Research Guide for WGSS Senior Seminar: Knowledge, Practice, Power

 


Detail: A Woman's Place Is in the World poster. BCRW, 1971. Barnard Digital Collections

Professor Janet Jakobsen

Welcome! On this page, you will find a selective guide to tools for research in Women's, Gender & Sexuality Studies at Barnard College / Columbia University.

Feedback form

If you would like guidance identifying additional resources or search strategies, please make an appointment with Jenna.

Personal Librarian: Jenna Freedman

jfreedma@barnard.edu
111 LeFrak Center
@barnlib

Bibliography Resources

Zotero allows you to
  • search for citations in library catalogs and databases from the software or export results into it from remote catalogs and databases
  • store the citations
  • search through the citations you have stored using keyword searches
  • cite them in papers and bibliographies using any citation format you choose

Cite Source  from Trinity College Library documentation on ACS, APA, APSA, ASA, Chicago, and MLA styles.

PS Deposit your work in the Academic Commons.

Articles

Thesis Specific/Related General & Interdisciplinary

Find Articles (searches multiple databases at once)

Data/Primary Sources

The Barnard Archives is a great source for materials relating to women's history and American Studies. They have items related to more topics than you would think! Most of our archival collections are offsite in retrievable storage. You will have to request materials up to a week in advance of your visit.

The Empirical Reasoning Center - provides help formulating empirical questions, finding appropriate data sets, and  guidance and training with analysis software.
 

Primary Source Databases Data Sources & Tools

Barnard/Columbia/NYC

Searching CLIO
CLIO (Columbia Libraries Information Online) is the on-line catalog for materials added to the Columbia University Libraries since 1981.  

  • Click Catalog to search only materials (print, AV, digital) held in the Columbia libraries (including Barnard the medical and law schools, but not TC)
  • Use the facets on the left to narrow your search results

Or browse the HQ (The Family, Marriage, Women) sections in the stacks--Butler's and Lehman's
 

Local Resources

Barnard & Columbia New York City


Other Libraries

Borrowing with CUID

Access with CUID

Require separate ID

EDUCAT for Teachers’ College Library
Pegasus for Columbia Law Library

ALEPH for the Jewish Theological Seminary
BobCat for NYU libraries

New York Public Library catalog.
NYPL Databases require library card number for access.

Catalogs: for a larger list of library catalogs in New York City and elsewhere, including the paid version of WorldCat, a catalog of catalogs that has holdings information from libraries all over the world and CRL, a catalog of rare and specialized materials, all available via Interlibrary Loan.


Feedback form. Please help me do better

 

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.
Page last updated 10/24/2017