Hispanic Cultures II

 

 Portrait of Frida Kahlo (1932). Kahlo, Guillermo. Gelatin silver print, via Wikimedia Commons.

Research Guide

Welcome! This page highlights key resources for conducting effective  research for Hispanic Cultures II.

If you need assistance identifying additional resources, search terms or strategies, please schedule a research consultation.


Personal Librarian:
Vani Natarajan
212-854-8595
208C Lehman
vnataraj@barnard.edu

Finding Books and Media

CLIO provides access to the holdings of the Columbia University Libraries, including Barnard Library, but excluding Teachers College and the Law Library. Search the Catalog for book and media materials. Use the Refine box at the left to limit by language, to materials in Spanish, if you wish.

The NYPL catalog searches the circulating and non-circulating research collections at the New York Public Library.

Worldcat searches libraries worldwide. If a title isn't available via Columbia University Libraries, you may request it via Borrow Direct or Interlibrary Loan.

Browse the stacks using Library of Congress call number ranges. Some examples:

DP1-402 Spain.

E141-143  Descriptive accounts of America. Earliest to 1810.

F1201- 3799 Latin America. Spanish America.

PN Literature (General)

  • PN4500 Essays (Literary History)
  • PN6141-6145  Collections of essays

PQ6001-8929 Literature in Spanish

  • PQ6131-6153 History and Criticism/Prose
  • PQ6150 History and Criticism/Essays
  • PQ6260 Collections/Essays

PQ7000-8560 Latin American Literature

  • PQ7081 History and Criticism
  • PQ7085 Collections/Prose

 

 

Reference

Dictionaries, encyclopedias, and other sources for background research.

Oxford Language Dictionaries Online provides a fully searchable bilingual Spanish-English and English-Spanish dictionary online, with supplementary resources in Spanish language history, culture, and colloquialisms.

Oxford Reference Online offers full text of 100 searchable reference tools, including subject dictionaries and mythology dictionaries.

Real Academia Española provides a strong collection of online Spanish language resources covering Spain and Latin America, including historic and regionally specific dictionaries and corpuses, among them:

Journal Articles

Search these databases for citations, abstracts, and selected full text of journal and magazine articles.

DialNet features scholarly journal articles from Spain and Latin America, in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. It also includes full-text doctoral dissertations from Spanish universities.

EBSCOHost serves as a platform to several databases in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Examples:

HAPI , also known as Hispanic American Periodicals Index, features citations to articles and book reviews in scholarly journals published in Latin America and the Caribbean, along with those dealing with topics relating to Latin America, the Caribbean and Latino/a Americans. Links to full-text are available for selected journals.

HLAS Online , also known as Handbook of Latin American Studies Online, is a project of the United States Library of Congress. It provides extensively annotated citations on Latin American studies research in all disciplines. You can search for content dating as far back as 1935.

Informe provides searchable full text access to the contents of Latin American journals alongside popular Latin American and Hispanic magazines and trade publications. Strong coverage of scholarship in the humanities.

International bibliography of book reviews: IBR provides searchable access to citations for book reviews published in social sciences and humanities journals. These include significant content from European journals.

Periodicals Archive Online archives journals in the humanities and social sciences from around the world, in full text. The collection includes 99 journals in Spanish.

Proquest combines many unique databases in one platform. You can search all at once, or select the databases you'd like to search. Some examples:

  • Arts and Humanities Full Text features citations and abstracts from scholarly sources in the humanities, as well as lesser known specialized magazines. Many of the entries are available in full text. Documents covered include articles, interviews, obituaries, bibliographies, original works of fiction, drama and poetry, book reviews, and reviews of performances, recordings, and films.
  • Bibliografía de la literatura Española desde 1980 provides citations for journal articles and books published between 1980 and the present, but covering time periods back to the Middle Ages. Search interface and descriptive terms are in Spanish.
  • MLA International Bibliography features citations and abstracts to scholarly articles on literature, language, linguistics, and folklore from around the world, with e-links to possible full text provided. Sources include periodicals, books, essay collections, working papers, proceedings, dissertations and bibliographies. Coverage spans 1923 to the present.

Red ALyC provides searchable full text content of over 500 journals published in Spain, Latin America, the Caribbean, and Portugal. RedALyC is an open access project.

