Welcome! This page highlights key resources for conducting effective information research in urban governance in NYC.
If you need assistance identifying additional resources, search terms or strategies, please schedule a research consultation.
Consult scholarly reference sources to get an overview of a topic, an introduction to a theory, definitions to discipline-specific terms, and more. Urban studies is an interdisciplinary field, so both specific and broad resources may be useful. Check out the research guides in other subjects for more recommendations.
- Dictionary of the Social Sciences
- Encyclopedia of American Urban History
- Encyclopedia of Community: From the Village to the Virtual World
- Encyclopedia of Housing
- Encyclopedia of Social Theory
- Encyclopedia of Urban Studies
- International Encyclopedia of the Social & Behavioral Sciences
The following are suggestions for this course. For additional ideas on where to search, look at the subject guides (e.g. sociology, art & architecture, etc.).
- Agricultural & Environmental Science Database allows users to search abstracts of thousands of journal articles and conference papers; retrieve full-text news, journals, and reference materials; find federal and state codes and federal agency regulations; access federal and state case law and agency decisions; and locate federal and state waste site data and hazardous materials information.
- America: History and Life with full text provides access to the scholarly literature on the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. The database indexes journals from 1964 to present and includes citations and links to book and media reviews.
- Annual Reviews (also known as AR) is great for getting comprehensive summaries of research on specific topics in a variety of fields. Look at the bibliographies to lead you to the original works cited.
- Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals provides citations to articles in worldwide architecture and related periodicals with a primary emphasis on architectural design and history, but it also includes coverage of archaeology, landscape architecture, interior design, furniture and decorative arts, garden history, historic preservation, city planning, urban design, real estate development, and environmental studies. You will find both scholarly and popular periodical literature, as well as publications of professional associations, American state and regional periodicals, and the major serials on architecture and design of Europe, Asia, Latin America, and Australia. Coverage is mainly from 1934 to the present, with selective coverage back to 1741.
- CLIO Articles Search searches hundreds of databases at once. Filtering options are somewhat limited.
- EconLit with Full Text is a good place to search for scholarly economics research. It provides access to economic research dating back to 1969 and contains journal articles, books, collective volume articles, dissertations, working papers, and full-text book reviews from the Journal of Economic Literature.
- GenderWatch includes full text from contemporary scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books, booklets and pamphlets, conference proceedings, and government, NGO and special reports.
- Google Scholar is very useful for seeing if a book, article, etc. has been cited by other scholars. Search on the title, and then follow the "Cited by ..." link.
- HUD User Bibliographic Database, from the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD), is dedicated to housing and community development issues. It contains more than 10,000 full-abstract citations to research reports, articles, books, monographs, and data sources in housing policy, building technology, economic development, urban planning, and related fields.
- ProQuest combines many unique databases in one platform. You can search all at once, or select the databases you'd like to search.
- Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI) is a multidisciplinary database with searchable author abstracts, covering the journal literature of the social sciences. It links publications based on citations allowing you to search the "web" of communication surrounding a topic. You also can search Science Citation Index and Arts & Humanities Index simultaneously with the Social Science Citation Index - click on "MORE SETTINGS" to select the databases you want to search.
- Sociological Abstracts is the best bet when starting a search for scholarly sociological research. This core database covers sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences, including research focused in social work, human services, and related areas. The database provides citations from 1963 to the present and includes references to journal articles, book reviews, book abstracts, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers.
- Transportation Library from Northwestern University is one of the largest transportation information centers in the world, encompassing information on all transportation modalities, including: air, rail, highway, pipeline, water, urban transport and logistics. It includes significant collections on law enforcement, police management and traffic enforcement. Its collection of environmental impact statements is one of the most complete in the country. Select Transportation Articles Database from the dropdown menu in the search box to search for transportation and police journal articles, conference proceedings, book chapters and more.
- TRID is a free, integrated database that combines the records from TRB's Transportation Research Information Services (TRIS) Database and the OECD's Joint Transport Research Centre's International Transport Research Documentation (ITRD) Database. TRID provides access to over 900,000 reference records of transportation research worldwide and access to approximately 64,000 full text resources. You may need to search CLIO to get to the full text of a source you find in TRID.
- Urban Studies Abstracts features bibliographic records covering essential areas related to urban studies, including urban affairs, community development, urban history, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline. Records are selected from many of the top titles within the discipline, including Journal of Urban Affairs, Urban Studies, and Canadian Journal of Urban Research.
Evaluating Resources from the University of California Berkeley clearly presents key questions you want to ask of your sources:
- "Authority - Who is the author? What is their point of view?
- Purpose - Why was the source created? Who is the intended audience?
- Publication & format - Where was it published? In what medium?
- Relevance - How is it relevant to your research? What is its scope?
- Date of publication - When was it written? Has it been updated?
- Documentation - Did they cite their sources? Who did they cite?"
Here are some suggested sources for finding local news articles related to your topic. You can use Google Advanced Search to limit your results to a certain website, including these. Let me know if you find more to add to the list.
- BK Reader
- Brooklyn Daily Eagle
- Brooklyn Ink
- Brooklyn Paper
- City Limits
- DNAInfo Bedford-Stuyvesant (NOTE: DNAInfo discontinued publication November, 2017, but the archives are still currently available.)
- Patch - Bed-Stuy
- New York Daily News - Bedford-Stuyvesant news
- New York Times
- Our Times Press
- Real Deal
- Village Voice
Finding dead links? Look for a cached version in Google or search the Wayback Machine.
Here are selected databases & search engines that cover a wide variety of news sources including magazines & newspapers. See if you can search for sources by location.
- Ethnic NewsWatch has a full-text collection of newspapers, magazines and journals from ethnic, minority and indigenous press.
- Factiva provides global news and business information, including the full text of the Wall Street Journal (not available in LexisNexis). Also includes local newspapers, same-day newswires, company reports, and media programs.
- GenderWatch offers access to a full-text collection of international journals, magazines, newsletters, regional publications, special reports and conference proceedings devoted to women's and gender issues.
- Google News has General and Local sections.
- LexisNexis Academic is a full-text with access to thousands of information sources including the full text of newspapers (including the New York Times), magazines, wire services, newsletters, journals, and broadcast transcripts.
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers provides full-text and full-image articles from major American newspapers, including the New York Times.
- Need more news? Check out other databases that contain news sources, and use the filters on the left hand side to find ones from the time and place you need.
- Barnard guides to citation management provides information about citation practices, style guides, and software programs you can use that help you keep track of your sources and create bibliographies.
- Chicago Manual of Style has full details on citing primary & archival material in Chicago style. You can find full-text of the style guide in print or online.
- Cite Source presents visual information about how to cite various sources in a visual way, and they offer guidance on citing tricky sources. Check out the source help for Chicago style.
- Purdue Online Writing Lab (OWL) has lots of general and subject specific writing tips and techniques, along with research advice and detailed citation and formatting standards for Chicago style.
Last updated February 5, 2018