Guide to Finding the Best Research Resources
Welcome! On this page, you will find a selective guide to tools for research in Women's, Gender, & Sexuality Studies at Barnard College / Columbia University.
If you need assistance identifying additional resources, search terms or strategies, please schedule a research consultation.
PS Library move FAQ if you're interested.
111 LeFrak Center
Articles | Data/Primary Sources | Barnard/Columbia/NYC | Bibliography Resources
||General & Interdisciplinary
- Alternative Press Index and API Archive -- feminist and other alternative press publications from 1969-present (e.g. Bust, Lilith, On Our Backs, Women and Criminal Justice)
- Barnard bulletin newspaper archive -- 1901-2002
- Contemporary women's issues
- Feminae : medieval women and gender index
- Gender studies database
- GenderWatch -- Publications include scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books, booklets and pamphlets, conference proceedings, and government, n-g-o and special reports.
- JSTOR -- Go to advanced search and limit to the collection's Feminist and Women's Studies journals
- LGBT life
- North American women's letters and diaries -- colonial to 1950
- Project Muse -- under Research Areas, select WGSS to focus your search
Find Articles (searches multiple databases at once)
- Academic search complete
- America, history and life -- U.S. and Canada. Limit by historical period.
- CIAO : Columbia international affairs online -- includes working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, proceedings, books, journals and policy briefs.
- Google scholar -- use our link rather than going straight to scholar.google.com if you want more direct access to subscription content
- Historical abstracts -- the world (excluding the U.S. and Canada). Limit by historical period.
- Humanities full text
- International bibliography of the social sciences
- LexisNexis academic -- newspapers, journals, wire services, newsletters, company reports and SEC filings, case law, government documents, transcripts of broadcasts, and selected reference works
- PAIS international -- Public Affairs Information Service
- ProQuest -- Includes Alt-PressWatch and Ethnic NewsWatch among more than twenty other databases
- Readers' guide full text -- articles from popular periodicals
- Social sciences full text
For a more complete list of electronic databases for women's and gender studies, check Columbia's Databases: Social Sciences list.
If you have a particular journal that you want to access electronically, enter the title in CLIO. In the "Limit To" box below the "Search" field, select "All Electronic Resources," then click the search button. If we have an online subscription or database access, one or more links will be provided in the record.
The Barnard Archives is a great source for materials relating to women's history and American Studies. They have items related to more topics than you would think!
The Empirical Reasoning Lab - provides help formulating empirical questions, finding appropriate data sets, and guidance and training with analysis software.
|Primary Source Databases
- 19th century masterfile
- American memory -- Library of Congress's digitized materials
- AP Images -- Associated Press photographs from 1844, radio broadcasts, wire stories, and graphics.
- British and Irish women's letters and diaries, from 1500-1900
- Defining gender, 1450-1910 - wide range of primary source materials from British and European archives
- Gerritsen collection : women's history online, 1543-1945
- HarpWeek -- Harper's Weekly, 1857-1912
- Humanities & social sciences index retrospective, 1907-1984
- North American immigrant letters, diaries, and oral histories -- using the advanced search, you can limit by gender
- North American women's letters and diaries
- Periodicals archive online -- access to more than 200 years of scholarship
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers -- Atlanta Constitution, Boston Globe, Chicago Tribune, Los Angeles Times, New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Washington Post
- Readers' guide retrospective -- popular magazines 1890-1982
- Television News Archive
- The Times digital archive, 1785-1985 -- Full-text and page images from the Times of London 1785-1985
- Travel writing, spectacle and world history - from the Schlesinger Library at the Radcliffe Institute for Advanced Study, Harvard University, 1818-1970s
- Women and social movements in the United States 1600-2000
- Women writers online -- texts by English and American women published 1500-1830
CLIO (Columbia Libraries Information Online) is the on-line catalog for materials added to the Columbia University Libraries since 1981.
- For an author search, put last name first
- You can limit to books in the Barnard library using the Advanced search tab
Or browse the HQ section in the stacks (Barnard, Burke, Butler, Lehman, etc.)
Those with Columbia ID have access to the libraries of the Columbia Law School, the Jewish Theological Seminary, and Teachers’College, but their holdings are in their own catalogs, not in CLIO. CUID also provides access to the libraries of New York University. Anyone who lives, works, or goes to school in New York is entitled to a New York Public Library card.
Borrowing privileges with Columbia ID
- EDUCAT for Teachers’ College Library
- Pegasus for Columbia Law Library
Access with CUID
- ALEPH for the Jewish Theological Seminary
- BobCat for NYU libraries
Require separate ID
Catalogs: for a larger list of library catalogs in New York City and elsewhere, including the paid version of WorldCat, a catalog of catalogs that has holdings information from libraries all over the world and CRL, a catalog of rare and specialized materials, all available via Interlibrary Loan.
Zotero allows you to
- search for citations in library catalogs and databases from the software or export results into it from remote catalogs and databases
- store the citations
- search through the citations you have stored using keyword searches
- cite them in papers and bibliographies using any citation format you choose
Cite Source from Trinity College Library documentaiton on ACS, APA, APSA, ASA, Chicago, and MLA styles.