Guide to Finding
Ten Sources to Know in Philosophy Research
- Philosopher's Index: Index with abstracts for journal articles, books, contributions to anthologies, and book reviews. It covers the major fields of philosophy, including aesthetics, epistemology, ethics, logic, metaphysics, and the philosophy of releted fields such as education, history, law and religion.
- Past Masters: Several searchable full-text collections of writings by key philosophers and thinkers from ancient times to the present, including Anselm, Aristotle, Augustine, Bentham, Berkeley, Calvin, Descartes, John Dewey, Hegel, Hobbes, Hume, Leibniz, Locke, Luther, Mill, Nietzche, Peirce, Plato, Ricardo, Rousseau, Adam Smith, Thomas Aquinas, Wittgenstein and many others.
- L'année philologique: Indexes periodical articles as well as articles in collections and conference papers in classics and classical studies. It covers Greek and Latin linguistics and literature and Greek and Roman archaeology, history, mythology, religion, epigraphy, numismatics and palaeography: all aspects of the ancient Mediterranean world.
- Humanities Full Text: The database indexes, abstracts and delivers the full text of feature articles, interviews, obituaries, bibliographies, original works of fiction, drama, and poetry, book reviews, and reviews of ballets, dance programs, motion pictures, musicals, operas, plays, radio and television programs.
- JSTOR: Provides page images of back issues of the core scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences from the earliest issues to within a few years of current publication. Users may browse by journal title or discipline, or may search the full-text or citations/abstracts.
- Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy Online: Online version of the Routledge encyclopedia of philosophy. Articles can be browsed alphabetically or by philosophical themes, philosophies, historical periods, and religions. Full text entries can be searched by keyword, contributor, or bibliography. Bibliographies. Frequently updated.
- POIESIS: The full text of hundreds of issues of participating philosophy journals may be searched. Every word (unique character string) is fully indexed and search results find every paragraph containing the search term.
- ATLA: ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials combines the index to journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion with ATLA's online collection of major religion and theology journals.
- Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy: Includes editorial and copyright information, as well as a site search engine. Offers an alphabetical index to the publication's contents. Contains information on individual philosophers and their beliefs.
- WorldCat: An excellent database for archival research, and is often the only place to find corporate archives, church records, historical society records and more
CLIO - Online catalog of the Columbia University Libraries, including Barnard Library, but excluding Teachers College and the Law Library.
Philosophy call number range: B-BD
For primary sources use keywords: