Spanish and Latin American Cultures

Research Guide

Welcome! This page highlights key resources for conducting effective  research in Spanish and Latin American Cultures.

If you need assistance identifying additional resources, search terms or strategies, please schedule a research consultation.


Personal Librarian:
Vani Natarajan
208C Lehman



Finding Articles


If you aren't sure where to start searching , you might try the CLIO Find Articles search. It searches across multiple databases at once, but it also allows you to refine results by subject terms and format type. For a more focused and refined search, try a database---the ones listed below are especially recommended for research on Latin America and Spain.

DialNet  features scholarly journal articles from Spain and Latin America, in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. It also includes full-text doctoral dissertations from Spanish universities.

HAPI Online features citations to articles and book reviews in scholarly journals published in Latin America and the Caribbean, or those dealing with topics relating to Latin America and the Caribbean. Links to full-text are available for selected journals.

Historical Abstracts with Full Text covers world history (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present. Provides indexing of historical articles from more than 1,800 journals in over 40 languages back to 1955. Also provides access to the full text of more than 349 journals and more than 120 books.

HLAS Online , also known as Handbook of Latin American Studies Online, is a project of the United States Library of Congress. It provides extensively annotated citations on Latin American studies research in all disciplines. You can search for content dating as far back as 1935.

Informe provides full text articles from Latin American journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as full text popular magazines from Latin America and Spain.

Proquest combines many unique databases in one platform. You can search all at once, or select the databases you'd like to search. Some examples:

  • Arts and Humanities Full Text features citations and abstracts from scholarly sources in the humanities, as well as lesser known specialized magazines. Many of the entries are available in full text. Documents covered include articles, interviews, obituaries, bibliographies, original works of fiction, drama and poetry, book reviews, and reviews of performances, recordings, and films.
  • Bibliografía de la literatura Española desde 1980 provides citations for journal articles and books published between 1980 and the present, but covering time periods back to the Middle Ages. Search interface and descriptive terms are in Spanish.
  • MLA International Bibliography features citations and abstracts to scholarly articles on literature, language, linguistics, and folklore from around the world, with e-links to possible full text provided. Sources include periodicals, books, essay collections, working papers, proceedings, dissertations and bibliographies. Coverage spans 1923 to the present.
  • Periodicals Archive Online archives journals in humanities and social sciences from around the world, in full text. The collection includes 99 journals in Spanish.


Finding Print and Media Materials

CLIO is the online catalog of the Columbia University Libraries, including Barnard College but excluding Teachers College and the Law Library.

The NYPL catalog searches the circulating and non-circulating research collections at the New York Public Library. 

WorldCat searches libraries worldwide.


Finding Primary Sources and Archival Collections

To search for archival collections and published primary sources in the Columbia Libraries, including Barnard, try a CLIO catalog search. You can use the facet boxes on the results page to limit by date of creation/publication, format, genre, and more.

The databases, catalogs, and digital repositories listed below can also connect you to primary source materials.

ArchiveGrid lets you keyword search collection descriptions from archives around the world. Entries provide contact information and links to relevant web sites. You can narrow your search to archives in the New York City area, if you wish.

Biblioteca Digital Hispanica is a project of the National Library of Spain. It offers online access to books, manuscripts, drawings, prints, brochures, posters, photographs, maps and atlases, from the 15th to the 19th centuries. Through the search box, you can also cross-search archival sources from Europeana and Biblioteca Digital del Patrimonio Iberoamericano.

Biblioteca Virtual Miguel de Cervantes has the world’s largest open access collection of digitized literary and historical texts in Spanish. You can also search the site for archival resources and critical work on major writers in Spanish. A project of the University of Alicante.

Caribbean Literature  includes full text works of 19th and 20th century Caribbean poetry and fiction, with many works in Spanish.

Ethnic Newswatch features full text articles from ethnic, minority, and indigenous press in the US, from the 1960’s onward.

Hemeroteca Digital offers access to full color digitized historic Spanish newspapers and magazines, with well over 1000 titles in the collection. You can search the full text of these periodicals, or you can browse them by topic and title words. Coverage extends from the late 17th to the late 20th century.

Hispanic American Newspapers offers full text access to Spanish language papers printed in the US in the 19th and 20th centuries.

LADB , also known as Latin America Database, consists of three weekly online news digests (Sourcemex, NotiCen and NotiSur) covering Mexico, the Caribbean, and Central and South America, with articles from 1986 to the present.

Latin American Pamphlet Digital Collection features digitized archival pamphlets from 19th and 20th century Latin America.

Latin American Women Writers includes full text works of  prose, poetry and drama by Latin American women writers of the 19th century, in Spanish and Portuguese.

NYPL: Find Archival Materials provides a comprehensive search of manuscript and archival collections across 10 divisions of the New York Public Library.

PARES: Portal de Archivos Espanoles is a project of the Spanish Ministry of Culture for the diffusion in Internet of the Spanish Historical Documentation. The portal offers free access to fully digized Spanish historical documents, including government and legal sources.

World Newspaper Archive: Latin American Newspapers is a searchable archive of Latin American newspapers from the19th and 20th centuries, including publications in both English and Spanish.



Academia Mexicana de La Lengua: Diccionario Breve de Mexicanismos  includes definitions and etymologies for words and phrases in Mexican Spanish.

Oxford Language Dictionaries: Spanish provides a fully searchable bilingual Spanish-English and English-Spanish dictionary online, with supplementary resources in Spanish language history, culture, and colloquialisms.

Real Academia Española provides a strong collection of online Spanish language resources covering Spain and Latin America, including historic and regionally specific dictionaries.


Writing and Citing

CiteSource offers guidelines and templates for citing your research in a variety of citation styles, including MLA, APA, and Chicago Manual of Style. The site also offers resources on copyright, intellectual property, and how the Web shapes information use. A publication of the Trinity College Library.

Zotero is a free tool for managing citations, organizing research, storing documents,sharing your references with others, and creating fomatted bibliographies, footnotes, and in-text citations. For detailed tips on installing and using Zotero, consult the library's Zotero guide.

Subject Code: