Venezuela: Robbery and Nature

Blaeu, Joan (ca. 17th c.). Venezuela, cum parte australi Novae Andaluciae. via Biblioteca Nacional de Chile.

 

Welcome! On this page, you will find a selective guide to tools for research in the Spanish and Latin American Cultures course Venezuela: Robbery and Nature.

If you need assistance identifying additional resources, search terms or strategies, please schedule a research consultation.

Personal Librarian

Vani Natarajan
Humanities and Global Studies Librarian
212-854-8595
208C Lehman
vnataraj@barnard.edu

Books and Film

CLIO provides access to the vast resources of the Columbia University Libraries, including Barnard Library, but excluding Teachers College and the Law Library. Search the Catalog for book and media materials.

Browse the stacks in the call number range F2301- F2349 to explore books on Venezuela and Venezuelan history.

The NYPL catalog searches the circulating and non-circulating research collections at the New York Public Library.

Worldcat searches libraries worldwide. If a title isn't available via Columbia University Libraries, you may request it via Borrow Direct or Interlibrary Loan.

 

Journal Articles

To search across a range of databases, try the Find Articles page. 

Dialnet gives full text access to scholarly articles and papers published in Spain and Latin America.

HAPI (Hispanic American Periodicals Index) provides citations to articles and reviews in scholarly journals published in Latin America and the Caribbean, or those dealing with topics relating to Latin America, the Caribbean, and Latinos in the US.

HLAS (Handbook of Latin American Studies)  and  HLAS Online

Informe offers full text access to articles from Latin American academic journals in the humanities, social sciences, sciences, and medicine, published between 1980 and the present. Coverage also includes some popular Latin American magazines and newspapers. 

JSTOR provides access to the core scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences from the earliest issues to within a few years of current publication. Users may browse by journal title or discipline (including Latin American Studies), or may search full-text or citations/abstracts.

ProQuest Direct contains citations and full-text articles from several thousand magazines, journals, newspapers, etc. covering many subjects in academic & professional disciplines. Over 80 databases can be searched at once or individually on the Proquest platform.

RED ALyC is an open access journal project that provides full-text access to over 500 journals published in Latin America, the Caribbean, Spain and Portugal. Subjects covered include humanities and social sciences along with physical and natural sciences.

SciELO is an open access database of Latin American journals in the sciences, social sciences, and humanities, and it features a strong selection of journals from Venezuela. 

 

Contemporary News Databases

Factiva (covers El Nacional 2002-present)

Latin American Newsstand

Lexis Nexis (covers El Nacional 2005-present)

 

Venezuelan Newspaper Sites

 

Historical Text Collections

Biblioteca Ayacucho Digital provides free online access to over 250 Venezuelan and Latin American books, ranging from recent publications to classics by authors such as Simón Bolívar. The Biblioteca Ayacucho was founded in 1974 and is an editorial entity of the Venezuelan government.

NACLA Digital Archive provides access to back issues of the NACLA Report on the Americas, a magazine covering major trends and current affairs in Latin America. The archive contains searchable full text in PDF format from 1967 to present.

Sur offers all pages and images of the 364 issues of Sur, which was one of the most important literary journals published in Latin America. Coverage spans the years 1932 to 1991 and is fully searchable. 

World Newspaper Archive is a searchable collection of historical newspapers from around the world, beginning with Latin American newspapers from the 19th and 20th centuries.

 

Image and Sound Collections

ARTStor is a nonprofit resource that provides over 1.6 million digital images in the arts, architecture, humanities and sciences. Conduct an advanced search or browse by geography, date, or classification.

Biblioteca Digital del Patrimonio Iberoamericano provides access from a single search point to numerous digital resources from participating libraries in Latin America, as well as some in Spain. Contents include historical newspapers and magazines, travel documents, and sound recordings. 

Digital Public Library of America serves as a portal to the digitized collections of various institutions across the nation, including millions of photographs, documents, books, audio materials, and moving images. These can be searched, browsed, or visualized on a timeline or map.

Hemispheric Insitute Digital Video Library is the first major digital library of performance practices in the Americas. Created in partnership with NYU libraries, it offers free access to more than 600 hours of video, spanning from the 1970's to the present.

Internet Archive is a digital library of searchable and freely available audio, video, and text content. Its audio archive includes historic radio broadcasts, some of them available via the Pacifica Radio Archives.

Music Online gives access to audio, video, music scores, and full-text reference content from several digital performing arts collections, including African American Music Reference, Dance in Video, Jazz Music Library, and Smithsonian Global Sound.

New York Public Library Digital Gallery provides free and open access to over 800,000 images digitized from the The New York Public Library's vast collections

 

Reference

Oxford Language Dictionaries: Spanish provides a fully searchable bilingual Spanish-English and English-Spanish dictionary online, with supplementary resources in Spanish language history, culture, and colloquialisms.

Real Academia Española provides a strong collection of online Spanish language resources covering Spain and Latin America, including historic and regionally specific dictionaries.

In Print:

Citations

Research and Documentation Online by Diana Hacker (Bedford Handbook), covers citation formats in the APA, Chicago, MLA, and Turabian styles.

Zotero is a free tool for managing citations, organizing research, storing documents,sharing your references with others, and creating fomatted bibliographies, footnotes, and in-text citations. For detailed tips on installing and using Zotero, consult the library's Zotero guide.

 

Subject Code: 
SPAN
Course Code: 
SPANX3446001