Western Theatrical Dance


Degas, Edgar. Spanish dancer and studies of legs, 1882. Musée d'Orsay. Accessed via Artstor.org

Visual Research Guide

Welcome! This page supports visual research methods for the Digital Dance Literacy Project. For tools and techniques for conducting research in dance history, please consult the appropriate research guide.

If you need assistance identifying additional resources, search terms or strategies, please schedule a research consultation.

Personal Librarian: Charlotte Price

212.851.9692
108 LeFrak Center, Barnard Hall
cprice@barnard.edu

 

 

Images | Citing Images

Electronic Image Resources

ARTstor
Documents the fields of architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, design, anthropology, ethnographic and women's studies, as well as many other forms of visual culture.

Europeana
Online collection of millions of digitized items from European museums, libraries, archives and multi-media collection.

Google advanced
Take advantage of advanced search features, such as limiting results to a site or domain.

Library of Congress, Prints and Photographs Online Catalog
Photographs, fine and popular prints and drawings, posters, and architectural and engineering drawings. While international in scope, the collections are particularly rich in materials produced in, or documenting the history of, the United States and the lives, interests and achievements of the American people.

Metropolitan Museum of Art
Online access to a portion of the collections of the Metropolitan Museum of Art.

New York Public Library Digital Collections
Provides free and open access to over 800,000 images digitized from the The New York Public Library's vast collections.

ProQuest Historical Newspapers
Search full-text and full-image articles from major American newspapers, including the New York Times and Wall Street Journal. Limit search results to Document Type: Illustration and Image/Photograph.

Victoria and Albert Museum
Access over 360,000 images from the collections at the Victoria and Albert Museum, the world's largest museum of decorative arts and design.

Citing Images

Chicago

Image from a database

John Singer Sargent. Study for the Spanish Dancer. Watercolor on paper. 30 x 20.02 cm. Dallas Museum of Art, Texas. Available from ARTstor, http://www.artstor.org (accessed September 3, 2015).

Image from a website

John Singer Sargent. Sketch of a Spanish Dancer. Pencil on paper. 11.5 x 9in. Gardner Museum, Massachusetts. In Liz Hager, "A Bow to Gesture Drawing." Venetian Red. accessed September 3, 2015, http://venetianred.net/2011/02/05/a-bow-to-gesture-drawing/

Subject Code: 
DNCE
Course Code: 
DNCEX3001001