. Strong coverage of scholarship in the humanities.

Latin American Periodicals Tables of Contents database, or LAPTOC, provides open electronic access to the tables of contents of journals published in Latin America and the Caribbean between the years 1994 and 2009.

Proquest combines many unique databases in one platform. You can search all at once, or select the databases you'd like to search. Some examples:

  • Arts and Humanities Full Text features citations and abstracts from scholarly sources in the humanities, as well as lesser known specialized magazines. Many of the entries are available in full text. Documents covered include articles, interviews, obituaries, bibliographies, original works of fiction, drama and poetry, book reviews, and reviews of performances, recordings, and films.
  • Bibliografía de la literatura Española desde 1980 provides citations for journal articles and books published between 1980 and the present, but covering time periods back to the Middle Ages. Search interface and descriptive terms are in Spanish.
  • International Index to Music Periodicals (IIMP) Full Text contains more than half a million indexed articles in music research, plus detailed abstracts and full text from 1874 to the present, covering the scholarly to the popular.
  • MLA International Bibliography features citations and abstracts to scholarly articles on literature, language, linguistics, and folklore from around the world, with e-links to possible full text provided. Sources include periodicals, books, essay collections, working papers, proceedings, dissertations and bibliographies. Coverage spans 1923 to the present.
  • Periodicals Archive Online archives journals in the humanities and social sciences from around the world, in full text. The collection includes 99 journals in Spanish.

Red ALyC provides searchable full text content of over 500 journals published in Spain, Latin America, the Caribbean, and Portugal. RedALyC is an open access project.

 

Archival Sources

ArchiveGrid lets you keyword search collection descriptions from archives around the world. Entries provide contact information and links to relevant web sites. You can narrow your search to archives in the New York City area.

CLIO Archives allows you to search catalog collections for six Columbia University archives. The search combs through finding aids, collection descriptions, and available digital content. Collections comprise such sources as personal papers, ephemera, drawings, institutional records, and more.

Latin American Newsletters offers access to current Latin American news sources, including daily reports, weekly reports, regional reports, and more.

NACLA Digital Archive provides access to back issues of the NACLA Report on the Americas, a magazine covering major trends and current affairs in Latin America. The archive contains searchable full text in PDF format from 1967 to present.

NYPL: Find Archival Materials provides a comprehensive search of manuscript and archival collections across 10 divisions of the New York Public Library.

Sur was a major literary journal of Latin America, published between 1931 and 1992. Founded in Argentina by Victoria Ocampo, Sur featured writers from around the world. Contents included literature, film, theatre, art, music, history, and politics. The electronic version offers all pages and images of the 364 issues, including covers and advertisements. It is fully searchable and has a 6300-entry searchable index.

World Newspaper Archive provides a searchable collection of historical newspapers from around the world. Begins with Latin American newspapers from the 19th and 20th centuries.

 

Tools for Strategically Searching the "Open Web"

Google Advanced Search allows for a more granular search of the web. You can limit by page domain, search for terms within an address or title, limit by usage rights, and much more.

Google Scholar is especially useful for tracing citation histories for particular sources (articles as well as monographs). If you run a title search, click on "cited by" to generate a list of sources that have cited the source in question.

Internet Archive: Wayback Machine captures over 400 billion web pages saved over time. This can be a great tool for viewing web sites that are no longer "live."

Twitter Advanced Search allows for a more granular search of this popular social media platform, incorporating keywords, hashtags, locations, and Twitter handles into the search query.

 

Writing and Citing

OWL: Purdue University Online Writing Lab provides general and subject specific writing tips and techniques, along with research advice and detailed citation and formatting standards for the APA, MLA, and Chicago styles.

Zotero is a free tool for managing citations, organizing research, storing documents,sharing your references with others, and creating fomatted bibliographies, footnotes, and in-text citations. For detailed tips on installing and using Zotero, consult the library's Zotero guide.