Professor Elizabeth Bernstein
Guide to Finding the Best Research Resources
Welcome! On this page, you will find a selective guide to tools for research in Women's, Gender & Sexuality Studies at Barnard College / Columbia University.
If you need assistance identifying additional resources, search terms or strategies, please make an appointment.
Personal Librarian: Jenna Freedman
|WGSS Specific/Related||General & Interdisciplinary|
Find Articles (searches multiple databases at once)
The Barnard Archives is a great source for materials relating to women's history and American Studies. They have items related to more topics than you would think and a research guide for Archival Research at Barnard and Beyond.
The Empirical Reasoning Center - provides help formulating empirical questions, finding appropriate data sets, and guidance and training with analysis software.
|Primary Source Databases||Data Sources & Tools|
CLIO (Columbia Libraries Information Online) is the on-line catalog for materials added to the Columbia University Libraries since 1981.
- Click Catalog to search only materials (print, AV, digital) held in the Columbia libraries (including Barnard the medical and law schools, but not TC)
- Use the facets on the left to narrow your search results
|Barnard & Columbia||New York City|
Those with Columbia ID have access to the libraries of the Columbia Law School, the Jewish Theological Seminary, and Teachers’ College, but their holdings are in their own catalogs, not in CLIO. (NOTE: You can find some information about Columbia Law School library's holdings in CLIO, but you'll have to connect to their own catalog to find out where items are located). CUID also provides access to the libraries of New York University. Anyone who lives, works, or goes to school in New York is entitled to a New York Public Library card.
Borrowing privileges with Columbia ID
Access with CUID
Require separate ID
Catalogs: for a larger list of library catalogs in New York City and elsewhere, including the paid version of WorldCat, a catalog of catalogs that has holdings information from libraries all over the world and CRL, a catalog of rare and specialized materials, all available via Interlibrary Loan.
Zotero allows you to
- search for citations in library catalogs and databases from the software or export results into it from remote catalogs and databases
- store the citations
- search through the citations you have stored using keyword searches
- cite them in papers and bibliographies using any citation format you choose
Academic Commons is Columbia University's digital repository where faculty, students, and staff of Columbia and its affiliate institutions can deposit the results of their scholarly work and research. Content in Academic Commons is freely available to the public. To deposit your research, please use the self-deposit form.
Chicago Journal of Sociology (University of Chicago)
The Chicago Journal of Sociology is a student publication supported by the University of Chicago Department of Sociology. Their mission is to showcase excellent undergraduate work in the social sciences, while giving student editors experience turning coursework into publishable academic articles.
Columbia Undergraduate Research Journal (Columbia University) Open Access
The Columbia Undergraduate Research Journal (CURJ) is an Open Access undergraduate-run research publication which curates and promotes distinctive research conducted at the undergraduate level from all fields of study.
Columbia University Journal of Politics and Society (Columbia University)
The Helvidius Group is a student organization at Columbia University, established in 1989 by Peter Tomassi, CC ’91, to provide a forum for undergraduate discourse on issues concerning law and public policy. The Journal of Politics & Society is the realization of that mission. Originally an annual magazine distributed to Ivy League universities and to members of Congress, it has adopted a more scholarly focus and has grown to encompass all of the social sciences. The Journal is not affiliated with or sponsored by any political organization, and it remains staunchly nonpartisan.
Critical Theory and Social Justice Journal of Undergraduate Research (Occidental College)
CTSJ is dedicated to providing a forum for undergraduate students to develop and share critical research and writing on the intersections of "race", "sexuality", and "nationality" as they relate to problems of social justice. The journal seeks to foster exchange of ideas across disciplines and deepen understandings of systems of injustice, and in this way advances the mission of Occidental College: to develop critical, thoughtful, and active participation in an increasingly pluralistic and conflict ridden global culture.
Eleven (University of California, Berkeley)
The Undergraduate Journal of Sociology publishes excellent sociological papers written by current and recent UC Berkeley undergraduates, as well as undergraduates from across the nation and countries such as Canada and Norway. A student-run publication, the journal provides an academic forum that highlights outstanding scholarship in the social sciences. In the spirit of Marx’s Eleventh Thesis on Feuerbach that mandates one to engender constructive change, the journal offers opportunities for an intellectual space that encourages critical engagement with the world.
International Journal of Undergraduate Research and Creative Activities (Pacific University and Central Washington University) Open Access
International Journal of Undergraduate Research and Creative Activities is a peer-reviewed, open access journal dedicated to the publication of outstanding scholarship by undergraduates and their mentors from academic institutions of higher learning. The Journal accepts submissions of research articles, fiction, poetry, photography, videos, and other creative works from undergraduate students in all academic disciplines. Submissions are accepted on a rolling basis and will be published on the Journal website after successful review.
