Senior Seminar: Emotions in Spanish Culture

 

 

Research Guide

Welcome! This page highlights key resources for conducting effective  research for the Spanish Senior Seminar, Emotions in Spanish Culture

If you need assistance identifying additional resources, search terms or strategies, please schedule a research consultation.


Personal Librarian:
Vani Natarajan
212-854-8595
Lefrak 106
vnataraj@barnard.edu

Finding Books and Media

CLIO includes the online catalog of Columbia University Libraries, Barnard Library, and Union theological Seminary (Law Library and Teachers College Library have separate catalogs). To search within the CLIO catalog, select "Catalog" from the left-hand menu.   CLIO also includes records of CUL materials held offsite, which you can use CLIO to request.

CLIO search tips:

  • Use the truncation symbol * to search for variants of a word stem  (example: text* searches for text, texts, textual, textos, etc)
  • Limit your search to Barnard College Library, if you wish.

Library of Congress Classification System is used by most of the Columbia libraries, including Barnard.

Worldcat is a union catalog that brings together the collections of over 72,000 libraries around the world. Search here for items held in other libraries.

BorrowDirect allows you to borrow books directly from the libraries of Brown, Cornell, Dartmouth, the University of Pennsylvania, Princeton, and Yale, in addition to select libraries of Harvard and MIT. Items requested through BorrowDirect typically deliver in 3 to 4 business days, with a 6-week loan period + one 6-week renewal.

Interlibrary Loan lets you borrow books, music scores, and selected audiovisual items (i.e. maps or films) that are not currently available at Columbia University Libraries. You can use ILL to request PDF scans of journal articles, as well. ILL has a larger scope of participating institutions than Borrow Direct.

 

Reference

Oxford Language Dictionaries Online provides a fully searchable bilingual Spanish-English and English-Spanish dictionary online, with supplementary resources in Spanish language history, culture, and colloquialisms.

Oxford Reference Online offers full text of 100 searchable reference tools, including subject dictionaries and mythology dictionaries.

Real Academia Española provides a strong collection of online Spanish language resources covering Spain and Latin America, including historic and regionally specific dictionaries and corpuses, among them:

 

Finding Articles

To search across a broad range of databases at once, start at the CLIO Articles tab. Use search facets to limit results, or select from the databases below.

Use Google Scholar to trace the citations of a source (to see who has cited a particular book, book chapter, or article). 

Bibliografía de la literatura Española desde 1980 provides citations for journal articles and books in the history and criticism of literature in Spanish, published between 1980 and the present, but covering time periods back to the Middle Ages. Search interface and descriptive terms are in Spanish.

DialNet  features scholarly journal articles from Spain and Latin America, in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. It also includes full-text doctoral dissertations from Spanish universities.

HAPI Online features citations to articles and book reviews in scholarly journals published in Latin America and the Caribbean, or those dealing with topics relating to Latin America, the Caribbean and Latino/a Americans. Links to full-text are available for selected journals.

HLAS Online , also known as Handbook of Latin American Studies Online, is a project of the United States Library of Congress. It provides extensively annotated citations on Latin American studies research in all disciplines. You can search for content dating as far back as 1935.

Informe provides full text articles from Latin American journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as full text popular magazines from Latin America and Spain.

Red ALyC provides searchable full text content of over 500 journals published in Spain, Latin America, the Caribbean, and Portugal. RedALyC is an open access project.

EBSCOHost serves as a platform to several databases in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Examples:

JSTOR includes page images of key scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences, with a particular strength in Languages and Literatures. Coverage spans the mid-19th century to the present.

Project MUSE provides full text scholarly journal articles, with citations and abstracts, from key sources in the humanities, with a special strength in literary studies. Content is updated daily, and coverage is extremely current

Proquest combines 77 unique databases in one platform. You can search all at once, or select the databases you'd like to search. Some examples:

  • Arts and Humanities Full Text features citations and abstracts from scholarly sources in the humanities, as well as lesser known specialized magazines. Many of the entries are available in full text. Documents covered include articles, interviews, obituaries, bibliographies, original works of fiction, drama and poetry, book reviews, and reviews of performances, recordings, and films.
  • MLA International Bibliography features citations and abstracts to scholarly articles on literature, language, linguistics, and folklore from around the world, with e-links to possible full text provided. Sources include periodicals, books, essay collections, working papers, proceedings, dissertations and bibliographies. Coverage spans 1923 to the present.
  • Periodicals Archive Online archives journals in humanities and social sciences from around the world, in full text, and going back as far as the late nineteenth century. The collection includes 99 journals in Spanish.

 

Primary Sources

Digital Collections

Biblioteca Digital Hispanica is a project of the National Library of Spain. It offers online access to books, manuscripts, drawings, prints, brochures, posters, photographs, maps and atlases, from the 15th to the 19th centuries. Through the search box, you can also cross-search archival sources from Europeana and Biblioteca Digital del Patrimonio Iberoamericano.

Biblioteca Virtual Miguel de Cervantes has the world’s largest open access collection of digitized literary and historical texts in Spanish. You can also search the site for archival resources and critical work on major writers in Spanish. A project of the University of Alicante.

Hemeroteca Digital offers access to full color digitized historic Spanish newspapers and magazines, with well over 1000 titles in the collection. You can search the full text of these periodicals, or you can browse them by topic and title words. Coverage extends from the late 17th to the late 20th century.

PARES: Portal de Archivos Espanoles is a project of the Spanish Ministry of Culture for the diffusion in Internet of the Spanish Historical Documentation. The portal offers free access to fully digized Spanish historical documents, including government and legal sources.

 

Portals to Collections

ArchiveGrid lets you keyword search collection descriptions from archives around the world. Entries provide contact information and links to relevant web sites. You can narrow your search to archives in the New York City area.

CLIO Archives allows you to search catalog collections for six Columbia University archives. The search combs through finding aids, collection descriptions, and available digital content. Collections comprise such sources as personal papers, ephemera, drawings, institutional records, and more.

NYPL: Find Archival Materials provides a comprehensive search of manuscript and archival collections across 10 divisions of the New York Public Library.

 

Writing and Citing

Cite Source from Trinity College Libraries shows you how to cite books, articles, tweets, podcasts, art works, blog posts, and more in th efollowing styles: ACS, APA, APSA, ASA, Chicago, and MLA.

The Craft of Research (Wayne C. Booth, Gregory G. Colomb, Joseph M. Williams, 2008) offers useful advice on the writing and research process, including tips on how to move from topics to questions, from questions to problems, and from problems to sources). 

OWL: Purdue University Online Writing Lab provides general and subject specific writing tips and techniques, along with research advice and detailed citation and formatting standards for the APA, MLA, and Chicago styles.

Tips and Tools: Abstracts (UNC Writing Center)

Zotero is a free, open source program that allows you to quickly save, organize, format, and share your bibliographic citations.