Guide to Finding the Best Research Resources
Welcome! On this page, you will find a selective guide to tools to support Professor Neferti Tadiar's women's studies senior seminar: Knowledge, Practice, Power.
You can schedule a research consultation to identify additional resources, search terms or strategies.
Personal Librarian: Jenna Freedman
|WGSS & Subject Specific||General & Interdisciplinary|
Find Articles (searches multiple databases at once)
The Barnard Archives is a great source for materials relating to women's history and American Studies. They have items related to more topics than you would think!
The Barnard Zine Library offers primary source materials on dating, adoption, harassment, Asian-American and Black women's experiences, sexual violence, student activism, depression, and other topics.
The Empirical Reasoning Lab - provides help formulating empirical questions, finding appropriate data sets, and guidance and training with analysis software.
|Primary Source Databases||Data Sources|
CLIO (Columbia Libraries Information Online) is the on-line catalog for materials added to the Columbia University Libraries since 1981.
- Click Catalog to search only materials (print, AV, digital) held in the Columbia libraries (including Barnard the medical and law schools, but not TC)
- Use the facets on the left to narrow your search results
Or browse the HQ (The Family, Marriage, Women) sections in the stacks--ours, Butler's and Lehman's
African Americans E184.5-185.98
Sexual harassment LC212
|Barnard & Columbia||New York City|
Those with Columbia ID have access to the libraries of the Columbia Law School, the Jewish Theological Seminary, and Teachers’College, but their holdings are in their own catalogs, not in CLIO. CUID also provides access to the libraries of New York University. Anyone who lives, works, or goes to school in New York is entitled to a New York Public Library card.
Borrowing privileges with Columbia ID
Access with CUID
Require separate ID
Catalogs: for a larger list of library catalogs in New York City and elsewhere, including the paid version of WorldCat, a catalog of catalogs that has holdings information from libraries all over the world and CRL, a catalog of rare and specialized materials, all available via Interlibrary Loan.
Zotero allows you to
- search for citations in library catalogs and databases from the software or export results into it from remote catalogs and databases
- store the citations
- search through the citations you have stored using keyword searches
- cite them in papers and bibliographies using any citation format you choose
The Bedford Handbook is a free online guide to APA, Chicago, CSE, and MLA styling.