Physical Education & Wellness


Bundesarchiv, Bild 102-07923, Wikimedia Commons

Guide to Finding
the Best Resources

Welcome! This page highlights key resources for conducting effective information research in physical education and wellness.

If you need assistance identifying additional resources, search terms or strategies, please schedule a research consultation.


Personal Librarian:
Lois Coleman
212-854-9095
306C Lehman Hall
lcoleman@barnard.edu

Reference Sources

Finding Articles

  • Google Scholar
    Only finds scholarly materials - articles, books and citations - but searches full text, and will often find too many irrelevant articles.  Go to Settings and enable "Library Links" for Columbia University - this will make the Columbia e-Link show up in the results list so that you can easily go to the full text.
  • Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective: 1907-1984
    Offers a broad range of subject coverage in humanities and social science journals dating back to 1907.
  • Medline (EBSCO) | Medline (Ovid) | Medline (Web of Science)
    Database from the National Library of Medicine. Areas covered include microbiology, delivery of health care, nutrition, pharmacology, environmental health, diseases, chemicals and drugs, psychiatry and psychology, biological sciences, social sciences and education, industry, humanities, information science and communications, and health care.
  • PsycINFO
    Provides citations and abstracts for journal articles and books in the professional and academic literature in psychology and related disciplines, including medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, and linguistics.
  • Social Sciences Full Text
    Provides access to a wide assortment of the most important English-language journals in the social sciences.
  • ProQuest
    An interdisciplinary database with full-text articles and abstracts from scholarly journals, newspapers (NY Times back to 1851) and dissertations.
  • Web of Science
    Scholarly articles in all disciplines, including psychology. This database can also be used to identify articles that cite an author or article that you specify

Finding Books

  • CLIO
    Online catalog of the Columbia University Libraries, including Barnard Library, but excluding Teachers College and the Law Library.
  • NYS Psychiatric Institute Library
    One of the largest psychiatric libraries in the nation.
  • WorldCat
    Searches libraries worldwide

Citing Your Sources

Subject Code: 
PHED