Inquiries (Jamaica Plain, MA) Open Access
Inquiries Journal, formerly Student Pulse, is an open-access academic journal that highlights the work of students at the undergraduate level and above. The journal publishes work across a range of academic disciplines with a particular focus on the social sciences, arts, and humanities.
Journal of Integrated Social Sciences (California Lutheran University)
Journal of Integrated Social Sciences is a web-based, peer-reviewed journal committed to the scholarly investigation of social phenomena. We especially encourage students and their faculty advisors to submit the results of their investigations.
Journal of Student Research (Houston, TX) Open Access
Journal of Student Research is based in Houston, TX. It is an electronic, peer-reviewed, multidisciplinary journal devoted to the rapid dissemination of current research. Our aim is to familiarize student authors with the process of manuscript publication. Researchers strive to be successful at publications; and with JOFSR, students aspiring to publish will receive scholarly feedback once their submission is reviewed. These feedbacks will not only help authors identify areas of improvement to their submission, but help them better understand the process in order to be successful at publication. Once published, it will provide a global platform for them to showcase their work.
Journal of Undergraduate Research and Scholarly Excellence (Colorado State University)
JUR publishes extraordinary undergraduate work in an easily accessible and professional peer-reviewed journal. Our mission is to print outstanding undergraduate research, scholarly articles, and creative works in order to make them available to the public and connect the worldwide community of college undergraduates.
On Our Terms (Barnard College) Open Access
On Our Terms is an online, peer-reviewed, academic journal of women and leadership. Produced under the auspices of the Athena Center for Leadership Studies at Barnard College, this publication features scholarship by undergraduates from across the globe seeking to enhance our generation’s discourse on the theme. We are a journal created for students, by students, and our goal is to provide a platform for student thought, debate, and voice through the publication of original academic articles and multimedia pieces
Pittsburgh Undergraduate Review (University of Pittsburgh)
The purpose of the Pittsburgh Undergraduate Review is to advance independent undergraduate scholarship. The PUR aims to bring research to the forefront of undergraduate awareness. By presenting provocative ideas, the PUR catalyzes further intellectual innovations and pursuits, thereby energizing the academic community.
Sociological Insight (UT Austin)
The Sociology Department launched Sociological Insight in the fall of 2008. It is a peer-reviewed sociology journal promoting undergraduate scholarship in the social sciences. Sociological Insight seeks to provide an opportunity for undergraduates in the United States and abroad to publish their very best academic papers and reap the benefits of subjecting their research to a rigorous peer-review process.
Sprinkle: Undergraduate Journal of Feminist and Queer Studies (Freire Project & Cal Poly San Luis Obispo)
A queer-positive, critical journal that works to challenge the normative experiences that are often privileged within our society. In this vein, we hope to draw attention to queer history and experience as well as other issues of gender and sexuality, subjects not often addressed within classroom curricula. This journal hopes to draw from and appeal to a wide audience, and people of numerous identities and backgrounds. Sprinkle aims to lend legitimacy to the thoughts and experiences of young people, and produce an engaging publication./p>
Stanford Undergraduate Research Journal (Stanford University)
The Stanford Undergraduate Research Journal (SURJ) is an annual peer-reviewed publication of research articles written primarily by Stanford undergraduates, but also by well-qualified students at other institutions, from all academic fields.
Undergraduate Research Journal for the Human Sciences (Kappa Omicron Nu Leadership Academy, MI)
The URC Undergraduate Research Journal is an annual online national, reviewed journal dedicated to the publication of undergraduate student research. The twofold purpose of the journal is to foster and reward the scholarly efforts of undergraduate human sciences students as well as to provide a valuable learning experience. The articles represent primarily the work of the undergraduate student(s). Faculty members, who deserve recognition, are identified by an asterisk next to their names.
Voices & Visions (Smith College)
Voices & Visions is an online journal of creative work by students from women’s colleges and universities around the globe. The journal is produced by students, faculty and staff at Smith College. It is centered at the Kahn Liberal Arts Institute, which supports collaborative research among faculty, students and visiting scholars without regard to the traditional boundaries of departments, programs and academic divisions.
For more undergraduate publishing options, check out these lists:
Intellectual Property: Copyright, Fair Use, Permissions and Citations
This Barnard library guide offers an overview of the issues surrounding intellectual property for research and scholarship. The content of this guide is not intended to provide legal advice.
Good overview of how to write a literature review from the Writing Center and UNC-Chapel Hill.
Purdue Online Writing Lab
Developed by the Purdue University Writing lab, this resource offers clear and precise information about MLA, APA, and Chicago.
Student PI Worksheet
Students wishing to publish research that includes human subjects must complete the Student PI Worksheet with her research mentor. A copy of this completed form should be retained by the student and the mentor until the research project is complete. Any questions should be directed to the Barnard Institutional Review Board.