Gender and Sexuality in Latin American Cultures

La Palanca, Volume 1, Issue 1. Santiago, 1908. Via Biblioteca Nacional de Chile.

Research Guide

Welcome! This page highlights key resources for conducting effective  research in Gender and Sexuality in Latin American Cultures.

If you need assistance identifying additional resources, search terms or strategies, please schedule a research consultation.


Personal Librarian:
Vani Natarajan
212-854-8595
208C Lehman
vnataraj@barnard.edu

 

Finding Print and Media Materials On and Off Campus

CLIO provides access to the vast resources of the Columbia University Libraries, including Barnard Library, but excluding Teachers College and the Law Library. Search the Catalog for book and media materials.

The NYPL catalog searches the circulating and non-circulating research collections at the New York Public Library.

Worldcat searches libraries worldwide. If a title isn't available via Columbia University Libraries, you may request it via Borrow Direct or Interlibrary Loan.

 

Recommended Databases for Finding Reviews and Scholarly Journal Articles

Black Studies Center brings together several key resources for researching African American history, as well as the African diaspora and Africa itself. These include the International Index to Black Periodicals, Historical Black Newspapers, Black Literature Index, and Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience.

ClasePeriodica offers access to citations from scholarly journals published in Latin America and the Caribbean, in the sciences, humanities, and social sciences. 

Dialnet gives full text access to scholarly articles and papers published in Spain and Latin America. 

Gender Studies Database covers scholarship on gender and sexuality---including journal articles, book chapters, reports, and more---from both inside and outside academia.

HAPI (Hispanic American Periodicals Index) provides citations to articles and reviews in scholarly journals published in Latin America and the Caribbean, or those dealing with topics relating to Latin America, the Caribbean, and Latinos in the US.

International Index to the Performing Arts is a multidisciplinary index to the performing arts. Includes full-text.

International Bibliography of Theatre and Dance contains all of the content available in International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance as well as full text for 100 titles.

JSTOR provides access to the core scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences from the earliest issues to within a few years of current publication. Users may browse by journal title or discipline, or may search full-text or citations/abstracts.

ProQuest Direct contains citations and full-text articles from several thousand magazines, journals, newspapers, etc. covering many subjects in academic & professional disciplines. Over 80 databases can be searched at once or individually on the Proquest platform.

RedALyC is an open access journal project that provides full-text access to over 500 journals published in Latin America, the Caribbean, Spain and Portugal. Subjects covered include humanities and social sciences along with physical and natural sciences.

 

Historical Text Collections

Caribbean Literature is a searchable collection of poetry and fiction produced in the region during the 19th and 20th centuries. Among the titles selected are numerous rare and hard-to-find works written in English, French, Spanish, Dutch, and various Creole languages.

Latin American Newsstand offers full-text of Latin-American newspapers and newswires covering international and Latin-American regional topics.

NACLA Digital Archive provides access to back issues of the NACLA Report on the Americas, a magazine covering major trends and current affairs in Latin America. The archive contains searchable full text in PDF format from 1967 to present.

ProQuest Historical Newspapers offers full-text and full-image articles from major American newspapers, including the New York Times. Also includes several historic Black newspapers, among them the New York Amsterdam News and the Pittsburgh Courier.

Sur offers all pages and images of the 364 issues of Sur, which was one of the most important literary journals published in Latin America. Coverage spans the years 1932 to 1991 and is fully searchable. 

World Newspaper Archive is a searchable collection of historical newspapers from around the world, beginning with Latin American newspapers from the 19th and 20th centuries.
 

Image and Sound Collections

ARTStor is a nonprofit resource that provides over 1.6 million digital images in the arts, architecture, humanities and sciences. Conduct an advanced search or browse by geography, date, or classification.

Biblioteca Digital del Patrimonio Iberoamericano provides access from a single search point to numerous digital resources from participating libraries in Latin America, as well as some in Spain. Contents include historical newspapers and magazines, travel documents, and sound recordings. 

Digital Public Library of America serves as a portal to the digitized collections of various institutions across the nation, including millions of photographs, documents, books, audio materials, and moving images. These can be searched, browsed, or visualized on a timeline or map.

Hemispheric Insitute Digital Video Library is the first major digital library of performance practices in the Americas. Created in partnership with NYU libraries, it offers free access to more than 600 hours of video, spanning from the 1970's to the present.

Internet Archive is a digital library of searchable and freely available audio, video, and text content. Its audio archive includes historic radio broadcasts, some of them available via the Pacifica Radio Archives.

Music Online gives access to audio, video, music scores, and full-text reference content from several digital performing arts collections, including African American Music Reference, Dance in Video, Jazz Music Library, and Smithsonian Global Sound.

New York Public Library Digital Gallery provides free and open access to over 800,000 images digitized from the The New York Public Library's vast collections

 

Special Collections and Archives

Columbia Archives Portal provides access to finding aids, collection descriptions, and digital content from archival and special collections repositories at Columbia University libraries.

CUNY Dominican Studies Institute houses the Dominican Studies Institute Library and Archives, which are the first and only institutions in the United States collecting primary and secondary source material on people of Dominican descent.

 

Writing and Citation

The Craft of Research (electronic book) offers advice on all stages of the research and writing process.

Zotero is a free cloud-based tool that allows users to quickly and easily collect, organize, format, and share bibliographic citations. Consult the Barnard Library Zotero guide for support in installing and using Zotero.

Subject Code: 
SPAN
Course Code: 
SPANX3510001