 

Primary Sources

Search these databases and digital repositories for access to literary texts, historical news articles, images, and other items that you might incorporate into your research as primary source material.

Arte Publico Hispanic Historical Collection: Series 1 is a digital collection of historical content pertaining to U.S. Hispanic history, literature, and culture, from colonial times until 1960. Documents include books, pamphlets, newspapers, photographs, illustrations, and advertisements. 

Biblioteca Digital Hispanica is a project of the National Library of Spain. It offers online access to books, manuscripts, drawings, prints, brochures, posters, photographs, maps and atlases, from the 15th to the 19th centuries. Through the search box, you can also cross-search archival sources from Europeana and Biblioteca Digital del Patrimonio Iberoamericano.

Biblioteca Virtual Miguel de Cervantes has the world’s largest open access collection of digitized literary and historical texts in Spanish. You can also search the site for archival resources and critical work on major writers in Spanish. A project of the University of Alicante.

FIHCAor Fondo de Imágenes Históricas de Ciudades Americanas, is a growing image bank specializing in photographs of Latin American cities during the period between 1850 and 1930. You can search for images or browse through them by geographic locale; look for the link that reads "Banco de Imágenes."

Hemeroteca Digital offers access to full color digitized historic Spanish newspapers and magazines, with well over 1000 titles in the collection. You can search the full text of these periodicals, or you can browse them by topic and title words. Coverage extends from the late 17th to the late 20th century.

Latin American Newspapers is a searchable archive of Latin American newspapers from the 19th and 20th centuries, including publications in both English and Spanish.

Latin American Pamphlet Collection features searchable digitized images of archival pamphlets from 19th and early 20th century Latin America. Countries most heavily represented include Chile, Bolivia, Cuba, and Mexico. The collection comprises over 5,000 titles.

Latin American Travelogues Digital Collection compiles accounts of travel in Latin America written between the 16th and 19th centuries. These travelogues are scanned in full color from their original volumes, and you can read them as you would electronic books, with a virtual page-turning effect. Content is browseable by country or geographical area. 

Latin American Women Writers includes full text works of prose, poetry and drama by Latin American women writers of the 19th century, in Spanish and Portuguese. You can browse works by author, place, or genre, or conduct advanced or full text searches of works represented.

PARES: Portal de Archivos Espanoles is a project of the Spanish Ministry of Culture for the diffusion in Internet of the Spanish Historical Documentation. The portal offers free access to fully digized Spanish historical documents, including government and legal sources.

Sabin Americana, 1500-1926 : Based on Joseph Sabin's landmark bibliography, this collection contains works about the Americas published throughout the world from 1500 to the early 1900's. Included are books, pamphlets, serials and other documents that provide original accounts of exploration, trade, colonialism, slavery and abolition, the western movement, Native Americans, military actions and much more.

Sur is a digital archive of Revista Sur, one of the most important literary journals in Latin American history. You can browse or search page images of the full content of Sur’s 364 issues published between 1931 and 1992. The journal features literature, literary criticism, and writings on film, theatre, art, music, history, and politics.

 

Local Collections

ArchiveGrid lets you keyword search collection descriptions from archives around the world. Entries provide contact information and links to relevant web sites. You can narrow your search to archives in the New York City area.

CLIO Archives allows you to search catalog collections for six Columbia University archives. The search combs through finding aids, collection descriptions, and available digital content. Collections comprise such sources as personal papers, ephemera, drawings, institutional records, and more.

NYPL: Find Archival Materials provides a comprehensive search of manuscript and archival collections across 10 divisions of the New York Public Library.

 

Writing and Citing

Research and Documentation Online serves as the online version of Diana Hacker's guide Research and Documentation in the Electronic Age. It provides detailed citation and formatting standards for the APA, MLA, Chicago, and CSE styles, along with tips for research in subjects within the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Other features include a glossary of research terms, a list of additional style manuals organized by subject, and tips for evaluating sources.

Zotero is a free tool for managing citations, organizing research, storing documents,sharing your references with others, and creating fomatted bibliographies, footnotes, and in-text citations. For detailed tips on installing and using Zotero, consult the library's Zotero guide.