Billy Rose Theatre Division, The New York Public Library. "Designer Alison Chitty's set for the Broadway production of the play "Orpheus Descending" (New York)" The New York Public Library Digital Collections. 1989.
Directing II: Directing Laboratory
Instructor: Alice Reagan
Welcome! This page supports visual research methods for Directing Laboratory. For tools and techniques for conducting research in theatre, please consult the appropriate research guide.
If you need assistance identifying additional resources, search terms or strategies, please schedule a research consultation.
AccuNet/AP Photo Archive
Associated Press archive of photographs from 1844 to the present, audio files of radio broadcasts, text of wire stories, and info-graphics.
ARTstor covers many time periods and cultures, and documents the fields of architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, design, anthropology, ethnographic and women's studies, as well as many other forms of visual culture. Users can search, view, download and organize images.
Beazley Archive provides access to photographs, notes, drawings, an illustrated dictionary and bibliographies relating to ancient Greek and Roman art.
Berg Fashion Library provides integrated text and image content on world dress and fashion throughout history.
Catalog of Art Museum Images Online (CAMIO) is a growing online collection documenting works of art from around the world, representing the collections of prominent museums.
Digital Public Library of America aims to make the realm of openly available materials more easily discovered and more widely used. This resource offers a single point of access to millions of items including photographs, manuscripts, books, sounds, moving images, and more from libraries, archives, and museums around the United States. Users can browse and search the DPLA's collections by timeline, map, format, and topic.
Europeana is a single access point to millions of books, paintings, films, museum objects and archival records that have been digitised throughout Europe. It is an authoritative source of information coming from European cultural and scientific institutions.
Getty Images provides 24.7 million creative stock and editorial images as well as other digital content, daily to newspapers, magazines, advertising campaigns, films, television programs, books and online media worldwide.
Google Cultural Institute houses three digital repositories of images and online exhibitions from collections at international cultural institutions. Art Project allows you to explore artworks in detail, view exhibitions, and take virtual tours; Historic Moments has online exhibitions utilizing documents, photos, videos to detail the stories behind significant moments in human history; and World Wonders brings modern and ancient world heritage sites online through images, artifacts, and Google Street View.
Library of Congress American Memory collections include a vast number of free and open access images on american history, from baseball cards to old sheet music to printed ephemera and far more.
Library of Congress, Prints and Photographs Online Catalog includes photographs, fine and popular prints and drawings, posters, and architectural and engineering drawings. While international in scope, the collections are particularly rich in materials produced in, or documenting the history of, the United States and the lives, interests and achievements of the American people.
LIFE Photo Archive has millions of photographs from the 1750s to the present. Many were never published before. Organized by theme and era.
New York Public Library Digital Collections provides free and open access to over 800,000 images digitized from the The New York Public Library's vast collections
San Francisco Museum of Modern Art ArtScope is a visual browsing tool that lets you explore over 6,491 artworks and photographs in their collection.
Tate Collection of images allows you to search by emotion (in addition to other things), which is fairly unique for art resources.
Search CLIO and Browse the Stacks
CLIO (Columbia Libraries Information Online) is the online catalog of the Columbia University Libraries, including Barnard Library, but excluding Teachers College and the Law Library.
Catalog Search Tips:
- Use catalog records to identify useful subject headings such as Illustrated books or Pictures
- Use truncation (such as theat* or wom*n) to widen your search and help with alternate spellings
- Substitute different century numbers, country names, or art movement as needed
- Remember you can limit search results to items physically held at Barnard, Milstein, Butler, or any other library
- Use keyword searches to locate items, and then go to the stacks and browse those items as well as the ones nearby
- Scanners are available in Barnard, Avery, the Digital Humanities Center, room 304 in Butler, the Digital Social Science Center, and the Digital Science Center. See the full guide to scanning at Columbia Libraries.
- There are color printers in 304 Butler and the Digital Social Science Center in Lehman Library. (Note: Lehman Library is in the International Affairs building, not the former Lehman Hall at Barnard). Want to know more about printing in the libraries? See the guide on the Columbia Libraries website.
Browse the stacks using the Library of Congress call number ranges:
GT Manners and customs (including Costume, Dress, and Fashion)
N Fine Arts
NC Drawing, design, and illustration
NE Print Media
NK Decorative Arts
NX Arts in general
TT Handicrafts, arts and crafts
- International Bibliography of Theatre and Dance: International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance with Full Text contains all of the content available in International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance as well as full text for 100 titles.
- International Index to the Performing Arts: Search and browse nearly half a million citations, abstracts, and selected full text records in a comprehensive range of journals covering the full spectrum of the performing arts. Subjects covered include drama, dance, film, television.
- JSTOR: JSTOR features full-text articles, book reviews, and chapters, with a caveat - there's no subject-searching and no articles newer than 6 years ago. But has some of the most extensive coverage of older articles (especially from the 19th and 20th centuries) that you won't find in other databases.
- New York Public Library for the Performing Arts at the Lincoln Center can be used for research or borrowing performing arts materials. Students in New York can get a library card for free.
- ProQuest: Database featuring massive amounts of news articles from all over the country and from a variety of periods of time, as well as scholarly (peer-reviewed) article
- CiteSource by Trinity College has examples in Chicago, APA, MLA, and other formats on all kinds of source types. This includes tweets, live performances, interviews, digital videos, and more.
- Digital Image Rights Computator (DIRC) program is intended to assist the user in assessing the intellectual property status of a specific image documenting a work of art, a designed object, or a portion of the built environment. Understanding the presence or absence of rights in the various aspects of a given image will allow the user to make informed decisions regarding the intended educational uses of that image.
- Visual Resource Association Statement on Fair Use attempts to address uncertainties arising in recent years regarding educational users’ ability to rely on fair use when using images for teaching, research, and study.
- Research and Documentation Online is a great handbook that shows how to cite resources in your research for the widely used formats of MLA, APA, Chicago, and CSE. Additional resources include tips for evaluating sources, a list of style manuals, and a glossary of research terms.
- Zotero is a free tool for managing citations, organizing research, storing documents, sharing your references with others, and creating formatted bibliographies, footnotes, and in-text citations.