Social Science Data & Statistics Sources

 

""WorldWideWeb around Wikipedia, from Wikimedia Commons

""
Personal Librarian: 
Jennie Correia
103 LeFrak Center, Barnard Hall
212.854.9096
jcorreia@barnard.edu

International Data Sources

BASEIND (BAsic Social and Economic INDicators) Database
BASEIND provides data on 256 socio-economic variables under 17 categories for the 57 Organisation of the Islamic Cooperation member countries dating back to 1970. The content of this database is regularly updated and enriched essentially on the basis of information collected from the national statistical sources.

CEIC Data Manager
CEIC Data contains economic, industrial and financial time-series data and cover over 60 countries. Data comes from analysts on the ground and the prime national and regional statistical agencies and major industrial data issuing organizations of each country covered.

Europa World Plus
Europa World Plus is the online version of the Europa World Year Book and the nine-volume Europa Regional Surveys of the World series. It covers more than 250 countries and territories, with a statistical section for each country.

Eurostat
Statistics focused on the European Union member states.
Features: Tables available from a list of datasets; Exportable into Excel, CSV, SPSS, etc.

FAOSTAT Statistics Database
From the Food and Agriculture Organization of the UN, FAOSTAT is an on-line and multilingual database currently containing over 1 million time-series records covering international statistics in the following areas: production, trade, food balance sheets, food aid shipments, fertilizer and pesticides, land use and irrigation, forest products, fishery products, population, agricultural machinery.

Global Financial Data
Global Financial Data contains historical financial and economic data on 200 countries. Data includes: long-term historical indices on stock markets; total return data on stocks, bonds, and bills; interest rates; exchange rates; inflation rates; bond indices; commodity indices and prices.

Global Insight
Consists of economic time series data and financial market data for various countries throughout the world. Includes country overviews and analysis as well as forecasts, commodities, demographics and other economic indicators.

Harvard Dataverse
Housed at the Institute for Quantitative Social Science (IQSS) at Harvard. Claims to host the world's largest collection of social science research. It holds data from many researchers and institutions in addition to Harvard.

ICPSR: Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research
ICPSR is one of the largest repositories for social science data in the world. Among the many topics covered, you will find statistics on crime, education, demographics, elections, religion, and much more. 
Features: Tables available from a list of datasets. 

International Financial Statistics (IFS)
IFS is available from the International Monetary Fund (IMF) eLibrary. To access IFS, select "Series" --> "IMF Statistics" --> International Financial Statistics. Contains data from 1947 to the present.

ILOSTAT
Employment & labor migration statistics from the International Labour Office (ILO)
Features: Create your own table from available data sets (select variables); Exportable into CSV format

Migration Data Hub
International & U.S. immigration statistics from the Migration Policy Institute, independent think tank in Washington, DC.

OECD iLibrary Statistics
Statistics focused on the OECD member states.
Features: Ability to manipulate table format; exportable into Excel, text, SDMX, etc.

OFFSTATS: Official Statistics on the Web
Maintained by the University of Auckland, this guide lists websites offering free and easily accessible social, economic and general data from official or similar "quotable" sources. Can be sorted by region, country, subject, or any combination thereof.

ProQuest Statistical Insight (formerly LexisNexis Statistical)
Tables from international statistical publications as well as U.S. government and business reports, U.S. federal statistical publications, and U.S. State government, business, and research institute statistical publications.
Features: Abstracts, PDF full text, tables (.gif or .xls), and links to other editions of the same study or datasets from a different year. All features are not available for all results.

UNData
A variety of statistics for UN countries, with a focus on those reflecting the Millennium Development Goals.
Features: View tables from available data sets; exportable into Excel.

United Nations Statistics Division
The Statistics Division compiles statistics from many international sources and produces global updates, including the Statistical Yearbook, World Statistics Pocketbook and yearbooks in specialized fields of statistics.

World Bank DataBank
Wide variety of statistics for countries worldwide, including finance, education, civil society and much more.
Features: Create your own table from available data sets (select variables, format, etc.); Exportable into Excel, CSV, txt, SDMX

U.S. Data Sources

American FactFinder (U.S. Census Bureau)

FBI Crime Statistics - Uniform Crime Reporting (UCR) Data Online
Features: Tables, Exportable into Excel; good detail on method & how to use the database

FRED (Federal Reserve Economic Data)
Features: Charts and graphs, exportable into Excel and text files

Historical Statistics of the United States
A compendium of statistics from over 1000 sources.

ICPSR: Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research
ICPSR is one of the largest repositories for social science data in the world. Among the many topics covered, you will find statistics on crime, education, demographics, elections, religion, and much more. 
Features: Tables available from a list of datasets. 

Migration Data Hub
International & U.S. immigration statistics from the Migration Policy Institute, independent think tank in Washington, DC.

 

Social Science Electronic Data Library (SSEDL)
This is a health and social science resource with a curated selection of data archives on topics such as AIDS and other STIs, adolescent pregnancy, child well-being and poverty, aging, etc. 
Features: Extensive datasets available to download.

 

St. Louis Fed Resources: The Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis (St. Louis Fed) research division offers a wealth of historical economic data and information for economic researchers.

  • Databases on the site:

    • FRED compiles macro data from a variety of government and other sources. FRED is a database of over 383,000 economic time series from 82 sources. You can download data in Microsoft Excel and text formats and view charts of data series. 

    • FRASER is a collection of scanned historical documents. Some historical statistics that are not available in FRED may be found in FRASER.

    • GeoFRED alows you to create, customize, and share geographical maps of data found in FRED®.

    • ALFRED (Archival Fred) allows you to retrieve vintage versions of economic data that were available on specific dates in history. In general, economic data for past observation periods are revised as more accurate estimates become available. As a result, previous vintages of data can be superseded and may no longer be available from various data sources. Vintage or real time economic data allows academics to reproduce others' research, build more accurate forecasting models, and analyze economic policy decisions using the data available at the time.

Statistical Abstract of the United States
A comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States. 
Features: Tables from various sources in PDF or online; also exportable to Excel (.xls). Includes citation information, source documentation, and key terms.

U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics
Features: Create your own table from available data sets (select variables); Export into Excel

Tools & Software

For help with these tools and software, visit the Empirical Reasoning Center (ERC). The ERC's calendar lists when staff is available to answer your questions. No appointment necessary! They also offer online software tutorials.

ArcGIS
This geographic information system software that allows you to map and analyze data. It is available on all computers on the 1st floor of the Barnard Library, the ERC, and in PC student computer labs. NOTE: ArcGIS is not compatible with Mac OS X.
Useful ArcGIS documentation from Columbia: http://library.columbia.edu/locations/dssc/technology/gis.html

Atlas.ti
Atlas.ti is qualitative data analysis software. It is available on the computers on the 1st floor of the Barnard Library and in the ERC. You can download a trial version to your personal computer. 
Trial version download: http://atlasti.com/free-trial-version/

Excel
Excel can be used to analyze data. It is available on all computers on the 1st floor of the Barnard Library, the ERC, and all student computer labs on campus.
Excel tutorials for PC: https://erc.barnard.edu/excel
Excel tutorials for Mac: https://erc.barnard.edu/excel-mac/

NVivo
NVivo is qualitative data analysis software and is available on all computers on the 1st floor of the Barnard Library and in the ERC.
Online Tutorials: https://www.qsrinternational.com/support_tutorials.aspx?productid=20

R
R is a free, open-source statistical data analysis software package. It is available on all computers on the 1st floor of the Barnard Library, the ERC, and all student computer labs on campus.
Download software: https://www.r-project.org/

SPSS
SPSS is a tool that helps you manage and analyze large pools of data. It is available on all computers on the 1st floor of the Barnard Library, the ERC, and all student computer labs on campus.
SPSS Documentation from Columbia: http://library.columbia.edu/locations/dssc/technology/stats_software.html

STATA
STATA is a data analysis and statistical software. It is available on all computers on the 1st floor of the Barnard Library, the ERC and all student computer labs on campus.
Frequently Asked Questions: https://www.stata.com/support/faqs/

Other Resource Guides

Columbia University Lehman Social Sciences Library's GIS & Statistical Resources
A guide to resources suitable for GIS-mapping applications and statistical applications. Every database mentioned is accessible to Barnard students.

Michigan State University Data & Statistics Research Guides
There are some great "How to" articles on this site, such as "How to cite data."

Vassar College's Statistics and Data Guides
Vassar has two helpful research guides - Finding Statistics and Geospatial and Attribute Data for GIS.

Yale University's Social Science Data Resources Guide
This very detailed guide has sources broken out by subject.

Last updated August 24, 2016