German

Berlin Wall: View from West Berlin (1986), via Wikimedia Commons

Research Guide

Welcome! This page highlights key resources for conducting effective research in German.

If you need assistance identifying additional resources, search terms or strategies, please schedule a research consultation.


Personal Librarian:
Vani Natarajan
212-854-8595
208C Lehman
vnataraj@barnard.edu

Recommended Databases for Finding Articles

Bibliographie der deutschen Sprach- und Literaturwissenschaft includes articles published in German language journals from 1985 onward. 

Germanistik Online Datenbank  provides access to the full text contents of Germanistik, an international journal on the study of German Language and Literature. Areas covered include literature, theatre studies, media studies, cultural history and linguistics.

MLA International Bibliography features scholarly articles on literature, language, linguistics, and folklore from around the world. Sources include periodicals, books, essay collections, working papers, proceedings, dissertations and bibliographies. Coverage spans 1923 to the present.

 

Primary Sources

ANNO: Austrian Newspapers Online is a virtual newspaper reading room hosted by the Austrian National Library. It makes available to readers hundreds of historical newspaper and magazine titles published in Austria from late 18th through early 20th century.

German Literature Collections offers access to texts in German in a cross-searchable format, by author, keyword or phrase. Users can choose between a German or English search interface. Collections include Goethes Werke, Schillers Werke, Kafkas Werke, Brechts Werke, Die Deutsche Lyrik, and the Digitale Bibliothek Deutscher Klassiker.

WessWeb: German Studies Web functions as a portal to scholarly resources in German Studies, including all German-speaking countries. The resources organized therein have undergone a selection and evaluation process, and include much digitized archival text and image, alongside news and reference sources.

 

Reference

Kindlers Literatur Lexikon Online ,the online version of the comprehensive German language encyclopedia of world literature, covers 13,000 important works of world literature and numerous writers, from ancient times to the present. Search interface and content is in German.

LEO German/English Dictionary features search options from German to English, as well as English to German. It also includes a text mode, allowing for translation of multiple words and word strings from a passage of text.

Oxford Language Dictionaries Online: German provides a fully searchable bilingual German -English and English- German dictionary online, with supplementary resources in German language history, culture, and colloquialisms.

 

Finding Books and Media

CLIO provides access to the vast resources of the Columbia University Libraries, including Barnard Library, but excluding Teachers College and the Law Library. Search the Catalog for book and media materials.

The NYPL catalog searches the circulating and non-circulating research collections at the New York Public Library.

Worldcat searches libraries worldwide. If a title isn't available via Columbia University Libraries, you may request it via Borrow Direct or Interlibrary Loan.

Subject Code: 
GERM